Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You put the lime in the coconut.....
....And drink it all up. And that's exactly what i did with this movie.

Me, my mum, my sister and my best friend all love this film.

I haven't read the book and didn't even know that there was one, but i plan on buying and reading it. It wont matter if it's different from the film because i love this film ayway.

Sandra Bullock and Nicole...
Published on 27 May 2006 by CC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witchy Sisters
Well if you find the first ten minutes or so silly and saccharin sweet hold on in there. Rather unimaginative directing and a poorly thought out sound track are well and truly rescued by an unusual and well crafted storyline.
The ending is a little rushed, but by then who cares because you have watched an entertaining movie. Recommended.
Published on 28 Feb 2008 by Gerob


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You put the lime in the coconut....., 27 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Practical Magic [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
....And drink it all up. And that's exactly what i did with this movie.

Me, my mum, my sister and my best friend all love this film.

I haven't read the book and didn't even know that there was one, but i plan on buying and reading it. It wont matter if it's different from the film because i love this film ayway.

Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman shine on screen and make for good acting partners, which i found surprising.

Goran Visjnic (i think that's how you spell it), was excellent as the creepy boyfriend and Stockard Channing and Dianne Weist were perfect as the slightly eccentric aunts.

The story revolves mainly around two sisters who live in a small town with their aunts.

There is a curse upon the female's in the family that if any man falls in love with them he will die. And unfortunately that's what happens to Sally's husband early on in the film.

After moving back in with her aunts Sally's sister, Gillian, gets herself into trouble with her scary Bulgarian boyfriend and calls on her beloved sister for help.

The ensuing mishaps and blunders make for good viewing and are just a little scary but a lot of fun.

The girls find themselves trying to cover their tracks with little or no success and in the end the witch's have to put their faith and trust in the women of the town who, for many years have feared and wondered about them, in order to save Gillian's life.

Magic, mayhem and just a little murder are all thrown into the cauldron to make this an enjoyable warm fuzzy movie.

Well worth the money. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Won't leave you spellbound but bewitching in a small way, 2 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Practical Magic was slated on its initial release a few years ago. It's hard to see why as it's a small movie with big stars and doesn't pretend to be anything special. It tells the tale of two sisters who due to spell cannot fall in love for 'real' like the rest of us. Chaos ensues and the film takes you on a magical, sweet and only slightly dark journey in pursuit of the sisters' happiness.
Bullock and Kidman - (underrated as ever) give fully rounded performances and they are supported ably by Stockard Channing and Diane Wiest as the eccentric aunts complete with witch outfits and hair-dos from hell.
Also look out for Dr Kovac from ER!
Practical Magic is sometimes a confused genre film. Because of it's certificate it could not be too gory and you suspect that the original material was a great deal darker. But with top quality performances, a fast moving plot and special effects which do not steal any thunder from Kidman and Bullock- you are left with a cute old fashioned comedy that is less Hocus Pocus and more Eastwick with a '12' cert.
A magical under-rated comedy that is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern magical story, 1 May 2009
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Practical Magic [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Practical Magic follows the story of a family of witches who have been cursed by the broken heart of an ancestor. No Owens woman should ever fall in love, for if she does, it will be ripped from her in a cruel way.

Sally and Gillian Owens are sisters, very different, both talented witches and both bound together by blood and magic.

Sally is reserved, and practical and happily married with two beautiful daughters - refraining from using her magical talents. Gillian on the other hand, is a wild child who constantly fleets in and out of mens lives without ever falling in love until she meets a dangerous and dark Bulgarian wannabe cowboy.

Soon things become all too real for both sisters as their romantic lives begin to fall apart, Sally's husband is victim to the Owens' curse, and Gillian finds herself victim to the possessive, moody and slightly deranged Jimmy Angeloff.

What starts out as an escape plan soon quickly turns into a nightmare that the sisters become convinced only magic can fix - but dabbling in the darker arts is something they are very inexperienced in, and brings in more than they bargained for.

A mix of light hearted and warm romantic comedy with a slight taint of horror and mystery, a wonderful story and a great fun adventure. The soundtrack on this one is especially uplifting and heartwarming, and really brings the magic of the movie to life.

A must for all fans of magic, fantasy, romance, and comedy. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magical!, 23 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Practical Magic [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I don't know about anyone else but whenever i watch this movie i get a warm happy feeling in the pit of my stomach. The only way to describe this movie is 'perfect'. The film basically revolves around two sisters who are the most recent of a long line of witches who just want to live normal lives. This is made difficult for them by the townsfolk who believe them to be evil. Watch it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good watch!!, 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
i love this film!!its light humour, romance, and slightly scary all bumped into one!!when i say scary i mean jumpy!i really recommend watching this, Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman are great in it!and the aunts are funny, very eccentric and great to watch. overall great acting, good storyline and of course, as usual in American films, a happy ending!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely a must see., 30 Sep 2002
By 
Aoife (RAMSGATE, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
So, I saw a trailer and thought 'Nah... not my kind of thing at all'. Then I noticed Goran Visnjic was in it (as Jimmy Angelor), and being a bit of a Goran fan decided it was worth it, just for him.
I loved it.
Practical Magic was funny, touching, and creepy.
Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock were amazing. (as, of course, was Goran Visnjic).
I really recomend it to anyone, as it has a little bit of everything in it.
Absolutly superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witchy Sisters, 28 Feb 2008
By 
Gerob (Reading United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Practical Magic [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Well if you find the first ten minutes or so silly and saccharin sweet hold on in there. Rather unimaginative directing and a poorly thought out sound track are well and truly rescued by an unusual and well crafted storyline.
The ending is a little rushed, but by then who cares because you have watched an entertaining movie. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovers doomed to die, 26 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Practical Magic [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The story line is loosely based on a book by Alice Hoffman. It is more of the screen play by Robin Swicord who also did the screen play for "Matilda" (1996).

Sisters Sally Owens (Sandra Bullock) and Gillian Owens (Nicole Kidman) are brought up by their maiden aunts after their parents died. They learn of magic and its pluses and minuses by observing their aunts from a distance. They also have to overcome (if possible) the family curse that the gentlemen in their lives are distending to meat an early demise. One highlight of the movie is when we find that the other women in the village really did not distain the Owens's; is just that they have not been invited to help.

The story deviates from the book in the since that they do not even try to mask the fact that they are sort of cookie witches that even though the whole town knows about them. The men in their lives are too naive to notice when their time is up.

So watch and have fun. Then read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 8 Jun 2003
By A Customer
I first saw this film when i was quite young and being a bit of a wimp i was scared out of my wits. But the second time i saw it i noticed the beautiful settings and the way it was shot. It was romantic, scary and it had something sad and melancholy about it. There's something for everyone in this film. A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 5 Aug 2003
This review is from: Practical Magic [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is one of my all time favourites. Really good for girls who wish that they had magical powers and respect the sisterhood! There are some real 'I love you guys' moments in this especially when despite the odds the sisters go through hoops to protect each other.
As with all American films - this one also has a happy ending! Great feel good film with some hairy bits in it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practical Magic [DVD] [1998]
Practical Magic [DVD] [1998] by Griffin Dunne (DVD - 1999)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews