Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam L. Jackson at his best
No matter what film you see him in, Samuel L. Jackson proves his value to the film by becoming such a believable character. This film is the same as he dominates with co-negotiator Kevin Spacey, another actor of the highest quality who adds to any film he graces. I can't remember when I was last so impressed with a COMPLETE film including support characters, screenplay,...
Published on 19 Sep 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
I think my brother in law liked it, I believe its a good film, I will have to look at it myself
Published 9 months ago by Janie2367


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam L. Jackson at his best, 19 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
No matter what film you see him in, Samuel L. Jackson proves his value to the film by becoming such a believable character. This film is the same as he dominates with co-negotiator Kevin Spacey, another actor of the highest quality who adds to any film he graces. I can't remember when I was last so impressed with a COMPLETE film including support characters, screenplay, storyline and general ability to hold the viewer through a series of twists and developments which are well worked and believable to the end. Like most high quality films, rather than good light entertainment like Ocean's Eleven and Twelve, The Negotiator is best watched uninterrupted as the flow is as important to the enjoyment as the other elements which make this so watchable. So set up the drinks and popcorn and settle down to a real acting treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never say "No!" to a hostage taker, 26 Sep 2001
By 
This is a great film! The two lead actors both do some real tour-de-force acting which gets very intense at times. Also, forget what anyone else says about the plot being a little thin. It's an action film as well as a thriller, what do you expect? The conclusion is obvious, but how it is reached is a non-stop thrill ride that will keep you glued to your screen to the bitter end! The plot specifics are a little complex in places and you have to keep your wits about you but it's thoroughly rewarding. a great vehicle for the acting talents of Jackson and Spacey and a film that's well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you've been led to believe, 3 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
If you read a review of this film saying that it's all talk until the finale, don't believe a word. There's enough action here for any die hard Die Hard fan. But if you want a masterclass in modern Hollywood acting, that's here too - neither Jackson nor Spacy (surely, along with Morgan Freeman, the greatest film actors currently working) disappoint. The Negotiator is a good, tense, exciting, character-driven action film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't negotiate - watch this its a must see!, 16 April 2002
This review is from: The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film before my Kevin Spacey infatuation so I wasn't biased then - honest! Anyway I have always been a Samuel L Jackson fan and although this was not the video of my choice when I rented it initially it is now one of my firm favourites and a proud part of my DVD collection.
Basically what happens here is that the negotiator becomes the hostage taker in this intelligent plot, where you never really know until the final few minutes just who are the bad guys. Roman decides to call in the help of a man he met once but knows is as good a negotiator as he, Sabian - a man who knows the rules but doesnt know him or his coleagues from the squad. A man with no agendas and no 'favourites', a man who can help him find the truth about his friend Nate - his partner and the death that he is being framed for.
Even if you dont like these actors this is a film that is well worth seeing, the action and the dialogue shine, and the end will leave you breathless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Green light!.....Take the Subject....", 4 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
For those who has watched the moive this line will be in one of the intense scenes in this thriller!!. Great moives not necessarily win awards, even though this hasnt the complicated 'setting up of a cop', it will keep you on your toes till the end.Super Acting by Samuel L Jackson and Kevin Spacy!,well done. Many say the best part comes right at the end but i deny it!. Its a good moive right from the start with snippets of action where needed.Also great acting from 'Bec' sorry i cant remember the name of him. Samuel belives himself and goes to the very end to find out who took his partner out and whos behind the ....,ok i wont spill it all out for those who haven't watched it. Great Moive. Must See.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Jan 2004
By A Customer
wow - what can I say? This film is absolutely brilliant. The acting is superb, Kevin Spacey and Samuel L Jackson perfect, the timing of the action excellent. It is over 2 hours long yet it is so enthralling you hardly notice - Jackson works for the police as a negotiator, in hostage situations who is apparently guilty of murdering his partner. His only chance to prove his innocence is to hold people hostage, and insist on another negotiator who is not linked to his precinct where he believes there is 'bad cops' - enter Kevin Spacey - wow - what more could you ask for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu Ray!, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. S. Kemp (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a big fan of this film. As soon as i found out it was on blu ray i knew it was a must buy. Wasn't disappointed! Quality was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping & Good, 1 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhat of a slow start to this film....however...

If you want to be on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen next this film delivers from start to finish. As soon as it all kicks off, and you will know what I mean when you see it, you don't get a moments peace until the very end. Twists and turns, with brilliant acting from the pairing of Kevin Spacey and Samuel L. Jackson, you will enjoy a thrilling ride.

For an action packed 2 hours, watch this movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent action thriller, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Corruption abounds as smart negotiator Samuel L Jackson falls foul of some dirty cops. Not knowing who to trust he turns the tables on his colleagues and makes a stand, taking hostages at his station. He demands to speak with a negotiator from another precinct (Kevin Spacey) who turns out to be just as tough and uncompromising as he is and the two have some fiery exchanges. With a finger on every trigger and the standoff becoming increasingly tense the new negotiator realises that something stinks at the precinct. This great thriller has slick production values, a decent budget and a smarter than average script. To watch these two unravel the plot and then outwit the badguys is pure escapism. Although I've seen this a handful of times, I still turn to it when there's nowt on the telly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this film, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Kevin Spacey is great, as is the great Samuel L Jackson. Lots of action and thrills, can definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Negotiator [1998] [DVD]
The Negotiator [1998] [DVD] by F. Gary Gray (DVD - 1999)
3.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews