Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, bloody but humorous piece
This is definatly not for everyone. At my first viewing I initially thought that it wasn't that good but as the film progressed and I 'adapted' to it's style, by the end I loved it! It's a very eccentric and warped commentry on modern America from the perspective of three very unconventional characters who become embroiled in the road trip from hell. The film does not...
Published on 16 Feb 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Doom
The way they describe the action in it didn't quite live up to it,I was disappointed with the plot and action.
Published 7 months ago by Backclock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, bloody but humorous piece, 16 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Doom Generation [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This is definatly not for everyone. At my first viewing I initially thought that it wasn't that good but as the film progressed and I 'adapted' to it's style, by the end I loved it! It's a very eccentric and warped commentry on modern America from the perspective of three very unconventional characters who become embroiled in the road trip from hell. The film does not take itself too seriously and has a balance of violence and humour which does tip towards the former more at the end. On a final note, the music is brilliantly selected and fits the atmosphere and style perfectly. However you feel, this is not a film that's quickly forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, sexy, chaotic and brutal, 2 Jun 2002
By 
This review is from: The Doom Generation [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Doom genertaion by Greg Araki is One of many extreme depictions and metaphors which not only disturb the viewer, but shock even the most de-sensitised of cult movie fans. It efortlessly portays American society as a monster of extreme proportions that will chew up and spit out anything that it sees as unholy in its society, It takes a violent rampage through the rotten underbelly of of the so called land of oppertunity.The protagonists in this film are Amy and jordon,a deliberatley and satirically archetypal drop out couple that seem innocent in contrast to the bigotry and hatred that thrusts itself upon them from the word go. Much has been made of this films alleged taciness and unrealistic feel, however this is all part of greg araki`s style as he attempts to depict how extreme and absurd American society has become.
This film not only drips sarcasm and engages in the type of dialouge and youth culture that can`t be found in any book, but creates a previously unattainable link between sex,religion and violence which later in the movie becomes perversely apparent as the film progresses.
And if the first 70 minutes of this film isn`t enough of a diconnected head-trip,then the last section will absolutley make you wish you`d stuck with the disney movie.
This film not only crosses the line of sexual and moral taboos which most mainstream fimls cower away from, but also tears up the rule book and throws it in our faces. The dark vitriol will take you over and a wave of realization will wash away inhibitions you may have. If you want a film that burns down little house on the prarie and massacres the waltons, then this movie will fit your evil tastes like a glove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick, sordid..... but sexy!, 17 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Doom Generation [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This is one of those films you watch that sort of dilates the pupils of your eyes as you watch things that you don't see everyday!! Considering the budget that this film was made on, it does pretty damn well at getting across the imagery that represents the different characters and the themes of the film, especially with the references to religion, specifically Christianity. If you're wanting to watch this to get a kick, then don't bother.... it's not 'quite' like that. You've got to have the stomach to watch it if you're usually only used to seeing heterosexual kissing and fornication in mainstream movies. This is deeper.... and dirtier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doom, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The way they describe the action in it didn't quite live up to it,I was disappointed with the plot and action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece of teen rebellion, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doom Generation [DVD] (DVD)
Few films share Araki's utter dismissal of postmodern life. This installment of his "teen apocalypse" films might be his most successful--its grimness is lightened by over-the-top humor. Its sense of hope in its bisexual triad is destroyed by the terrible ideology of the present--meaning now as much as the film's production era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great Movie but don't buy this DVD!, 30 Oct 2008
By 
R. Fleury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite film ever, it's provocative, hilarious, with great dialogues and amazing production design, however the quality of this DVD (from Australia) is very poor, it looks like it's been filmed on a cinema screen on a Hi8 camcorder, even my old VHS version is better than that. And it says extended 85 minutes version but it's exactly the same length than the French or the English version when it was released in 1995. A very rubbish product, buy the english version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite uncut, 8 Dec 2008
The copy I bought was described as uncut but having watched it is still missing at list one shot. The version I was sent was actually a Dutch copy with a different cover. It's a good quality DVD (unlike the "extended" version) and is still longer than other versions I've seen. The truly uncut version seems nigh-on impossible to get hold of and this one is well worth the investment - there's nothing I've seen in the same ilk which is as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see, 28 April 2006
By 
Ms. Michelle Louise Soye (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When i first saw this film it blew me away and their has been nothing like it since, dont right this off as a silly teen movie because it so much more.This was when rose macgowan really sprung up and is so perfect for the part of a bitch with wit.Let them take you on their adventure! A MUST SEE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful teen-ish romp, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doom Generation [DVD] (DVD)
'Carry on' generational issues with guns.
Can't quite remember why I bought it..
I can't really remember what happens, either.
Oh well, back to script writing and director school for those to blame for this mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild comedy., 1 Aug 2013
By 
Peter T. Dalziel (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not an easy film to watch by any account but well woth it if you like your movies trashy and loud.
Set in the seamy night time streets and motels of L.A. our three heroes encounter increasingly stranger and more extreme characters in situations best described as, shall we say, tense?
Mistaken identity, armed robbery, weird sex and a run in with white supremists are all par for the course in this rather wild road movie.
Where will it end?
This flick would make a great double bill with Repo Man starring Emillio Estevez.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doom Generation [VHS] [1998]
The Doom Generation [VHS] [1998] by Gregg Araki (VHS Tape - 1999)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews