Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must-have upgrade to Blu-ray
Having bought a blu-ray player, I'd decided to only buy new films on the format and not upgrade my old DVDs unless the movie in question was one of my all-time favourites.. I have to say Casino fits that criteria. Scorcese and De Niro at their best! The blu-ray picture is sharp and colourful - it tends to show up the grain of the source print, compared to a modern...
Published on 26 Jan. 2011 by Anorakus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Business as usual
So many five-star reviews for this well below par Scorsese film. If this gets five, how on earth would one rate Taxi Driver, Goodfellas, or New York, New York, three far subtler and superior efforts.
As some reviewers pointed out on its release, Scorsese has fallen uncritically for the erratic, mercurial presence of Joe Pesci, and the neon jungle madness that is Las...
Published 11 months ago by GlynLuke


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must-have upgrade to Blu-ray, 26 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought a blu-ray player, I'd decided to only buy new films on the format and not upgrade my old DVDs unless the movie in question was one of my all-time favourites.. I have to say Casino fits that criteria. Scorcese and De Niro at their best! The blu-ray picture is sharp and colourful - it tends to show up the grain of the source print, compared to a modern release, but this is no bad thing. Decent extras too. Worth mentioning that the blu-ray has the original burnt-in 'subtitles' ("Back Home Years Ago" etc.) rather than the horrible player-generated subs on the PAL DVD. A must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casino review, 8 April 2010
By 
Excellent book from start to finish concerning the mafia in Las Vegas in the 70's and 80's. The book gives a detailed account of professional gambler Frank Rosenthal who ran the Stardust Casino as well as Anthony Spilotro who was assigned to vegas to protect the mobs interest.

Its without doulbt the best mafia book i have ever read and it contains over 300 pages of superb reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casino 2 disc, 2 Feb. 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Having not seen 'Goodfellas' to compare this to (at the point when I watched this film) I was thoroughly impressed with 'Casino'. A great deal of it is shot with De Niro doing a voice-over, telling the story as he went, which I really liked. The way a casino was run and how it all relates back to mob control was fascinating to see and the various tricks the customers and casino owners use are pretty inventive. Some parts of this film are pretty graphic, as to be expected from Scorcese, but the story overall is gripping and kept me engaged the whole time. The extras disc is excellent, with some great featurettes and bonus material to really add to your understanding of the film. This is a great gangster type movie and brilliantly directed and acted. Well worth a viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live A Gangster's Life, Die By A Gangster's Rules, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The Martin Scorsese/Robert De Niro pairing has been so successful - that it was inevitable the pair meet up again; this time Robert plays bad guy trying to go straight Sam 'Ace' Rothstein. He's got a good old friend Mickey (Joe Pesci) who wants to make it big in Vegas. The thing is, so does Sam, so he wants to stay good with the locals, but at the same time give Mickey what he needs. Friendships become very tight, when Sam falls in love with a call girl (Ginger, played by Sharon Stone) and Mickey makes life very difficult for himself and others. The name of the game here is corruption, and Ace's are low.

This is a great film from the master of hustle films like The Color Of Money [DVD] [1987] and classics like Mean Streets (Special Edition) [DVD] [1973] - Scorsese shows again he's a skilful movie maker who researches his movies well. The 30 minute introduction into casino business brings you right up to speed. Of course this film wouldn't be as good without it's primary cast, Pesci as the cheeky wise guy Mickey is priceless, and De Niro is still very much suited to the courteous gangster who if you cross, you'll be sorry. I also like Sharon Stone's portrayal of Ginger, even though towards the end of the movie she was very annoying!

This Blu-Ray is not bad at all, and has a lot of language selections including French and Catalan Spanish - and over 15 different subtitles, which will suit any user. The picture is good but not amazing, but yet was better than the DVD. I was expecting more dazzle from this feature as it's a big movie, but it wasn't to be. The audio was good and the soundtrack clear.

The extras are not bad either, you get an NBC look at the movie, and a History Channel documentary about what happened with the casinos. There's also a lot of controls for you to cut the movie the way you want it, and you can get momentary commentary from Marty when he finds an important moment of the movie. This isn't bad, and worth doing on your second viewing.

Altogether a good BD, worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpeice of modern cinema; dark, glamorous and thrilling, 25 Aug. 2005
It must be annoying for Martin Scorsese when people call Casino Goodfellas Part 2 and understandably so; Casino, though featuring both Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci, is completely a film of its own. Goodfellas was a study of the middle class gangsters of New York; Casino is about the middle class making it big. It is a far more ambitious film than Goodfellas, strangely more civilised and tamed because of the glamorous setting of Las Vegas, which is revealed to be so hollow and controlled by a group of corrupt old men.
Casino tells the story of Sam 'Ace' Rothstein (De Niro), a Jewish casino manager in 1970s Las Vegas. It revolves around the system of the casinos and how ultimately you lose more money than you gain, but also his relationship with his childhood friend, Nicky Santoro (Joe Pesci) and his wife, Ginger McKenna (Sharon Stone). It flows so beautifully, describing in rich detail through the voiceovers of De Niro and Pesci how the casino works. Casino is such a classy film, each shot packed with glamour and the plot fueled by a great soundtrack and sharp dialogue. There are so many memorable moments and essentially it serves so much less as a biopic than Goodfellas.
The acting is first rate - De Niro shines in all 180 minutes, playing a flawed and possessive man, but one who is weighed down by his loyalities to friends. Joe Pesci is on top form as the reckless Nicky Santoro, a mob boss. His performance is similar to that of Goodfellas, but there is something more classy and swish about it. Sharon Stone would steal the show if it wasn't for De Niro and Pesci, as her performance is one of perfection. You will not know whether to pity, hate, or love her character. This is what makes Casino so great. The characters are so complex and human, they are totally believable and you will be ever curious of their ultimate fates.
This really is Martin Scorsese's finest work of the 90s. If you were to compare it to Goodfellas, you would call Goodfellas perfected, as it takes everything in Goodfellas to the next level, whether it be the charisma of its characters, the violence, the dialogue, or the cinematography. This character driven story will get better each time you watch it and flows like a river, every scene a classic in its own way.
If you are a fan of Martin Scorsese, then Casino is a must have. Even if you're not a fan, Casino is by all means worth watching and an instant classic in the crime/thriller/drama genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodfella's but in Las Vegas, 30 July 2005
By 
Patrick Quirke "murt1987" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is unbelievable, it has so many similarities to Goodfella's from the cast, the Director and the story. Difference is its set in Las Vegas when the mafia ruled the roast out there. If you loved Goodfella's which I do, you will absolutly love this. I wish I had heard of this film earlier because it really is a masterpiece. By the way, I still think Goodfella's is my favourite film of all time, this come a very surprisingly close second. I honeslty didn't expect it to be anything close to it, but it did. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful gangster film, 7 April 2007
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Casino" is very much a companion film to "Goodfellas". It shares many of the same actors, De Niro and Pesci, the same director , the same epic length and the same general mobster theme. The action takes place in Vegas where De Niro's character runs a casino with the assistance of the violent and volatile Pesci.Sharon Stone plays DeNiro's ex hooker girlfriend and she in fact steals the show with a powerful performance. The acting throughout is immense and the plot is always entertaining and gripping. "Casino" is like a Vegas "Goodfellas" and it is as violent and foul mouthed as that film with several particularly unpleasant and gory sequences. Despite this I found "Casino" to be an excellent film,well worth another watch in my case. I first watched it back in 1996.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic gangster film...Scorsese and De Niro deliver, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Casino [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Casino (now almost 20 years old) isn't the best film from winning team of two (De Niro and Scorsese), some have been critical of the violence and that the movie is overly long, it's a hefty 178 minutes in total.

But it does deliver a good storyline, some outstanding performances from the cast (including a stand out supporting performance from Sharon Stone)
Sam "Ace" Rothstein is the Mafia supported implant at an important Las Vegas Casino "Tangiers" send in to run things for the mob, and provide the cash skimmed off the profits to fund the mobsters.

Rothstein starts a relationship with Ginger (Stone), and after the initial romance period things start to turn sour.
Meanwhile the mob start to notice their "skim" is falling rather short of what it should be.

"Nicky" Santoro (Joe Pesci) is sent in to oversee the skim and make sure the mob retain control over the Casino. The plot unfolds with FBI investigations, the drama of Rothstein's failing and dramatic relationship.

The film is based on real people to a degree (quite a bit of creative license though) Frank Lawrence "Lefty" Rosenthal is replaced with Rothstein, and Joe Pesci's NIkcy is Anthony Spilotro. The plot is exciting, with lots of drama and quite a lot of violence (it is a gangster/crime film so no surprise there)

Cast is simply excellent cannot really fault any of the performances, even Pesci (whom I can find annoying at times) works well in his mob enforcer role. De Nero is on top form and completely fills the role in a way which is believable and convincing.

Camera work is good, as is sound and direction get the usual..but classy Scorsese treatment (narration is his trade mark and he can do it better than most) A polished and gripping production in every way. It is a bit long, maybe could have used a bit more time on the cutting floor, but I never felt the film dragged or lost interest. Both the story, script and cast deliver. Though it's not quite up there with the best from Scorsese or De Niro, it is a strong addition to the crime genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Business as usual, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Casino [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
So many five-star reviews for this well below par Scorsese film. If this gets five, how on earth would one rate Taxi Driver, Goodfellas, or New York, New York, three far subtler and superior efforts.
As some reviewers pointed out on its release, Scorsese has fallen uncritically for the erratic, mercurial presence of Joe Pesci, and the neon jungle madness that is Las Vegas, not to mention the endless Soprano-like (Soprano-lite?) groupings of overweight, dapper mobsters with too much time on their hands. This is to some extent merely high-class porn (with a small p, so to speak) with little of that genre`s tacky directness.
Pesci`s Nicky is brilliant, but then a cobra is impressive to watch too, and almost as deadly. Scorsese is fascinated by the wired dynamo that is Joe Pesci, with hardly any hint of an exploration of such a man`s psyche. Oh yes, we see him as devoted family man, and seeming friend to Sharon Stone`s Ginger, but these are too easily earned moments of 'reprieve' for a psychotic, despicable, reptilian monster. Surely Marty could at last, after so many such movies, begin to show us these witlessly aggressive Italian-Americans in all their neanderthal absurdity, rather than yet again celebrating them for the out-of-control 'energy' that he appears to admire (from the safety of a director`s chair) so much? It seems not.
Sharon Stone is the main reason to see this intermittently engrossing movie. She`s great, as indeed this often underrated and underused actress is. (She was also the main reason to see the ridiculous Basic Instinct, a film from which another much better film is gasping to escape.) Her scenes with De Niro, who is superb in the least showy role of the film`s three stars, are beautifully acted, Stone fully deserving her awards and Oscar nomination.
James Woods is underused as Stone`s one-time pimp/lover/whatever (I wasn`t sure, to be honest) and veteran actor L.Q. Jones has an exemplary scene or two as a suavely cool stetson-hatted guy who puts the squeeze on De Niro`s character Ace.
Most of the cast come to sticky ends, some stickier than others. There`s an early scene concerning a head in a vice which I never want to see again. The finale is an orgy of mass violence of such unfocused pseudo-catharsis that it is grimly droll rather than at all thought-provoking.
If we`d really been privy to a film about how a casino works - oh, I know it seems to be about that, but it`s just another mob-fest supervised by the increasingly unsubtle Scorsese - then this might have been quite something. As it is, it`s got none of the youthful panache of Mean Streets, or the stylishly credible despair of Taxi Driver, has not a whit the wit of New York, New York, nor the unexpectedly bittersweet discomfort of King of Comedy.
Nobody wants this maverick director to make the same film over again, but - albeit with a Las Vegas setting, ostensibly about a 'casino' - that`s exactly what he`s done. It`s business as usual, and Pesci is indulged then slaughtered (believe me, I`m giving little away) as are most of the rest of the cast. It`s a wonder there was anyone left to clean up the mess.
Or: welcome to the Joe Pesci Show!
Great acting can happen in poor films. This is a neon-lit extravaganza, a tale told (endlessly - the constant narration gets wearing after about ten minutes of this very long film) by a director out of fresh ideas, signifying very little indeed.
Worth seeing mainly for Sharon, but also an unsmiling De Niro, and Pesci`s sheer gall, but I can`t honestly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharon Stone icing on the cake in this Vegas epic, 29 Mar. 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Watching Rita Hayworth in Gilda, the silver-screen film noir from the '50s which is largely set around a gambling joint in Buenos Aries, the sight of her sex symbol loveliness reminded me of Sharon Stone in Marty Scorsese's 'Casino'.

Playing 'Casino' again, for the fifth (?) time, starring Bob De Niro and Joe Pesci, about all sorts of gambling rituals and often deadly liaisons, Sharon Stone doesn't have quite the same role as Ms Hayworth. But, she is surprisingly good.

As the ex hooker, still in love with her ex, loser James Woods, she marries Sam Rothstein (De Niro), for his money. With $2 million entrusted in a bank vault, she likes her booze, pills, jewelry and her ex more than Sam. She then tries to get back on Sam via Joe Pesci's rather vile character, Nicky Santoro. That's just one story in this multi-strand, often brutal and always entertaining near 3 hour movie.

The main story is about Sam, who soon becomes the boss of the Tangiers Casino. The film spends a good first half hour setting the tone, describing the characters and all the operations involved in running such a lucrative place. Set in the '70s & '80's this is a great modern period piece, too.

Joe Pesci does his yappy little dog routines superbly, baring his teeth and fists at every opportunity. Scorsese, as always, segues some great songs into the soundtrack and the editing, as always, superb.

I find 'Casino' more approachable and enjoyable than 'Goodfellas'. It involves more characters, bigger plot-lines and has more going on. There's also the nice opportunity of just switching oneself off and not following what's going on, sitting back and just letting it all unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casino [DVD] [1996]
Casino [DVD] [1996] by Martin Scorsese (DVD - 2002)
£3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews