Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
231
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2006
....And drink it all up. And that's exactly what i did with this movie.

Me, my mum, my sister and my best friend all love this film.

I haven't read the book and didn't even know that there was one, but i plan on buying and reading it. It wont matter if it's different from the film because i love this film ayway.

Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman shine on screen and make for good acting partners, which i found surprising.

Goran Visjnic (i think that's how you spell it), was excellent as the creepy boyfriend and Stockard Channing and Dianne Weist were perfect as the slightly eccentric aunts.

The story revolves mainly around two sisters who live in a small town with their aunts.

There is a curse upon the female's in the family that if any man falls in love with them he will die. And unfortunately that's what happens to Sally's husband early on in the film.

After moving back in with her aunts Sally's sister, Gillian, gets herself into trouble with her scary Bulgarian boyfriend and calls on her beloved sister for help.

The ensuing mishaps and blunders make for good viewing and are just a little scary but a lot of fun.

The girls find themselves trying to cover their tracks with little or no success and in the end the witch's have to put their faith and trust in the women of the town who, for many years have feared and wondered about them, in order to save Gillian's life.

Magic, mayhem and just a little murder are all thrown into the cauldron to make this an enjoyable warm fuzzy movie.

Well worth the money. Highly recommend it.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2000
Practical Magic was slated on its initial release a few years ago. It's hard to see why as it's a small movie with big stars and doesn't pretend to be anything special. It tells the tale of two sisters who due to spell cannot fall in love for 'real' like the rest of us. Chaos ensues and the film takes you on a magical, sweet and only slightly dark journey in pursuit of the sisters' happiness.
Bullock and Kidman - (underrated as ever) give fully rounded performances and they are supported ably by Stockard Channing and Diane Wiest as the eccentric aunts complete with witch outfits and hair-dos from hell.
Also look out for Dr Kovac from ER!
Practical Magic is sometimes a confused genre film. Because of it's certificate it could not be too gory and you suspect that the original material was a great deal darker. But with top quality performances, a fast moving plot and special effects which do not steal any thunder from Kidman and Bullock- you are left with a cute old fashioned comedy that is less Hocus Pocus and more Eastwick with a '12' cert.
A magical under-rated comedy that is worth a look.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2004
I don't know about anyone else but whenever i watch this movie i get a warm happy feeling in the pit of my stomach. The only way to describe this movie is 'perfect'. The film basically revolves around two sisters who are the most recent of a long line of witches who just want to live normal lives. This is made difficult for them by the townsfolk who believe them to be evil. Watch it!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2003
i love this film!!its light humour, romance, and slightly scary all bumped into one!!when i say scary i mean jumpy!i really recommend watching this, Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman are great in it!and the aunts are funny, very eccentric and great to watch. overall great acting, good storyline and of course, as usual in American films, a happy ending!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Practical Magic follows the story of a family of witches who have been cursed by the broken heart of an ancestor. No Owens woman should ever fall in love, for if she does, it will be ripped from her in a cruel way.

Sally and Gillian Owens are sisters, very different, both talented witches and both bound together by blood and magic.

Sally is reserved, and practical and happily married with two beautiful daughters - refraining from using her magical talents. Gillian on the other hand, is a wild child who constantly fleets in and out of mens lives without ever falling in love until she meets a dangerous and dark Bulgarian wannabe cowboy.

Soon things become all too real for both sisters as their romantic lives begin to fall apart, Sally's husband is victim to the Owens' curse, and Gillian finds herself victim to the possessive, moody and slightly deranged Jimmy Angeloff.

What starts out as an escape plan soon quickly turns into a nightmare that the sisters become convinced only magic can fix - but dabbling in the darker arts is something they are very inexperienced in, and brings in more than they bargained for.

A mix of light hearted and warm romantic comedy with a slight taint of horror and mystery, a wonderful story and a great fun adventure. The soundtrack on this one is especially uplifting and heartwarming, and really brings the magic of the movie to life.

A must for all fans of magic, fantasy, romance, and comedy. :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Have watched this film several times, couldn't sleep so decided to give it another go. It's the story of witches who have a curse hanging over them from a long lost ancestor who was unlucky in love, that any man who loved any of the women would die. It's got some very dark scenes in it and a great scene with tequila and dancing around the table. Would highly recommend to any witchy, fun loving ladies out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2002
So, I saw a trailer and thought 'Nah... not my kind of thing at all'. Then I noticed Goran Visnjic was in it (as Jimmy Angelor), and being a bit of a Goran fan decided it was worth it, just for him.
I loved it.
Practical Magic was funny, touching, and creepy.
Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock were amazing. (as, of course, was Goran Visnjic).
I really recomend it to anyone, as it has a little bit of everything in it.
Absolutly superb!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
two young girls living with their aunts ,learn that they are witches and the girls are taught it,now older one is uncontrollable the other wanting family lifetill her uncontrollable sister calls her for help as her boyfriend is beating up on her,they give him a spell to end his life and bury him in their garden,where out of season a huge rose bush grows,the sister who wanted a family had two children but the family curse that husbands would die took hers away,then the police show up looking for the buried guy and the fun begins as the whole town now suspect the sisters are witches,a great film,oh and the lime in the coconut is part of a drink ,I recommend this film you wont be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Have watched this many times, usually with the family but it never fails to keep me entertained, happy and positive. The polarity of the sisters are perfectly acted by Kidman and Bullock and their real world character differences work brilliantly together.

The film has lovely simple metaphors running through it which adults will smile at and I love it for that - unpretentious reminders of what matters in life.

Some of the scenes were pun intended, magical, beautifully lit and filmed and a believable film version of the Sorcerer's Apprentice, and other scenes were really quite freaky and menacing - each complimenting each other but making the differences acute, like the characters of the two leading ladies.

Wasn't happy about the slightly candy sick final rooftop scene, but the sensitively observed human emotions and actions running through a film about magic, made this a perfect feel good film for me. PS have never seen Kidman looking so naughty or Bullock so gentle :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
film came on time in very good condition plays great. I am a Sandra bullock fan ,this film being about witches love and murder ? so if those sort of things tickle your fancy this film is for you .the basic story is over a family of witches through time and how they handle there lives .Two sisters are so different one is in and out of love all the time !and the other cannot find love just once ?then the witch craft takes a hand and the fun begins ..well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.