Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good sequel - if slightly gruesome!
The sequel to the '94 cult classic, sees another soul brought back to take his revenge. Ashe (Vincent Perez) and his son were murdered after witnessing something they shouldn't have. This time Ashe is aided not only by The Crow but also Sarah (Eric and Shelley's friend from the first film), who has had visions of him.
Again, it follows the same general theme as...
Published on 4 Jan 2004 by N. Oliver

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical dark moody revenge thriller
I can't remember the first crow film (been almost 10 years since I saw it) so I can't say how it compares to that.
Ashe is man who was murdered with son. Sarah a tattoo artist who, despite living in a very rough part of town still has her idealism intact. Jedah is the head of the criminal organisation that killed Ashe. At his side is a woman who has powers of her...
Published on 28 Jan 2005 by Francisco


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars remember when they said "Don't look don't look?", 13 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Let's see if I can sum this up in one sentence.
Not enough can be said against this vacuous, tasteless cash in on the excellent original, whose spirit, energy and style is aped in so pathetic and unimaginative a fashion it sullies your memory of its classic predecessor.
Now let's try two words -
God. Awful.
Or in one word -
AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its was ace :D, 19 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
this was a quick buy since i got the first movie and Marks tv series.. its ace thats all i can say.. only to more to get and i have all The Crows on dvd :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City Of Angels, 21 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
After reading a large number of negative reviews on this film,i decided to buy it anyway as i loved the first film, and what can i say other than this is a great film...its not quite as good as the first,but is great none the less. It has a different feel to it when compared to the original. The feeling i got from this film is that it is more a piece of art than it is a film,NOT to say that film is not a form of art. It is beautifully shot and has a sort of a foreign feel to it.The story itself gives the viewer a different view of the crow universe.
I would only recommend this to fans of the original Crow film, as it may seem a little bit strange to newcomers of the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Crow 2: City of Awful Sequels, 13 Feb 2006
By 
Adam Pearson "plank" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Not to compare this film to the original would be wrong, it is a sequel and that is part of the reason it is made; to cash in on the success of previous films. The problem is that there was never really meant to be a sequel to this film (James O'Barr only wrote more books after the success of the Alex Proyas' 'The Crow').
The original was atmospheric, dark, sombre, but in a strange way, uplifting, this tragic sequel fails to live up to any of that, despite the fact that this is clearly what the director is trying to achieve.
Alex Proyas created the feel of the original with subtle use of lighting, camera angles, and a perfectly complimentary soundtrack, not to mention the superb acting from most of the original cast, (who thankfully did not dignify this film with their presence). Tim Pope, however, seems to think that it is enough to stick with dim lighting and frequent scenes of sadomasochism to achieve the same effect. Suffice to say it is not.
He is not helped of course, by some absolutely dire acting; Vincent Perez and Richard Brooks (Judah) are both appallingly wooden, and the rest of the cast do little to rescue them, in fact the only actor who actually shines is, oddly, rock legend Iggy Pop as Curve.
If you loved the first film, then you are probably going to watch this anyway, but be warned, do not expect anything near the quality of 'The Crow'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal, cliched rubbish, 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I liked the first film, and having read the above reviews, was prepared to give the sequel a try. I shouldn't have bothered. The acting (notably from Iggy Pop) was terrible, the script virtually non-existent, the plot minimal and predictable (partly because it was basically a rehash of the original), and the whole feel of the film was very tacky. Maybe it would be alright if you're drunk when watching it, but if you want a good film to watch, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films I've ever watched, 15 Feb 2004
I was told by a friend who'd watched this already that it was bad, and not to watch it. I thought "how bad can it really be? After all, the first film was brilliant", and that shows just how wrong you can be.
I'd describe this film as being like the Crow, except lacking the style, story, and acting of the first. So basically, they've taken everything that was good out of the first film and left practically nothing worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheesy, ridiculous but fun, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
watch this movie with a group of friends - it's so bad it's good in a really terribly brilliant freaky kind of way. the acting isn't great, the story isn't great, but these elements really combine in a special way to deliver a masterpiece of trashy nonsense which is more fun than a bucket of fish. I recommend it heartily. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop comparing it to the first!, 22 May 2004
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The problem with most reviews given to this movie is that people keep comparing it to the first Crow movie. The first Crow movie is hard to criticise as the beloved Brandon Lee died soon after. To criticise his last movie would be like taking a pee on his grave. I have watched both Crow movies so very many times and in my opinion they are two entirely different and seperate films. The camera shades and lighting in this piece make for powerful imagery as do the backdrops. I prefer this movie to the original as it presents a more gritty, powerful, gothic and wholly disturbing world. When watching it FORGET THE FIRST CROW and watch this as its own movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crow 2 not as bad as painted, 8 April 2003
By 
S. Cook "stevetygertiger" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
THE CROW CITY OF ANGELS SUFFERS BECAUSE PEOPLE MISS THE WHOLE POINT OF THE CROW. EVEN IF HE HAD NOT DIED BRANDON LEE SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN CONSIDERD FOR THE ROLE OF THE CROW IN THE 2ND FILM. THE WHOLE POINT OF THE CROW IS THAT ONCE THE 'WRONG THINGS ARE PUT RIGHT' THE AVENGING SPIRIT RESTS IN PEACE. VINCENT PEREZ IS AMAZING AS THE CONFLICTED CROW BUT POOR EDITING BY MIRAMAX SPOILS THE IMAGE OF THE CROW CHARECTER BY PORTRAYING HIM AS A GOOD GUY. THE CROW ENTITY IS FILLED WITH HATE,RAGE AND VENGANCE,ALL THE UGLY THINGS WE HIDE AS CIVALISED PEOPLE. THE DVD WOULD HAVE BENIFITED FROM BEING RE-EDITED THEN RELEASED IN A BOX SET WITH THE FIRST CROW AND THE YET TO BE RELEASED 3RD FILM SALVATION. OUT STANDING PERFORMANCE MUST GO TO IGGY POP.AS BAD AS HIS CHARECTER IS YOU CAN''T HELP BUT FEEL PITY FOR HIM WHEN HE MEETS HIS END.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not as good as the first., 25 Feb 2007
By 
Pyriel (northants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
the first film was amazing. the second is good, but nowhere near as artistic as the first. i dont really think the guy is right for the role and the murderers, well.. what can i say? they look like a bunch of circus clowns gone wrong. some cool parts, but doesnt even come close to the original masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996]
The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] by Vincent Perez (DVD - 2001)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews