Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lies, Cons And The Case
Ronin is, in my opinion, is John Frankenheimer's best film - even picked up a few awards along the way. Robert De Nero's take on Sam is excellent, and even Sean Bean does well in this, as the crazy gun toting Spence. The star of the movie has to be Natascha McElhone as Deirdre; desperate to get that case no matter what. Was really pleased to see Jean Reno in this, his...
Published on 13 Mar 2008 by DL Productions UK

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film but poor blu-ray
Ronin is one of my all time favourite films. I decided to replace my dvd copy with the blu-ray. Big mistake. I can't see any improvement in picture quality over the dvd. And the special features are inferior, lacking the 'making of' documentary.

If you don't have it, buy it by all means, it is a great film. But if you are thinking of upgrading from dvd I...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by Majick


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lies, Cons And The Case, 13 Mar 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ronin is, in my opinion, is John Frankenheimer's best film - even picked up a few awards along the way. Robert De Nero's take on Sam is excellent, and even Sean Bean does well in this, as the crazy gun toting Spence. The star of the movie has to be Natascha McElhone as Deirdre; desperate to get that case no matter what. Was really pleased to see Jean Reno in this, his French flair being a centrepiece.

If you don't know what Ronin is about then prepare for a whirlwind plot, dodgy plans and wasted opportunities (by the gang, not direction), oh and probably the best car chases I've seen in the 90s. The best one being in Paris, closely followed by the one in Nice.

The film has a lot of twists and turns, and is a pleasure to watch, with De Nero, Reno and Bean this is an all star cast, with a great landscape and storyline.

The blu-ray is a total let down, only the film and the trailer is included. This is a joke as the Definitive Edition has an alternative ending, so why can't this BD? After all, it's only a 2hr film, and it's in MPEG-2 running at a steady 20Mbps - AVC would have been so much better. The uncompressed PCM is a blessing though, and it's commendable of Fox to use it. I would have liked MORE extras though, they should have included them no matter what definition they were in. The alternative ending is as good as the original, some have even argued better, so why oh why did they omit it?

Not a very good BD, if you have a passion for this film, then get it, it's all you could ask for movie wise. Otherwise if you want extras, and are not fussed about HD then do get the Definitive Edition, which is nearly a tenner cheaper and richer in content. The difference between the two transfer wise is noticeable, but only to the avid eye, and the sound is obviously better on blu-ray.

4/5 for the film, 2/5 for the blu-ray extras, 4/5 for HD transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film but poor blu-ray, 20 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ronin is one of my all time favourite films. I decided to replace my dvd copy with the blu-ray. Big mistake. I can't see any improvement in picture quality over the dvd. And the special features are inferior, lacking the 'making of' documentary.

If you don't have it, buy it by all means, it is a great film. But if you are thinking of upgrading from dvd I would save your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Post Cold War Samurai Soldiers, 6 Jan 2003
By 
taking a rest - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ronin [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
"Ronin", is for everyone who enjoys Robert DeNiro, a great spy tale, a host of great supporting actors, and some of the more amazing car chases filmed on Europe's very narrow, pre-automotive designed streets. The word Ronin describes a Samurai who has lost his master, and in this film, the word serves as a metaphor for cold warriors that no longer have the same Cold War to fight. The threats are not gone only changed, so the great games that have played host to a variety of films and movies are still available to talented writers and directors who can adapt.
A great deal of the action takes place at high speed on either very narrow urban roads, or wildly twisting mountain stretches that lack the same manner of safety barriers we are accustomed to in The USA, that make the chase scenes all the more amazing. The director and other key players who made the film have racing backgrounds which allowed them to bring a type of realism that goes beyond the typical Hollywood chase.
Jean Reno, Natascha Mcelhone, Stellan Skarsgard, Sean Bean, and Jonathan Pryce all make for a wonderful ensemble cast. The chase is for a case, and the cast that is assembled are allegedly a team in the hunt for a box that no one knows the contents of. The traditional players like the Russians are involved, the CIA, and then the new Russians along with the Irish, and members of agencies that either are active or are not, you never know until the film ends. And even when it does, the DVD offers an alternate ending that changes in a very dramatic manner how the film you just watched concluded.
"Ronin", is a very good film, a definite cut above the average, and well worth the one minute and two hours of your time it will occupy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, taught post cold-war thriller. A superb treat!, 4 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ronin [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
An action espionage thriller directed by none other than the masterful John Frankenheimer, an all-star stellar cast what more can you ask for? All i can say is that the acting is great (especially from a beautiful Natascha McElhone), the tension and suspense magnificently controlled, the action sequences (particularly the car chases) breath-taking and the music, cinematography and script exceptional. If you want a good film to see on a friday/saturday night, this is the one. A well-crafted severely underated film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb car chases, Intelligent story; Well worth a look, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ronin [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is an exciting look at European espionage, with many an excuse for great car chases. The precision of Frankenheimer's set is intoxicating, and I love the Robert De Niro, Jean Reno combination.
The DVD itself is adequate enough - MGM DVDs tend to easily overshadow that of Warner Bros. and the deleted scenes, director's commentary and behind the scenes look at the making of the movie prove a useful insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, pointless extras, 18 Nov 2004
By A Customer
There's no denying it, this is a fantastic film. It's the closest that Holywood's got to making a Luc Besson style film. The acting's great, the pace never gives up, and the car chase scenes are fantastic.
However, to discontinue the original 1-disc version of the DVD in favour of this 2-disc "Special" edition has been a terrible idea.
The special features simply aren't worthy of having their own disc, this has simply been a way for the studios to re-release a 6 year old film at a premium price.
If you can still find the original 1-disc version, save yourself some money, and go for that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 28 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronin [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I bought this DVD just because I wanted the film in the right ratio compared to when it's shown on television. Its average price is a fiver now but it's well worth it to have a 70s throwback of an action film with great car chases and other action and where the motivations of these lead characters aren't laboured over 45 extra minutes than the film requires.

It was great in the cinema and I'm glad I finally own it, though like another reviewer said, where did those ten years go?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cars guns and a briefcase...what more could you want?, 24 Feb 2005
anyone out there looking for a pure "action" film in every sense of the word will be more than mpressed with Ronin - the latest addition to my DVD collection.
Ronin is the story of 5 freelance killers, who are mysteriously employed to obtain a briefcase before it is sold to "The Russians"
fast paced, and well executed from the start, this film did a lot for me and would be the perfect accompanyment to any night when there is bugger-all on the telly.
DeNiro delivers a typically slick performance to go along with another from Jean Reno, which confirms what already knew - he is one of the best actors in the world.
i must say i was dissapointed with Sean Bean's character, not because of hs acting (which was brilliant) but with his character. Being English i took a little bit of offense at the insinuation that an ex-SAS soldier could be so inept, but maybe that was just me. i am afterall used to seeing Bean in roles such as Sharp from the TV series of the same name, so it seems wrong for him to be such a snivveling coward. if you have never seen Bean in any other role (have you been living in a cardboard box behind marks and spencer?) then you would never know his "action man" past; he performs so well in hs role in Ronin. it just goes to show that he is a talented and adaptive actor.
the highlight of the film is it's beautiful carchase in and around Paris.
all in all Ronin s a solid action thriller. it loses something in the plot and a few details seem to be skipped over quickly but this makes the film fast paced and action packed.
the 2 hours will pass all too quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's in the case?, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. M. Kirby "Dick Kirby" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronin [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
John Frankenheimer has been responsible for some great films; and this is one of them. The plot, set in France, concerns Deirdre (Natascha McElhone) who recruits and orchestrates a group of mercenaries in order to obtain a mysterious suitcase. The group includes Sam (Robert De Niro), Vincent (Jean Reno), and the rather sinister Gregor (Stellen Skarsgård). The cowardly Spence (Sean Bean) who unwisely purports to have been a member of the SAS is unmasked by De Niro, who really should have been advised that the headquarters of the SAS is pronounced Hereford and not, as he put it, `Heerford'.

But that's a small glitch; the action is non-stop and the impressive car-chase sequences are expertly coordinated by Jean-Claude Lagniez.

Be warned: the film's ending leaves lots of questions. Make up your own mind about the answers, sit back and enjoy a couple of hours of action-packed entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The more you put into this film, the more you get out of it, 22 Dec 2010
By 
A. P. Monblat (Sutton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My initial reaction was that there were simply too many twists in the plot for this film's own good. It was hard keep up, and in the end you just gave up trying. However, a second viewing with the director's commentary switched on revealed an actually very intelligent and well-acted film. While this extra input should not really have been necessary, it was worth it for this film. If you pay very close attention and/or are have seen lots of examples of the spy/crime genre and are therefore used to the perhaps inevitably twisted storylines, you may even get it in one! However, even if you do, Frankenheimer's wonderfully intelligent explanation of his work is very highly recommended, and a major treat in itself. (Where would we have been in the days before the DVD special features section?!) So, while a little unbelievable at times, the film itself is generally quite a treat too, with some genuinely great performances (especially De Niro's), highly filmic Parisian and Riviera locations and neat camerawork - not least in relation to the truly outstanding car-chase sequences. The latter really are absolutely breathtaking, and the result of huge effort and dedication by all those involved in their production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ronin [DVD] [1998]
Ronin [DVD] [1998] by John Frankenheimer (DVD - 2005)
£3.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews