Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isn't this fun? Isn't fun the best thing to have?
Arthur Bach (Dudley Moore) is an undeservedly rich man and spends most of his time dreadfully drunk. His story stems from the $750 million inheritance he is due but only if he agrees to marry the dull and dismal Susan Johnson (Jill Eikenberry). Before he can say I do the women of his dreams turns up, Linda Marolla (Liza Minelli). A chance meeting between them sends...
Published on 20 May 2009 by Piran Armes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but poor sounding dvd
I ordered this dvd with Arthur 2 and was looking forward to seeing the film after so many years. The picture quality is excellent, however, the soundtrack on the print is at a very low volume. Usually, I have the on-screen volume set at between 14 and 18 for dvds, but to get adequate sound (not loud) I had to crank-up the volume to 30 which is very disappointing. When I...
Published 9 months ago by Peter J. Chambers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isn't this fun? Isn't fun the best thing to have?, 20 May 2009
By 
Piran Armes "Piran" (Brighton, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Arthur Bach (Dudley Moore) is an undeservedly rich man and spends most of his time dreadfully drunk. His story stems from the $750 million inheritance he is due but only if he agrees to marry the dull and dismal Susan Johnson (Jill Eikenberry). Before he can say I do the women of his dreams turns up, Linda Marolla (Liza Minelli). A chance meeting between them sends Arthur's plans to be rich and drunk forever into chaos as he attempts to get what he wants, while completely inebriated.

Dudley Moore connects us to Arthur as we laugh at his antics and hope for his happiness and realisation that life isn't all fun and games. Luckily we have a character on our side, the wonderful John Gielgud plays Hobson who first appears to be as snobbish as any of Arthur's family, until we realise that he's the closest friend or person Arthur has in his life. Gielgud is certainly worthy of his academy award for this role. Liza Minelli is believable as the waitress/actress who can assume any persona in certain situations as we find out. Her father Ralph also takes some of the best lines.

Dudley Moore is all about the visual jokes and general slurs falling about as a drunk and having hilarious lines which no truly drunk person would be capable of coming up with and yet it seems to be genuine to his character. Sometimes a laugh is enough to make us laugh and that's certainly the case with Arthur's tremendously manic cackle at everything happening while he's in a stupor. The best lines are delivered soberly and brilliantly by Hobson, he

Particularly brilliant writing occurs when Arthur becomes empathetic with the head of a moose attached to Susan's father's wall and when Arthur attempts to find Linda's house while completely intoxicated only to wander into the wrong set of flats and meet Perry, far too early in the morning for his charming wife. It's lucky he was there to intervene between the two of them and help keep there harsh words from a little non-existing baby.

I also can't not mention the title tune Arthur's Theme aka "Best That You Can Do" a beautifully written song that takes us straight into Arthur's life and back story, it's one of the greatest and most memorable themes to any film. Performed luminously by Christopher cross, who uses his unique higher pitch voice to tell a tale of a man in need of love, has made this his signature tune, definitely not something to be ashamed of.

Making you laugh till you cry Arthur is something special with an original story that will bring you complete satisfaction as Hobson helps change Arthur into a man with a clear vision of his future. Prepare also for tears though, Arthur loses something he never realises was so important to him but it wasn't too late. A journey you'll never forget and want to see again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen at last, 10 Jan 2010
By 
J. Robinson "Widgett" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
It's fantastic to see this again in widescreen, something that I'm fairly certain I haven't done since seeing it in cinemas when it first came out. That's because I live in the States, where the Region 1 DVD is even worse than the Region 2 DVD. They're both bare bones with no features whatsoever, but at least the R2 is NOT pan and scan. Shame on Warner Brothers for not reissuing this in the States. But, to heck with it, I have a Region Free player and ordered it from here. And it looks fantastic. This further proves that region coding is a joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free-Spirited Arthur, 14 Sep 2012
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
"Arthur" is a strong movie showcasing the compelling acting skills of the late Dudley Moore. Dudley Moore plays a carefree and wealthy bachelor who must choose between going the traditional route for money or choosing the uncertainty of going by passion. "Arthur is best for those who like romantic comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arthur, 11 Aug 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I read somewhere that when Sir John Gielgut died, one tabloid newspaper reported the headline "Dudley Moore's Butler dies at 96"
Obviously this film was just a minor diversion in the great man's career, but it does say something about the impact this film made on the film watching public that such a sentence would be reported.
"Arthur" is the story of rich, carefree but alcoholic playboy Arthur Bach. With nothing to do all day but cruise around in his chauffeur driven Rolls, shop and drink, he struggles to find a purpose to his life, and more importantly to find a partner in his life to share it with. At the moment he is mothered by his very English butler, Hobson (Gielgut), who tries to keep the romantic Arthur in line with a never ending series of waspish putdowns and acid comments. In order to keep his family fortune though, Arthur's family are most keen he is safely married off to beautiful socialite Susan Johnson (Jill Eikenberry). Unfortunately though, Arthur doesn't love Susan, he loves the streetwise shoplifter he met in downtown New York, Linda Marolla (Liza Minnelli).
Minnelli and Moore play superbly off each other and the glances and expressions they throw to each other (and the camera) are a joy to watch. Gielgut is superb, with the cutting edge of a Stanley knife he steals every scene he appears in. Also well worth watching is Barney Martin as Linda's father, who has a delightfully crumply face as he breaks when he hears the millionaire Arthur won't be marrying his daughter.
At nearly 15 years old this film has remained as fresh and as funny as ever. It's wonderfully innocent, crisp and funny and is extremely highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Just love this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie with a great cast, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Funny little gem of a movie with laugh out loud moments through out the script as the film unfolds. worth the purchase and a good one to lift your spirits when you are feeling down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
One to watch,Saturday evening when there is nothing else worth watching few beers good Chinese,the sort of film that makes you feel good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Classic, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Can't beat the original!! A real favourite of my husband and bought as a surprise stocking filler at Christmas. Happy man!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Michael Hudson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
At the beginning of the film I thought I was going to be very annoyed by the character of Arthur, as he is rather silly. However, as the film went on I started to warm to him and realised how funny he actually is. Really great film- definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but poor sounding dvd, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I ordered this dvd with Arthur 2 and was looking forward to seeing the film after so many years. The picture quality is excellent, however, the soundtrack on the print is at a very low volume. Usually, I have the on-screen volume set at between 14 and 18 for dvds, but to get adequate sound (not loud) I had to crank-up the volume to 30 which is very disappointing. When I ordered the dvd the cover was the same as advertised with this review, but I received the edition with a red cover and the disc is only in mono - so maybe Amazon have sent me a poorer copy than the one that I ordered.

Anyone thinking of buying this, please make sure it is not the copy with a red cover - you will be disappointed with the sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arthur [DVD] [1981]
Arthur [DVD] [1981] by Steve Gordon (DVD - 1999)
£2.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews