Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
63
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 July 2015
This is a worthy upgrade if you are a fan of this film. the picture and sound quality are very good, but you will really appreciate when you compare it to a DVD version of the film. The difference is truly night and day.

The film is very very good and genuinely funny, but episodic and sketchy with no real narrative flow. Watching the bonus features explain why the film seems a bit random at times and I appreciate it even more now - its almost a surprise it got completed at all!

Where this Blu Ray really shines is the absolutely brilliant bonus material, an 80 minute documentary (one of the best special features I have ever watched for any film) with some brutal honesty and alot of information that was new to me. You also get another similar 30 minute documentary with some out-takes scattered throughout.

Never seem this film? Give it a shot.
Never owned it but want to? Get this Blu Ray version.
Have it on DVD and wonder if its worth the upgrade? 100% yes.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2008
I first saw this back in the early 80s and although it was indisputably crude and juvenile it appealed to my own crude, juvenile sense of humour. It sort of dropped off my radar for years until I got talking to a work mate about films we remembered from childhood and Caddyshack cropped up as a shared highlight. We then spent the next few weeks trying to drop in quotes from the movie into conversations and memos.

So it's difficult for me to be objective about this one. I can see that the jokes are mostly lame, the subplots are predictable and the acting rarely rises above the adequate. But I still can't help laughing like a drain whenever I watch it.

It's probably one for nostalgists who remember when we thought Chevy Chase was funny and when Bill Murray made comedies. I do understand how this film will leave a lot of people stone faced - so maybe it's a rent before you try. But, for the rest of us this is a guilty pleasure.

Bring on the dancing gopher
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2000
I bought this DVD yesterday, having enjoyed "Caddyshack II" and vaguely remembering bits of this one. I must admit - the film is absolutely hilarious! I can't really describe it's highlights through fear of spoiling it for everyone. Bill Murray is great as the dopey, Gopher-hunting Carl Spackler and Rodney Dangerfield's role as Al Czervik raises many laughs at the expense of Judge Smails (played by Ted Knight). Prude old ladies, hyperactive young caddies, pompous rich 'high-society' snobs, gophers... none of them are safe from Caddyshack's jokes. One brilliant film!
Only one moan - surely they could've at least fit one special feature onto the disc á la "Blazing Saddles"?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 April 2011
So now you've got that going for you, which is nice.

Inspired by Brian Doyle-Murray's experiences as a caddy in his youth, this wild, anarchic film is about more than just golf. Without a doubt, it's my favorite comedy, and might even be one of the greatest movies of all time. There is not a single scene without comedic chaos.

Director Harold Ramis is barely able to contain the insanity. There is honestly so much in Caddyshack, there's enough for ten movies, hardly surprising since the first draft of the screenplay was 199 pages long while the first cut of the film run for 310 minutes. I imagine that there's enough cut out to make whole new Caddyshack movies. There are about five different plots developing at once throughout the movie, the funniest of which is Carl Spackler's (having been licensed to kill by the 'Government of the United Nations') attempts to assassinate a rogue gopher tearing up the golf course.

Each and every actor battles with each other, and it's hard to nail down exactly who runs away with the movie, but if I absolutely HAD to choose, I'd say that Rodney Dangerfield's sleazy, slobbish, overly-friendly, and gratuitously tipping character is the most wonderful thing about it. He is the perfect foil for Judge Smails (an utterly perfectly-cast Ted Knight), a pompous, bad-tempered, self-important hypocrite who wants to reserve the pretentious Bushwood Country Club for snobs and gentlemen (despite being far from a gentleman himself).

If you like comedy quotes, Caddyshack is a goldmine. There are hundreds, literally hundreds, of lines worthy of repeating in real life. You could literally get by, from cradle to the grave, just quoting Caddyshack, and it would bring you nothing but pure happiness and good fortune.

The Blu Ray features a 1080p 1.78:1 picture that is a HUUUUGE step-up from the DVD, with DTS HD-MA sound, and loads of extras.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Caddyshack is directed by Harold Ramis who also co-writes the screenplay with Douglas Kenney and Brian Doyle-Murray. It stars Chevy Chase, Rodney Dangerfield, Bill Murray, Ted Knight and Michael O'Keefe. Music is by Johnny Mandel and cinematography by Stevan Larner.

Chaos reigns at Bushwood Country Club when egos, wagers and a Gopher surface on the golf course.

Harold Ramis' debut movie is a pretty plotless affair that rises above this fact to entertain royally whilst providing a stage for the likes of Murray and Dangerfield to strut their defining shtick. Suffice to say that one needs to be enamoured with said artists to fully enjoy the picture, whilst a modicum of golf interest also helps. The youthful caddies of the piece, clearly meant to be at the core of the story, struggle to make headway with such boisterousness around them, but the chaos is finely tuned by Ramis and there's something uniquely funny about watching someone like Murray trying to blow up a disco dancing Gopher!

An acquired taste but also a monster hit back in the day, Caddyshack is frayed around the edges and a little too goofy at times. But when it hits its comedy peak, visually and orally, it's not hard to get wrapped up in the chaos and find the laughs lurching out from the belly. 7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2003
I've seen this film and it's a very very funny film, Bill Murray is hilarious as the quirky, strange, flirty bloke whose main objective in the film is to trap the furry annoying gophers that live under the huge golf course. You'll have to watch the film to see if he succeeds...lol.
The Lion Bar scene in the pool will have you choking on your coffee and the overall theme of the film, although daft at times, is a right scream, so funny.
Without giving the story away, it's about golf, odd people and even odder furry critters that are planning to take over the place!
:D If you like a silly film with laughs aplenty and if you like Bill Murray (from Ghostbusters) then watch Caddyshack!
The music throughout the film is not bad either, you'll be tapping your toes before you know it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
I won't review the movie,, its a classic. Not belly laughs but subtle humour with Dangerfield romping away with the limelight and the thinking humour being left to Chase.
I still think the Bill Murray "cinderella story" scene is one of the funniest moments of that actor's career for reasons I can not really fathom. It just makes me laugh out loud every time.
The blu ray gives us back the true colours from the original print. The greens ( clearly vital ) are a bit age-faded from the master reel but still so much more life like that the DVD transfer. The extra colour depth gives a more three dimensional feel and is well worth the upgrade from DVD.... RECOMMENDED !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
I liked this film when I first saw it.... then recently I watched a documentary on the making of Caddyshack. It renewed my desire to watch it again and I just have to have the DVD. If you get chance to watch the documentary it's a must as is this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
This film is spirited and smart and is written in the tradition of National Lampoon. Harold Ramis is one of the funniest and most intelligent film makers of our time. Add to this the writing abilities of Brian Doyle-Murray and Doug Kenney and you have creative ability that has yet to be matched. Of course there is the all-star cast reminiscent of the Second City and Saturday Night Live. Chase is hilarious without trying to be, and Bill Murray is terrific playing a part that suits him well. Rodney Dangerfield and Ted Knight are very talented actors and make the film what it is. A great supporting cast including Michael O'Keefe and Cindy Morgan are also a key to success. This film has it all, a great story, hilarious yet simple humor, and a cast that is one of the best ever assembled for this type of film. "Caddyshack" is an undying film that should be and will be enjoyed by generations to come. It captures the spirit of Ramis and the other film makers that defined the early to mid '80's film-making.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Great film with Chevy Chase, only disappointment is Bill Murray is in it. One good thing i have fast forward so i can always speed over the part's where he comes in the picture.Atleast in Garfield you don't have to see him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)