Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRIUMPHANT STORY OF A REAL LIFE SURVIVOR...
This is an incredible, highly energized film about the life of rock and roll diva, Tina Turner, and her stormy relationship with her controlling and physically abusive husband, Ike Turner. Award calibre performances are turned in by Angela Bassett, as Tina, and Laurence Fishburne, as Ike. They are both absolutely riveting.
Ms. Bassett plays Tina with all the earthy...
Published on 1 Jan 2003 by Lawyeraau

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Happy
This item only gets 1 star because it didn't even work, I had to throw it away. What a waste of my time and money
Published 28 days ago by Lavinia


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRIUMPHANT STORY OF A REAL LIFE SURVIVOR..., 1 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This is an incredible, highly energized film about the life of rock and roll diva, Tina Turner, and her stormy relationship with her controlling and physically abusive husband, Ike Turner. Award calibre performances are turned in by Angela Bassett, as Tina, and Laurence Fishburne, as Ike. They are both absolutely riveting.
Ms. Bassett plays Tina with all the earthy charm and sexual magnetism of the real life Tina Turner. Laurence Fishburne gives an amazingly effective performance as Ike, at once both repellent and charismatic. The movie focuses on their relationship, one which sowed the seeds for the Tina Turner we know today.
What started out as a match made in heaven, quickly soured as Tina naturally took the lead musically in their Ike and Tina Turner Revue. When it became clear that Tina was the one for whom the fans were clamoring, Ike did not take lightly to being second banana, and their relationship became one of domestic discord and abuse, with Ike easing into the role of abusive husband with relative ease.
When Tina finally had had enough, she divorced Ike, taking nothing from the marriage except her children and her show business name, the name she earned. From there, she went on to rebuild her life and career, becoming the world renowned rock and roll diva she is today. Ike, a substance abuser, ended up in prison for narcotics possession and fell into relative obscurity, little more than a footnote in rock and roll history.
This is a film well worth watching, with great performances and great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TINA is simply the best!!, 25 Oct 2004
By 
Great White "GW" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This film needs only one word to describe it. That word is POWER! Power belonging to the riviting soundtrack, power to the performances and power from the story that was tina's life. This is my favourite film. The story of Tina needs to be seen for you to understand exactly what she had to go through to get where she is today; one hell of a rock diva. Angela Bassett should have had an oscar for her performance as Tina as she brought her character alive. When she sang, you sang. When she was beat by Ike, you felt the pain and when she fought back, you cheered. I'm so glad that she came out of it the way she did. She was a young woman who was scared to becoming a woman who was strong. Well done tina, we are all proud. Laurence Fishburne played a great Ike. He was vicious but also had the charisma for the ladies. Although i dont think that he ever cared or loved her by the way he treated her. I mean what husband gets his wife out of a hospital bed just to be able to go to a gig in New York, then he gets upset when she says she cant sing. What was up with that guy? He cared more about the fame than he did about her. And when she got noticed more than him, he just couldn't take it. Then started the violent rage and it was hard to watch when he got mad. It says at the end Ike was thrown in jail. So he should have been....maybe a lot sooner. For Assault, rape, drug abuse and embezzelment. For the real Tina fans, you are treated to a fantastic concert performance first with Angela as Tina then The real Tina. If you aint seen it, you cant afford to miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one for tha sisters, GO TINA GIRL!!, 1 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Bassett girl, you are the cream in my coffee, can I get a witness?!?!?!?!?! If Angela Bassett didn't get the oscar for this, she should have done. I'm sure my heart stopped twice, maybe three times, during this film, due to the unrelenting and distressing content it throws at the viewer.... This film is a gem, a must, a necessity, you must own it for Fishburne's performance at the very least. You'll want to hug the real Tina Turner forever, she is such a strong woman. I wanted to give it more than five stars but the people at Amazon wouldn't let me, so just buy it and you'll see for yourself. Best biopic of the century!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars girl power style diva shines and succeeds!, 3 Jan 2002
By 
Louise Bidnell (Royston, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Brilliant film that anyone who enjoys Tina's music will simply adore. However, even if you don't appreciate her music you'll love the film. A hardhitting, yet real life drama-showing the reality of the up's and down's of fame, the music industry and of course the art of being in love. You can't help but feel her triumphs when she overcomes her husband, nor can you help but cry with her pain and mourn with her sorrow. Definitely one for the ladies with an uplifting ending and if you didn't like Tina before, i'm sure you will have nothing but admiration after!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TRIUMPHANT STORY OF A REAL LIFE SURVIVOR..., 2 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an incredible, highly energized film about the life of rock and roll diva, Tina Turner, and her stormy relationship with her controlling and physically abusive husband, Ike Turner. Award calibre performances are turned in by Angela Bassett, as Tina, and Laurence Fishburne, as Ike. They are both absolutely riveting.
Ms. Bassett plays Tina with all the earthy charm and sexual magnetism of the real life Tina Turner. Laurence Fishburne gives an amazingly effective performance as Ike, at once both repellent and charismatic. The movie focuses on their relationship, one which sowed the seeds for the Tina Turner we know today.
What started out as a match made in heaven, quickly soured as Tina naturally took the lead musically in their Ike and Tina Turner Revue. When it became clear that Tina was the one for whom the fans were clamoring, Ike did not take lightly to being second banana, and their relationship became one of domestic discord and abuse, with Ike easing into the role of abusive husband with relative ease.
When Tina finally had had enough, she divorced Ike, taking nothing from the marriage except her children and her show business name, the name she earned. From there, she went on to rebuild her life and career, becoming the world renowned rock and roll diva she is today. Ike, a substance abuser, ended up in prison for narcotics possession and fell into relative obscurity, little more than a footnote in rock and roll history.
This is a film well worth watching, with great performances and great music. Look for the live stage performance by the real life Tina Turner at the end of the film. That alone is worth the price of this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tina turner dvd, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Keit Knight "nobby" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
great film would recomend to any one to watch a very brave lady thru a terrible life of hell with a very nasty man but a very happy ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Based on the book "I, Tina",, 7 Oct 2007
This review is from: Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Despite Angela Bassett bearing little resemblance to Tina Turner (and Fishbourne to Ike Turner for that matter) the movie works because of the outstanding performances of these two actors. So strong is Bassett's performance as Tina that this issue becomes irrelevant. Angela becomes Tina.

Based on the book "I, Tina", the film focusses on Tina's life story up to her amazing comeback in 1984. However, I've always wondered how much of the film is factual considering it was only based on the book.

There are several scenes which are violent and give us some understanding on how horrible life became for Tina while married to Ike. I admire her commitment to stay with the Turner Revue, and being a mother to four children (of which two were not hers). People ask, why didn't she just walk out? Well eventually she did, but her committment was very commendable.

Overall this is a good film that deals with a difficult subject matter. The fact that it is a true story just makes it better. Strong black leads and emotionally involving makes for a good watch even if it's hard to describe the violence at times as `entertainment'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not Happy, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This item only gets 1 star because it didn't even work, I had to throw it away. What a waste of my time and money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I've seen this film some years ago, a good film, but my best friend had never seen it so i got it for her birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993]
Tina - What's Love Got [DVD] [1993] by Brian Gibson (DVD - 2001)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews