Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi with Soul
Unlike many sci-fi/action films, "Soldier" stays with you, because it touches the heart with a few poignant, memorable scenes, has an interesting script and character development, and though some of it is derivative and silly, the film has Soul.
Much of this is due to a superb performance by Kurt Russell, in the almost mute part of Todd 3465, who was bred and trained...
Published on 1 Dec. 2004 by Alejandra Vernon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting action flick... but not much more than interesting
Version I saw: UK DVD release
Actors: 6/10
Plot/script: 7/10
Photography/visual style: 7/10
Music/score: 6/10
Overall: 6/10
It is not widely known, but Soldier is actually a 'side-quel', set in the same world as Blade-Runner. It mentions a couple of details in passing which mark the connection. It is mainly notable, however, for being the...
Published 2 months ago by Cinema Inferno


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi with Soul, 1 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Unlike many sci-fi/action films, "Soldier" stays with you, because it touches the heart with a few poignant, memorable scenes, has an interesting script and character development, and though some of it is derivative and silly, the film has Soul.
Much of this is due to a superb performance by Kurt Russell, in the almost mute part of Todd 3465, who was bred and trained to kill, and whose only feelings and thoughts are of "fear and discipline".
Todd 3465 was born in 1996 for the Adam Project, and we see him at 38, replaced by a faster and more durable model of soldier. Todd, presumed dead, is dumped with the trash on Arcadia, a "waste disposal planet".
There are no big budget special effects, but the visuals and cinematography (by David Tattersall) are excellent, the direction by Paul Anderson is perfectly paced, and Joel McNeely's score, along with the atmospheric sound effects, add a lot to the film.
Sean Partwee and Connie Nielsen are good as the Arcadian couple who befriend Todd, Gary Busey puts in a fine turn as Todd's captain, and Jason Isaacs plays the bad guy with appropriate meanness.
There are some terrific mano-a-mano fight scenes between Russell and his "replacement" Caine 607, played well by Jason Scott Lee, who was marvelous in "Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story", and shows his martial arts expertise in this film as well.
The film is free of foul language except for one instance (and one has to wonder why they ruined a perfect score with it), and despite the violence, would make suitable family viewing, because the violence has purpose and meaning...there is nothing gratuitous in this film, which is another reason I appreciate it, and most of all, it has that rare thing in a Hollywood film, a satisfying ending...one that will bring a tear to your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC SCI-FI..", 30 May 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a very underrated Paul Anderson movie, a great sci-fi with a brilliant story that's well paced with plenty of action, super soldier Kurt Russell is thrown away with the rubbish after being replaced by a superior model soldier (Jason Scott Lee) onto a remote planet where he befriends a group of families who have been living there, he slowly starts to gain a little humanity and decides to help fight for them against a common enemy, its very Rambo in its style of action but in space of course, lots of explosions and a whole feast of decent budget effects, the cast is good Russell and Lee are both great, good music, its not too shabby a sci-fi really, worth checking out again for sure, a blast of an action sci-fi with an interesting vision of the future.
The import Blu-ray has good picture quality and plays region free.
Has a commentary and a trailer on the features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is More, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
Rosendo (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Kurt Russell says very little in this science fiction movie but he doesn't have to, his expressions and presence on the screen say it all for him. This is a class film with some great action scenes and also some very emotionally moving scenes (the scene at the end is a beautiful moment) also (the banishment scene). No words are spoken in these scenes but they were powerful and moving scenes.
This film was brilliantly acted and for the people that want to see the action and technology that science fiction fans want, it excels here too. There are good fight scenes, futuristic vehicles and impressive space ships all to be seen in this movie and yes you've probably seen all this before but the story being told and the messages being brought across by the film are what make it special, truly a great science fiction movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soldier, 24 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
why dont people like this film ? sit back, switch off, and enjoy. Ok ,so its full of cliches, but its done with style. I like casablanca , I like Blade Runner and i like Soldier . Take it for what it is . Forget the budget , the lack of Kurts dialogue, and enjoy the style and the "what if ", idea of soldiers that are bred to be.One of kurt's best , though h'ell never know it. PS I've watched it 20 times at least. Great fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the biggest flops in film history is a good movie (within reason), 17 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I wanted to hate this movie. I'd read about it and just knew it was going to be terrible. It cost $80 million and grossed something like $5 million in America. Just how awful could this movie be?

My brother was watching it and I watched about five minutes of it. I hated to admit it to myself but I liked what I saw (the bit in training were the kid who falls behind gets executed).

Eventually I decided to give it a shot. Loved it. It's derivative and twee (one of the montages of Russell living in the community just takes the piss). Still it worked on its own terms.

I don't mind the extended scenes of the community. This stuff usually bogs an action film down. I don't know why, but I found it to be bearable. Even enjoyable to some extent. The cute blonde kid is on screen for mere minutes for example.

Some people say the movie looks cheap. The fake plastic look to the movie has nothing to do with money - the movie was well financed. It's more likely because the exteriors were filmed in large indoor sound stages. Indoors pretending to be outdoors never looks good.

Forget your preconceptions of how unoriginal it is etc. If you accept it as a silly 80's style sci-fi action flick then you wont be disappointed. The end massacre is quite similar to the extended action shoot out in Hard Target. So if you enjoyed that movie then you should like this.

If you can, go for the R1 release as it has a very informative commentary on it by the director and his friend who co-produced. It's probably the best commentary I've heard as these things are usually dull. Not this one. He really goes into details on how it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vastly Underrated Sci-Fi Action Movie, 16 May 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Region 2.
Ratio, 4.3/1.33:1
Running time 95 minutes approx.

Trivia.
1)On a budget of $75 million dollars this film vastly underperformed at the US box office taking a total of $14,567,883 & went straight to dvd in the UK.
2)Sean Pertwee is the son of classic Doctor Who actor Jon Pertwee.
3)This story takesplace in the same universe as Blade Runner.
4)Kurt Russells son Wyatt plays the character of Todd at 11 year's old.
5)Todd speaks only 104 words during this entire movie.
6)Originally Keanu Reeves was set to star but pulled out when scheduling clashed with filming of The Matrix.

Plot Synopsis.
In a futuristic society some humans babies are selected at birth & trained to become soldiers who kill without fear as they have had all emotions purged from them.

Todd is one of the older soldiers who has had many successful missions is chosen to be pitted against a new breed of genetically engineered soldiers to test there efficiently, Todd is eventually defeated by the vicious Caine, Todd is now classed as a inferior model & is dumped on a colonial waste planet & left for dead.

Todd is rescued by Sandra & Mace who are part of a peaceful community of crashed survivors who befriend Todd who show him other aspects of what it is to be human.

But when the planet comes under attack by the very soldiers who abandoned Todd led by the vicious Caine whom are under orders to wipe out the entire colonists as part of a training exercise, Todd humanity breaks through as he takes it upon himself to help defend his new home against the race of a new breed of enhanced soldiers.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a very underrated action film that not only delivers excellent bone crunching action mayhem but at it's centre is a story about humanity.

David Webb Peoples (Who also wrote Blade Runner) script flows nicely as it focuses on the character of Todd who has been purged of all emotion yet due to his circumstances of abandonment starts to feel emotion & empathy towards the peaceful survivors of his new environment.

Kurt Russell bulked up for this role & gives an amazing performance as Todd who conveys much with very little dialogue & is brilliant in the movies many hard hitting action scenes.

Jason Scott Lee play a sinister advisory named Caine who is leader of the newer enhanced soldiers who's determined to eliminate Todd at whatever costs, Lee gives a very dark brutal souless performance of the character while superior in strength & agility to Todd, Caine lacks Todd's ability to embrace his humanity.

With great supporting roles by Connie Nelson, Sean Pertwee, Gary Busey & Jason Issacs Soldier delivers some excellent brutal well choreographed fight scenes & big budget action scenes by Resident Evil director Paul W.S Anderson yet allows time to tell a story about embracing life & change as Todd makes a last stand for humanity.

An entertaining enjoyable action packed sci-fi movie that deserves more credit than it gets, Soldier delivers great action & a story about what it is to be human, Highly recommended.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soldier - This film is great...no idea why it was a flop...it shouldn't have been, 16 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Says it all in the title really.

I watched this film thinking....bet this is a load of rubbish otherwise it would have been a box office hit.

How wrong I was and I really have NO idea why it was a flop.

Even though I'm a girly, I love sci-fi, action, thriller, martial arts films. Love them. The thing with this film is that there's a little bit of everything.

I think it's a testament to Kirk Russell's fantastic acting ability that he could go through that film hardly saying more than a few sentences, but convey so much anger, fear, hurt, confusion and even love with an utterly stone face, more or less conveying it all with his eyes(which - ok - I'll own up..on a girly level his eyes and entire bod are buff and pretty damn hot..remember Tango & Cash...phew!).

Whilst the basic premise of hero defending helpless peoples has been used over and over, I thought the way it was portrayed as an elite soldier being literally dumped on the scrapheap in favour of a newer model was very clever.

Seriously...watch the film for what it is, not what you think it should be. You may find yourself mightily surprised. The ending...well....gulp...see for yourself.

I've just ordered this from Amazon so that I can watch it with my son as it's just his cup of tea and I can't wait to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soldier - Good Sci - Fi, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
If you like Science Fiction as I do but hate bad Science Fiction, you'll enjoy this film. I was torn between giving it 4 or 5 stars but then I considered other films and series, Star Wars, Alien(s), Battlestar etc, I decided it was a very good 4!

Kurt Russell plays a failed Military Experiment in cloned soldiers who are discarded after a 'superior model' is produced. Beaten to a pulp after giving his own best shot against one of the new troops, he is literally thrown out with the rubbish by a garbage scowl onto 'a rubbish planet!'

On the planet he finds a colony of humans who take him in, care for his wounds and help him recover. Unfortunately his history catches up on him through Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and he reacts to certain situations which the colonists find disturbing.

The new clones meanwhile are sent to the planet on a training exercise and soon come across the colonists, who are thought of as good target practice. Kurt Russell, seeing the destruction returns to the colony and fights not only the new troops but the planets stormy weather sytem.

If you like good Sc-Fi, you'll like this, lots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 27 May 2000
By 
Paul Spencer (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Having gone straight to video, I wasn't expecting a lot from this film. However I was pleasantly surprised to find it a really entertaining sci-fi film. The action scenes are well done, acting is fine and the storyline is good.
A soldier raised from birth to be a killing machine, finds he is replaced by the newer enhanced breed. Left for dead he discovers another side of life. When his past catches up with him it's war.
Fun, entertaining and well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SCI-FI FILM, 29 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Soldier [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The film follows Kurt Russell's character as a young boy, taken in by the military and trained relentlessly to become the perfect soldier. Serving in military campaigns on distant planets, Russell becomes a grizzled veteran.

A new breed of soldier has been created, biologically engineered to replace Russell's troops. Stronger, faster and totally fearless, the new troops relegate Russell's to effectively supply troops. During trials of the new troops, Russell is thought to have been killed and is unceremonially dumped on a planet size refuse dump. Found by settlers on the harsh planet, Russell's new replacements arrive to undergo more evaluation and discover the group of settlers. The commander of the new unit decide to eradicate the settlers as part of their training and Russell is forced to fight back.

Old is best, and Russells experience shows this during a 'first Blood' style film ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soldier [DVD] [1998]
Soldier [DVD] [1998] by Paul W.S. Anderson (DVD - 1999)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews