Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70s kitsch and a beautiful performance
It's all too easy to look at the bottom line when thinking about Blake Edwards' '10' and to over-simplify it. Yes it is a film about mid-life crisis. Yes it does feature Dudley Moore and yes it did catapault Bo Derek to international stardom. However, what this over-simplification misses is the sheer delight this film gives if you give in to the 70s kitsch which oozes out...
Published on 14 Sep 2002 by Dave Mclean

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Middling
Published 15 hours ago by IAN DORAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70s kitsch and a beautiful performance, 14 Sep 2002
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
It's all too easy to look at the bottom line when thinking about Blake Edwards' '10' and to over-simplify it. Yes it is a film about mid-life crisis. Yes it does feature Dudley Moore and yes it did catapault Bo Derek to international stardom. However, what this over-simplification misses is the sheer delight this film gives if you give in to the 70s kitsch which oozes out of every frame.
From 8-track tapes to 70s swingers music, this film has a rich flavour.
Perhaps more importantly, '10' is a film about performances. Dudley Moore sat at a piano in a mexican hotel bar playing "It's Easy to Say" is mesmerizing. The fact that this was filmed live in one-take and that the tune was written by Henri Mancini should be enough to explain the quality of this film. Put Blake Edwards, Dudley Moore, a Henry Mancini tune and a piano together and you can't help but create magic.
Blake Edwards' gift is to create movies where the audience forget they are watching a movie. He relies on performance rather than cinematic trickery and the result, in the case of '10', is perhaps one of the most beautifully relaxed and easy films to watch ever created.
A pure classic to watch again and again.
See, I didn't even talk about the stunning Bo Derek...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water..., 24 April 2012
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
(THE FILM)
Director Blake Edwards delivers a story that dares to touch upon these risqué devices. "10" in it's own way has become a mere reference mid-life crisis film.

At his 42nd surprise birthday party, George Webber (Dudley Moore) is given a reflective look back at a life that is no longer of stable and secure ground. We come to learn through his own expressions that here is a man that has a tremendous talent for song writing, who has established himself in the art community and has proven to be very successful. A man whom has the world in his pocket! Or does he? Instead, he is in the World's pocket. Tucked blindly away living a sheltered life from the abnormalities of life as known to only him. Or what he has always perceived as abnormal.

It is this very mid-life "awakening" that takes root and begins to grow like a tumor and helps elevate the fear in George's mind that his entire life has been nothing but some schemed joke. That something has rudely illuminated the trick that has suckered him into living too conservative a life.

Besides age playing the only factor for George's fears, is also his voyeuristic sightings of a playboy neighbour (Don Calfa) who displays none of the like qualities that this well disposed and mild-mannered man possesses, with his league of naked women running about and his wild drug induced parties where promiscuity is standard fare.

While much of this could have been safely viewed from afar it is the rather consequential that George falls in love one afternoon with a beautiful Bride in search of her wedding (played by newcomer and future sex goddess Bo Derek) while at a stop sign. One stare is all it takes to roll out the carpet of stumbling adventures for our dear Mr. Webber.

Each situation further escalates the troubles in which George is to encounter. However, none of these shortcomings derails him. Such as when he follows the bride to the church and he is watching her walk inside and is suddenly jerked out of his day-dreamt thoughts by the sound of breaking glass and screeching metal as he collides head on with a police cruiser. A Hollywood Hills police cruiser!

Further complicating things for George, is girlfriend Samantha (Julie Andrews) who is not as high strung as George but resembles his character in many ways, and often compliments it even, but for George and in his life now, a mirror image of himself in the form of the opposite sex is not what he needs nor desires. Thus, an argument soon ensues and soon George is tracking down this unforgettable goddess to who has since their somewhat accidental introduction, been glued to his every thought.

Finally, after going through an excruciating dental appointment done by the infatuates father, he emerges forth with the brides honeymoon destination: the steaming hot beaches of Mexico! So as fast as you can say "Delta" he is on the first flight out of Santa Monica.

More funny capers emerge (even an attempted side railed love affair with another woman whom he had met at a previous dinner party prevails unsuccessful) none of which dissuade George's attention to the awe-inspiring beauty which is Jenny.

As with any descent ending, our troubled friend George does find what he has been looking for. Sort of. Is it Jenny? Or does he learn that the woman he has all ready is the pot of gold at the end of his rainbow? And certainly I don't mean nor want to spoil the entire film, but the moral of the story is quite simple and clear: the grass always seems greener on the other side. A phrase that many of us have heard one too many times yet still find ourselves climbing over that fence to see if what is being forewarned is really as dangerous as it sounds.

WHAT CAN I SAY?
There is an old saying, "Be careful of what you ask for, you might get it". But men will be men, and when Dudley Moore sees the beautiful Bo Derek HIS characteristics-part falls, drunkenness, sexual fantasies about younger women Bo Derek he is so compelled to follow her to Mexico. I suspect most of us men have had the same impulse, though I doubt very many of us have taken it to the extreme that Dudley Moore does here.

I immensely enjoyed this movie. It is filled with situations that blend together perfectly and create some of the UN-canniest situations ever to be witnessed. It is this sort of mastery writing done by Edwards that has perhaps inspired many a comedies

"10" remains just that when it comes to it's quality factors. Everything has been done beautifully, from the writing, to the casting, to the music, to even the choice of inebriating spirits.
Dudley Moore is a natural comedic genius!and in THIS FILM is most definitely a perfect "10"!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic sex comedy, 30 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. Paul S. Ruderham "bemylove" (Jersey CI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Dudley moore is his usual funny self in this comedy about a songwriter / musician who is facing a mid life crisis.
Memorable moments include the telescope on his patio when it hits him and he falls down the bank. Seeing him try to get up again is a real belly laugh. Also Bo Derek in her classic scene running along the beach in slo mo. Dudley burning his feet on the sand is brilliant.
A haunting tune played by dudley in the bar "It's easy to say" is a superb piece of music brilliantly played by Moore.
I searched high and low for this piece of music and eventually found it in a Henry Mancini song book.
It's a fantastic piece to play on the piano.
All in all if you want to put your feet up on a wet sunday afternoon and have a laugh, get this and watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Middling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite amusing..., 22 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Laurence Wesson (Sanderstead, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
But Dudley Moore not as good as in Foul Play, which is my favourite Dudley film.
I'd seen bits of this in the past, but never the whole film and after seeing a couple of his films recently, thought I'd take the opportunity to see it all the way through. Worth watching but not nearly as funny as I'd remembered it was. Still, quite a sweet film and an easy watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film - blu ray quality, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Baz (Beds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of this film I am not going to write anything bad. This blu ray copy brings a timeless quality to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Great DVD. Good value for money. I bought this for myself for Christmas! Haven't watched it yet, but I remember this film when it was first released and it was hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 with Dudley Moore, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL. As a huge, if not the greatest, fan of cuddly Dudley Moore, i was absolutely thrilled to receive this fabulous funny and touching film. I love it and yet again the speedy delivery and efficiency of Amazon has astounded me. Well done, and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The iconic film "10", 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I saw this film when it was first released, and I wanted to refresh my memory. I've bought copies for a friend's daughter, and some friend's who live in Spain. Dudley more made some funny movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10 [DVD] [1979]
10 [DVD] [1979] by Blake Edwards (DVD - 1999)
4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews