Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good sequel - if slightly gruesome!
The sequel to the '94 cult classic, sees another soul brought back to take his revenge. Ashe (Vincent Perez) and his son were murdered after witnessing something they shouldn't have. This time Ashe is aided not only by The Crow but also Sarah (Eric and Shelley's friend from the first film), who has had visions of him.
Again, it follows the same general theme as...
Published on 4 Jan 2004 by N. Oliver

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical dark moody revenge thriller
I can't remember the first crow film (been almost 10 years since I saw it) so I can't say how it compares to that.
Ashe is man who was murdered with son. Sarah a tattoo artist who, despite living in a very rough part of town still has her idealism intact. Jedah is the head of the criminal organisation that killed Ashe. At his side is a woman who has powers of her...
Published on 28 Jan 2005 by Francisco


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed!, 10 July 2009
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
`City of angels` takes a totally new direction from the original and succeeds on some levels and fails on others.It's about a man and his son who witness a street execution and in result are killed themseleves.The father rises from the dead to seek revenge upon the culprits.

I enjoyed this but I know there will be those who despise it.I thinik fanhs will enjoy it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this film alot, but....., 19 Mar 2006
By 
J. Smith "jugkelv" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I think we all agree that the first crow, is, and always will be, a classic it it's own right. but, thankfully remembered for the film rather than the horrific, and tragic death of the late great Brandon Lee.
But, for the second film, i wasn't disapointed, well, to a point! i thought the whole look of the film, and the way some shots and scenes felt very poetic in some degree ( type of films i like, arty! ) and Vincent Perez, was a good decent Crow, mia kirshner was very good aswell, good character relationship.
But sayin that, looking at the negative reviews about the film ( which i think are very fair, everyone see's something different to others ) , especially about the acting, i do agree in some ways. there is a lot of scenes that are pretty duff!
Now for my low point, the bad guys is the one thing that lets down the whole entire film for me! only iggy pop, which was a massive surprise to me, made that part of the film worth while. in the original, the bad guy ( forgot the guys name, actor or character ) was very dark and moody. dark film, dark characters. And was very, very good.This was one was weak to say the least.
I'm no way comparing this film to the original, but i would recommend it to others who like the original, and likes the artyness of the film. It's not amazing, but worthy of a watch atleast.
But i would say, Avoid the third, as it was crap beyond belief!!! and the worst thing about it was, kirsten dunst herself! and i like her stuff aswell! But thats just me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reaonable sequel, 23 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A sequel that follows the original to a tee.

Once again a crow resserects a dead man to exact revenge on his killers.

Not even close to the original in terms of being a great comic book revenge movie, it does stillbhave a dark gothic style, some good action and has some pace.

The soundtrack is not as good, and the lead villian borders on the annoying.

Our lead played by Vincent Cazivel is passable but not a patch on Brandon Lee in the original.

Out of all the sequels so far this is the best follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
An oldie but goodie...we love this film and never tire of it, it's a shame that the second one didn't quite rate up to it. but this will blow you away if you've never seen it. a very dark film both in color and content...but give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars wrong dvd, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
when they arived there was wrong dvd in box both were the original crow. i ordered 2 seperate movies please advise s allanson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why? For the love of god Why?, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
As close to a made for TV movie as you could get. Bad special effects, bad casting, with the exception of Iggy Pop and the supprise appearence of Iain Durry but look out for a young Thomas Jane. To compare it to the orignal makes this film a poor sequal, as a stand alone film it misses the mark by miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a let down! Ruins the first film!, 1 Oct 2002
Well this film is dreadful!
Being a sequel to one of my favourite all-time films, I was a little but sceptical, and I was justified.
All they have done is taken the great film "The Crow" and used it's idea to write a dreadful film based around the idea of revenge.
It is dark and seedy. It is disgusting in places.
The new "crow" acts badly and his character is very weak. How he ended up in this sitiuation is even more un-believable. The view from the birds eyes is poor, the very fact that this miracle of coming back from the dead has happened twice is even more un-believable seeing as it is centered around the same young girl as in the previous film.
Basically this is a poor film that should never have been made. I hate the directors and producers for ruining the whole "The Crow" story as the first film was so wonderful, well written, beautifully shot with some of Brandon Lees best acting!!
If you have seen or even heard of (or even if you haven't heard of!)"The Crow" - I urge you to NEVER buy this sequel as it will leave you with a nasty bitter taste in your mouth!
DREADFUL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish cashing in on an all time classic., 1 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Oh dear what a dreadful dissapointment. Im sure everyone who bought this film did so because they loved the first one and I'm also sure that 99% of them must have felt as let down as I did.
"The Crow" stands as one of my all time favorites and I must have watched it a hundred times. This load of second-rate nonsense however, should simply be called "City of Angels" and not include the words "The Crow" therefore completely disassociating itself from the original and then would be doomed to the £5 bin of "B" rate movies with all the other rubbish.
The quality of this DVD is also very poor with distorted sound and picture, the latter being in widescreen but formated to 4x3 therefore stretching out of shape on a widescreen TV.
I will probably watch Brandon Lees masterpiece another hundred times but I can honestly say I will never watch this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Good, 11 Mar 2005
By 
deadteddy (Bridgend) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Firstly I'd like to say that I'm not going to compare this film to the orginal, this is because that is not a good way to rate a film especially if the original is as good as it was.
The Crow City Of Angels starts promising enough and as expected with the death of our main character and son. This is all very well and good, even at this point the look of the film is ok, it has the darkness and even the empty feel. Sadly... the acting in this film is bordering on shameful, there were points of this film that I truly felt it was so embarrasing I'd have to turn it off. To be fair though that is probably it's one major fault but when making films it's the actors that can help you make or break and in this film there is a definite break. I'm sorry but this film is best avoided. I can't tell you how much I wish I wasn't saying these words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars remember when they said "Don't look don't look?", 13 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Let's see if I can sum this up in one sentence.
Not enough can be said against this vacuous, tasteless cash in on the excellent original, whose spirit, energy and style is aped in so pathetic and unimaginative a fashion it sullies your memory of its classic predecessor.
Now let's try two words -
God. Awful.
Or in one word -
AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996]
The Crow - City Of Angels [DVD] [1996] by Vincent Perez (DVD - 2001)
£9.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews