Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2005
Excellent homage to the spaghetti western genre. A very strong cast who all appear to be having a great deal of fun with this. All the cliches and conventions of the genre are on show here, missing Confederate gold, a silent, deadly hero, bands of thugs, and evil Union cavalry, but its done with such style you don't mind. A word about the sound though, one other reviewer mentioned the poor sound quality and it is awful, i thought there was something wrong with my TV, i had to turn it up to full blast (and it's a very loud TV!!). Doesn't spoil a bargain though. At this price this comes highly recommended
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2004
I bought this film only for a couple of quid and didn't think it would beup to much but thought it wouldn't matter because it was a cheap purchase. But I was wrong! Emilio really shines as he plays yet another Cowboy, some quite funny moments and some quite bizarre moments. Worthwhilechecking out especially for some of the other older actors that pop up init. Completely recommend this modern day light hearted western!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2002
I watched this film on dvd last night and was very impressed. It's a western with great comic one liners. Sergio Leone and John Woo are definitely the inspirations for this movie. Emilio is no Clint Eastwood but he's great at delivering comedy dialogue. The scene where he goes into a saloon to get a holster is amazing, the sliding horse is hilarious. The director is no Leone or Woo but his humble homage is a joy to watch. I'd love to see what they could've done with a bigger budget. Don't take the film too seriously and you'll love it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2005
Emilio and friends have done better than most in their homage to the Spaghetti Western - a thoroughly enjoyable film too even if you're not into the genre. The DVD is, however, let down by appalling sound quality. A remastered rerelease is in order!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film was not bad at all OK it is not the best western out there but it is worth a watch there are a lot of moments were you think right what ever but you could generally say that about a lot of movies out there.
It states that it's a tribute to the great Sergio Leone and there are elements within the film that you will remember from his great films but this is I would say more of a comedy western compared to the great man with no name trilogy starring Clint Eastwood.
I would recommend it if you have some spare time and just under a couple of pounds you can't go wrong.
review image review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
Emilio Estevez was great as Billy the Kid in Young Guns. His trademark laugh was an instant classic. Seeing him in another western was something I could not pass up. So I purchased Dollar for the Dead for only £3.

The DVD box did not bode well however. Referring to `Clint East Wood', Leone and Woo on the back told me that this film was looking to borrow from them to satisfy us. Well, never mind, a homage could be good fun. I managed to watch the whole film, but it was unfortunately pretty crummy. It appeared to have been written by a young teenager. Zero character. Plot you didn't care about. Great cast, but all struggling to make such flat lines come to life. It relied too heavily on the viewers good disposition towards it on account of it being reminiscent of other infinitely better films. The soundtrack was appalling pastiche. When I say that the script was bad, I am not talking in comparison to Oscar winners or obscure European cinema. It was appalling compared to something like No Retreat, No Surrender, or Under Siege 2.

Estevez was just too weedy to carry off the mysterious man with no name. He had nothing to work with. Not even good costume. If this was a spaghetti western, it was of the budget tinned variety. Not cheap but cheerful, rather cheap and nasty. Worth watching with a few friends if you like laughing at cheese. It's a waste of any money. Rent a decent western once. Don't own this drivel. And as for the secret of the coffin - its got a big gun in it. That's all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2001
This is an amazing film and i love it. Unlike other westerns it includes brilliant special effects and this allows stunning gun scenes. The plot keeps you interested and the action is jaw-dropping. The famous 'whiskey scene' lives up to expectations and generally this is a masterpiece.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
Homage to the spaghetti western. This is great fun, action packed and with some fine tongue in cheek scenes. Cuts a fine line between laugh out loud and taut action. To be watched with a smile on your face and a cheroot in your mouth... Did you kill my brother?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
This is A cracking little Western shot on the Cheap but with a great deal of Style.It harks back to the Spaghetti Flicks and its obvious Writer/Director Gene Quintano has a love for that Genre.There are some great shoot outs as well as an exciting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Excellent film, a nod to the old spaghetti western genre. Great to see Emilio Estevez Back in a cowboy flick again after Young Guns 1&2. Bought this though for my father for father's Day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)