Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'sequel' is such a strong word..
Okay first things first; if you're looking for a repeat of The Lion King, you won't find it here. The Lion King 2 is a sequel in the best sense of the word. It takes the story and characters of the first film and builds on them without being too afraid to step in another direction.
The constant references to Scar and the, um, 'scars', he has left may indeed turn some...
Published on 4 Oct. 2004 by silent_siren

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay...but Scar's too often talked about...
Like me, I’m sure many people were very excited for the long-awaited sequel to Disney’s Classic, ‘The Lion King.’ The circle of life continues…
Simba is now the new Lion King and is a proud father to Kiara, his daughter. Like Simba once was at her age, Kiara is a very mischievous and adventurous cub who just can’t help getting...
Published on 7 Nov. 2003 by M.F


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'sequel' is such a strong word.., 4 Oct. 2004
Okay first things first; if you're looking for a repeat of The Lion King, you won't find it here. The Lion King 2 is a sequel in the best sense of the word. It takes the story and characters of the first film and builds on them without being too afraid to step in another direction.
The constant references to Scar and the, um, 'scars', he has left may indeed turn some people off. Personally I loved it. Kiera and Kovu are worthy successors to Simba and Nala. Here we have characters who cannot escape the past, but unlike the first film where Simba is trying to escape HIS past, they are trapped in the shadow of events before their time. They weren't a part of Scar's betrayal or downfall yet they still live with the consequences. Their struggle to be seen as individuals away from their heritage is a metaphor that easily applies to the film as a whole and I for one think it is wholly successful.
The film is altogether darker than the first, (Scar's vengeful mate is a pretty twisted figure), but it works perfectly in it's context as a sequel. You watch The Lion King when you're young and fall in love with the beautiful artwork and songs, then you watch The Lion King 2 when you are a bit older and appreciate for the first time just how complex the first film was to leave such a legacy, and hopefully see it in a new light.
Some people won't want to view an old favourite in a new light, and I must admit I didn't watch this film out of choice, but the new characters soon had me involved in a whole new way, the new songs, (especially the emotional, 'He's Not One of Us'), are never far from my tongue, and in moments of doubt Timon and Pumba are there to ease you along.
There are many Disney sequels and most are straight-to-video for a reason, but if you dismiss The Lion King 2 on those principles, you'll miss out on a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lion King 2, 2 May 2011
Being the sequel to The Lion King, this film had a lot to live up to, and personally i think this is the perfect sequel to such a Disney Classic, it follows the original story very well, using a subtle blend of old recognized characters, with new. This introduction of new characters makes this film very exiting, using an excellent music score it follows the transition of Simba from cub to adult, as it tells the story of how this once mischievous cub deals with the new found responsibilities of parenthood, through his headstrong daughter Kiara. An excellent movie appealing to all ages, with lots of fun packed adventure along the way. A must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last and not a bad price too., 29 May 2012
By 
Dad "Just a DAD" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Lion King II: Simba's Pride is by far one of the best, if not the best, Disney sequel produced to date. It has sold more copies than any other Disney sequel, and for good reason -- it is a worthy successor to the throne.

The animation is high quality, especially for a direct-to-video sequel. Instead of using hand-drawn characters and computers to color the images, TLK2 was done in traditional cel animation, unlike the original Lion King. This makes the movie even more classic, and easily appreciated not only for its wonderful story, but the artwork involved in creating it.

The story is stunning and picks up basically where TLK left off. Simba and Nala's daughter, Kiara, is being raised to become the future queen. In the meantime, she encounters a cub from a tribe of outsiders named Kovu, and they immediatly become friends. However, both of their families stand in the way of their friendship continuing, and they never see each other again until they are adults - and that's where things really get interesting! Zira, the leader of the outsiders and Scar's mate, is trying to kill Simba, and Kovu figures into the plan. In the end, both tribes clash in all out war. You'll just have to watch to see how the story ends.

Definitely a worthy sequel to the first, get a copy if you can, my three kids love it - especialy my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 26 Jan. 2012
I was very impressed with this item! not only is the disk in perfect condition along with the box but before I even got the email to say the item had dispatched it had already turned up 2 days after I ordered it which was a shock to me due to not even knowing that it dispatched! (good thing) as a big lion king fan I fell in love with this movie and would plan to watch it over and over in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay...but Scar's too often talked about..., 7 Nov. 2003
Like me, I’m sure many people were very excited for the long-awaited sequel to Disney’s Classic, ‘The Lion King.’ The circle of life continues…
Simba is now the new Lion King and is a proud father to Kiara, his daughter. Like Simba once was at her age, Kiara is a very mischievous and adventurous cub who just can’t help getting into all kinds of trouble. One day, while exploring the Pridelands Simba asks Timon & Pumbaa to keep an eye on her to make sure she doesn’t get hurt. She manages to escape them both while they’re quarrelling over their lunch and runs off to the Outlands which are strictly off limits to all Pridelanders. Once there, she befriends another young lion cub named Kovu who was chosen to follow in the pawprints of Scar and one day take over as King. The problem is, Kiara and Kovu are not allowed to be friends because their families are at war against each other. As time goes by, Kovu & Kiara begin to slowly fall in love. Will their love be strong enough to end the feud between their warring families? You’ll have to watch the movie to find out…
‘The Lion King II: Simba’s Pride’ is a beautifully drawn, painted and animated movie. I don’t think anyone could have made the sequel to such a wonderful Disney Classic any better than this. You may also be interested to know that grown up Kiara’s voice is done by Neve Campbell from the ‘Scream’ movies and she’s a wonderful voice actress for Simba’s daughter.
However, my only disappointments about this DVD are that there are no special features to offer you. You get language and chapter selections as well as seeing a few other Disney titles available to buy. But apart from this, that’s all there is.
In addition, the story itself somehow lacks the spirit and feeling to the original ‘Lion King’ movie. The soundtrack to ‘Simba’s Pride’ has been completely changed with no resemblance to the first movie whatsoever. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a terrific soundtrack and the new songs are ssoooo cool! It just would have felt a lot more like ‘The Lion King’ if they’d kept the original background music in the sequel. In other words, it would really have felt like the second movie was continuing from where the original left off rather than a completely different story all together.
Also, Zazu’s voice has been changed and is no longer done by Rowan Atkinson. However, the replacement is very close to the original voice so I’m not too disappointed there. Except for Zazu, all the original voice actors from ‘The Lion King’ have returned for the second movie.
Despite the disadvantages to the sequel, it’s still a very good story and you really should try and watch it sometime. Don’t take my word for it, watch it and judge how good you think it is for yourself…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, 24 April 2004
The story of Simba's daughter Kiara, is beautifully portrayed in this newfilm. The lions who have been banished from the Pride Lands now live theirseperate lives, but when Kiara wanders into their land as a cub, she meetsKovu, also a young cub. Simba comes to her rescue as Kovu's mother isabout to pounce, and the young couple are told not to see eachother again.
However as they grow older, Kovu is trained to take over from Scarr,and challenge Simba for the throne. He is told by his pack to trick Simbaand Kiara into believing he has changed, and will then kill them, claimingthe throne. However, Kovu falls for Kiara, and truly changes, much to thedisgust of his pack. The love is returned, and the film tells the story oftheir love, and the obstacles they must overcome.
A very good film,but not as good as the first. Great for children and adults alike. Amust-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are One :), 31 Aug. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Just Purchased this movie The Lion King Simba's pride 2 and I thoughly enjoyed the movie,alot of fighting scenes between the lions,you could see also later in the movie that Kovo really loved Kiara and really changed from being manipulated as a baby cub by his Mother Zula to kill Simba.The songs are great especially the African music in it :) favourite songs are We are One,One of Us,Love Will find a way(this song made my eyes well up) you must get this film today as I thoughly recommend it.Enjoy the Movie as this is a must have for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The Lion King 2 Simba's Pride" Special Edition DVD, 29 Dec. 2011
As with most Disney's sequels, I didn't have very high expectations for this follow up to Disney's modern classic The Lion King. However, I was quite surprised by how decent this film actually is.

The plot is thin, one of the flaws of most of the disney dvd sequels, but it does hold up quite well, especially for young children. It's simple to follow, basically Romeo and Juliette with lions (the first Lion King was no different though, as the story of Hamlet with Lions) with Kiara as the princess daughter of Simba, the Lion King, who falls in love with Kovu, the rebellious son of an evil lionness intent on revenging Scar (the enemy of Simba in the first movie). However, the contrived feeling of the plot is fleshed out by some really well fleshed out characters (unusual for a straight to dvd disney release). Kiara is one of the first really strong female protagonists in a disney movie, with her own mind and is much more than just a swooning disney princess. And Kovu is also made into a realistic, three dimensional character, with flaws and a complicated backstory. Simba and Nala's story also continues, and though Nala does get pushed to the background, Simba is still an integral character and has a good character arc that keeps you interested in his story as well as the new faces. Also returning are favourites like Timon, Pumbaa, Zazu and Rafiki who are there to provide comic relief for kids and adults alike (there are several injokes that only adults will understand).
The songs of the film are also suprisingly well done for a disney sequel, with the opening track "He Lives In You" taken straight from the Broadway Play, and made a hit song by artists like Tina Turner and Diana Ross who have both covered versions of it. The African influences are throughout the soundtrack, which was a highlight of the original film, and although the songs aren't up to the standard of the Elton John penned songs of the original movie, they hold up and are enjoyable to listen to.

There are many flaws with the film though. It is most definatley not up to the classic standard of the original movie, especially in terms of animation. Obviously this straight to dvd release was made on a much tighter budget, and it shows. The lush backgrounds and animation of the first are imitated but not to the same effect. The animation is by no means bad, it just lacks the depth and charm of the original. Of course though, kids will barely notice this, so it's not a huge problem.

By far though one of the better Disney sequels, and will undoutably entertain the children who loved the original, but parents might find themselves just wanting to watch the original masterpiece instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars daughters gift., 13 Nov. 2011
This was one of the best gifts ever for my twenty two year old married daughter, she was over the moon with it.the speed of the service was amazing. She had ordered this locally and after waiting three week's canceled, when she asked me to see if i could get it for her. i searched a few different sites but i found amazon was the only site with a suitable dvd format also their price was very reasonable in comparison. The dvd arrived two days ahead of the delivery date so i was able to surprise her.The Lion King (2 Disc Special Edition) [1994] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Sequel, Fantastic Service from Lite Home!, 27 April 2011
This is a fantastic sequel! If you loved the original Lion King, you will know how much of a tough act it is to follow, but to be fair, Disney have done an admiral job on this.
I have to give a special mention to Lite Home, from whom I purchased this DVD: It arrived in the post, the next morning, perfectly packaged and recieved within about 20 hours! Thanks guys, would definately order from you again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride [VHS]
The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride [VHS] by Rob LaDuca (VHS Tape - 1999)
£8.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews