Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Comedy Drama
Still Crazy- Perfect Comedy Drama
Still Crazy follows the fortunes of a 70s rock group that reforms in 1999 to ‘surf the nostalgia wave’ and attempt to bury their acrimonious past and fulfil their previously unrealised potential.
The band are called Strange Fruit and consist of a clichéd bunch of has-beens that are all scarred by their...
Published on 10 Jan 2003 by Richard White

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good fun
saw it years ago so happy to now own a copy. Funny and a good film to watch when you want cheering up.
Published 16 months ago by Jan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Comedy Drama, 10 Jan 2003
By 
Richard White "withnail101" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Crazy [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Still Crazy- Perfect Comedy Drama
Still Crazy follows the fortunes of a 70s rock group that reforms in 1999 to ‘surf the nostalgia wave’ and attempt to bury their acrimonious past and fulfil their previously unrealised potential.
The band are called Strange Fruit and consist of a clichéd bunch of has-beens that are all scarred by their painful, drug addled break up in the late 70’s.
This could have been a bad film or just an average film with its standard formula but it turns out to be a great film and one that I think may achieve cult status as its popularity grows in the slowburning way that ‘Withnail and I’ and ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ did.
The Script is by veterans Dick Clement and Ian La Frenais and, as you would expect from the writers of ‘The Likely Lads’ is faultless. It has great dialogue and great gags and a real warmth and depth.
The cast is also faultless and the acting superb.
Stephen Rea is Tony the keyboard player who, having fallen on hard times sets out to reform the group. He enlists the help of Karen (Juliet Aubrey) who was the young, love struck groupie that looked after the bands damaged talent during their short heyday and decides against her better judgement to go for glory once more.
Together they set out to see the other former members, Les Wicks (Jimmy Nail) the Bass player, Beano (Timothy Spall) the drummer and Ray Simms (Bill Nighy) the lead singer and Hughie the roadie (Billy Connolly) to persuade them to reform the group.
Soon the guys hit the road for stardom and as you would expect the old wounds soon open and the atmosphere of anticipation is replaced by one of resentment and bitterness. From here we follow Strange Fruit to their D Day through arguments, reconciliations and laughs.
There is so much to enjoy in this film but the outstanding performance is from Bill Nighy as Ray Simms. Nighy (a highly respected stage actor) is a revelation as Ray and steals the show. He is a vain, ageing, not terribly bright rock has-been who, underneath is ultimately vulnerable and insecure. In the hands of a lesser actor he could be cold and unlikable but in Nighy’s hands we feel for Rays plight and will him to succeed.
Add all of this to a fabulous sound track with some truly great tracks (The best of which are ‘The Flame Still Burns and ‘What Might have Been’) and you have a warm, funny and and toucing film that deals with lost opportunities and hope for the future in a gentle and surprisingly subtle way.
Watch this film and follow the guys on their march back to glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 16 Sep 2004
By 
G. P. Tanner (Nr Bridgwater, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Crazy [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film brilliantly captures the spirit of the (British) mid 1970s. It charts the return of the Prodrock band "Strange Fruit" with a subplot involving the unknown fate of the missing Peter Greenesque former leader. Superbly acted, scripted and produced, extraordinarily it includes some brilliant in-period new music. Nostalgic, poignant, hilarious. Hitch a ride back to the 70s. Don't miss this astonishing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 8 May 2004
By 
Dave Clarke (Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Crazy [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is one of my all time favourite films. I've bought it and watched many times and never tire of it. The music is amazing! Two tracks (All Over The World and The Flame Still Burns) are worth the price of the DVD in their own right. Incredibly funny, yet on occasions extremely moving.
Whatever you do buy or rent this film. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Au Revoir, Love, 21 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Still Crazy [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Fans of 'Auf Wiedersehen, Pet' will love this film. Not only does it star Jimmy Nail and Timothy Spall (and Bill Nighy who featured in the most recent series) it was also written by Ian la Frenais and Dick Clement.
The narrative follows 70's rock band 'Strange Fruit' making a comeback after disbanding 20 years previously, on, as you could describe, not the most cordial of terms. The keyboard player, (portrayed by Stephen Rea) comes up with the idea after bumping into the son of the promoter of an old rock festival (during which the band originally parted company) wishing them to perform at such a rock festival once more. After many a trial and tribulation, they eventually manage to make a successful return.
This film makes for very entertaining viewing. It is both humourous, heart warming and accompained by an excellent soundtrack, many songs of which were performed by the actors themselves.
I recommend this film to anyone with a love of British films, British humour and "all that 70's excess".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring tale of reminiscence, revival...and Rock, 6 July 2006
This review is from: Still Crazy [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Few comedy films do better than make me cringe at the cliches, but this is one that performs.

It's extremely British in film making style and has an exceptionally strong cast, using Jimmy Nail, Bill Nighy and Timothy Spall to their best. There's plenty of Rock n' Roll cliches about the revival of this 70s glam-rock band, but it's not limited to them; there's sadness, loss and some real sparks about the friendships.

But in the end it is a great comedy, and the characters, storyline and events make it damn good. It does stand up to watching again, and I'm reminded of it when I see 'real' bands go through their revivals.

I was suprised that it wasn't higher profile at the cinema and as it made the step on to DVD/VHS, because this level of quality in the comedy section is woefully scarce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm an American, and I LOVED it!, 16 Jun 2003
This review is from: Still Crazy [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This film doesn't cheat. It shows a group of tired, older men who have never quite forgotten their glory days as a glam rock group. You see them as they were when they were younger (played by different actors in the flashbacks, of course), and the breakup of the group. One amazing scene shows Ray (Bill Nighy), standing to make a speech at his daughter's wedding. As this hesitant, stammering man tries to make an effective speech, cuts of him when he was younger and beautiful, on stage with the wind blowing in his hair, are interspersed. It really makes you feel the passage of time in this man's life.
Bill Nighy (Ray) and Jimmy Nail (Lez) perform their own vocals, incredibly. That's just one of the surprises in the film. The acting is impeccable, including Diana Rigg's daughter in her film debut as Clare. Bruce Robinson, better known these days as a writer/director, gives what may be the film's best performance - and if you want to know which character he plays, you'll have to see the movie! I watched it over and over before I had to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 9 Aug 2001
This review is from: Still Crazy [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
what a awesome film. this film has everything you want in a film including romance, good music, and fantasticly funny. please please buy this film. when some of the songs in this film kick in you steadily feel the goosebumps grow and the hair standing on end. this is fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a riot!, 4 Jan 2001
By 
L. Wilkinson (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Crazy [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Lots of laughs as a ageing 70's rock band attemot to get back into the business. Essential for fans of Billy Connolly, Auf Wiedersehen Pet or bad taste rock groups!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 11 Feb 2004
This review is from: Still Crazy [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
i must say this film when i first saw it was not to my taste at all but oh way back then i was an inexperienced scamp. but now oh yes this film does apeal to me, i think it was mainly the adult humor that threw me off the first time, but hey this film is great i was in fits of laughter the whole way through. this film deserves full respect as an amazing film. for starters it features timothy spall and jimmy nail if that doesnt reek class i dont know what does great film top notch BUY IT *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Crazy [DVD] (DVD)
I just love this film. It is very funny, the music is fab especially The Flame Still Burns. Jimmy Nail's voice is spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

Still Crazy [VHS] [1998]
Still Crazy [VHS] [1998] by Brian Gibson (VHS Tape - 2002)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews