Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle wartime romance set in the fields of England
Gently written and directed, this is a pleasing romantic tale with a lot of scenery and some good acting. It isn't action packed, nor does it present anything new to us really even if there haven't been any movies about the ww2 land girls before. But it paints an accurate picture of the period while telling a rather obvious tale of love between two who would never have...
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by Lou Knee

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Land Girls DVD
I enjoyed this film very much but was dissappointed that it was very different to the book.
Published on 18 Sep 2009 by willow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle wartime romance set in the fields of England, 24 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Gently written and directed, this is a pleasing romantic tale with a lot of scenery and some good acting. It isn't action packed, nor does it present anything new to us really even if there haven't been any movies about the ww2 land girls before. But it paints an accurate picture of the period while telling a rather obvious tale of love between two who would never have met if it wasn't for the war. Gentle, subtle, pretty little film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Land Girls Forever, 4 Dec 2002
By 
Lancaster Lucy (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This film is brilliant. Anna Friel is excellent, very funny and plays her part really well. Each of the characters are so very likeable. There are quite a lot of funny scenes in it but also some real heart breaking stuff (i cried one minute and laughed the next!), which i feel portrays the ups and downs of the second world war extremely well.
It is a gentle and emotional film and the countryside scenery is breathtaking . If you like good old fashioned English films, you will find this very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good drama, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film focuses on three land girls, sent to work on a farm during World War 2. The main characters are Stella, Ag and Prue. The story mainly focuses on Stella and her relationship with a male whom works/lives on the farm.

It's mainly a romantic story, although it does show the effect of war on people's lives.

Brilliantly acted and emotive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They also served., 28 Mar 2014
By 
Neville Weston (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
.
Sums up an an almost forgotten episode in British history.What a splendid film this is with fine casting and wonderful visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just very good, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Beautiful film, very good DVD, delivered in time. I love that story, version is beautifuly made, camera and sceneries of Dorset are fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The story was great but ................., 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The story of "The Land Girls" was excellant and we thoughly enjoyed it despite a couple of bits when the DVD froze and we had to push it forward to the next clear part. We had nearly finished the film and were in the last 5 minutes when it stopped and despite trying everything I knew and trying to watch it on 3 different machines including a games console that plays nearly anything there was no way we could watch the end of the film.
To be fair, after we complained the cost of the DVD was refunded straight away and the service was excellent but we still want to know how it ended????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wartime romp on English Soil, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Recently visited the little Church of Riddington, set in a field on Exmoor. Lovely location of the Church used in this film, so we thought we'd like to watch it again. Strange, but a new DVD of this old film is an 'arm and a leg' , so bought this second hand. Good condition and works fine. Good to see the film, Church and West Somerset Railway again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for me, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
i really enjoyed watching this film again its one of the films that you could watch over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Land Girls DVD Film, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Good film set in period during WW2 when nearly all the men have gone to war leaving women to help with farming This particular story deals with love lost and regained with some poignant moments dealing with the effects on those left behind of men who lose their lives or are seriously maimed on the battlefield Good convincing acting from all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fanstatic, 6 Sep 2010
By 
K. M. Smith "gpaudit" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could watch this film over and over again its brilliant and very well acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Land Girls [DVD] [1998]
The Land Girls [DVD] [1998] by David Leland (DVD - 2001)
21.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews