Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friday night's a great night for football
Back in 1991 there was still only one way that studios could sell Bruce Willis and that was as various incarnations of his Die Hard hero. Even Eddie (Hudson) Hawkins had similarities to John McClane. Joe Hallenbeck is a sort of mix between McClane and a stereotypical hardboiled private eye. Watching him mumble and grunt through various near-deaths and close shaves makes...
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by Inspector Gadget

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try it.. You might like it
The best way to describe this film would be to say that it is a bloke flick, not for women but not against them, my girlfriend enjoyed it every bit as much as i did but it's not really a cuddle up on the sofa romantic film.
What it is is hugely enjoyable and funny. It does not take itself seriously but does not have that movie spoof feel about it.
If you like...
Published on 21 Jun 2005 by KB Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friday night's a great night for football, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Back in 1991 there was still only one way that studios could sell Bruce Willis and that was as various incarnations of his Die Hard hero. Even Eddie (Hudson) Hawkins had similarities to John McClane. Joe Hallenbeck is a sort of mix between McClane and a stereotypical hardboiled private eye. Watching him mumble and grunt through various near-deaths and close shaves makes for much fun.

As a private dick Hallenbeck scrounges for work wherever he can find it. So he takes up a job protecting a stripper named Cory and soon finds himself in a lot of trouble with the men who are controlling Pro Football. Bad guys are trying to get him left and right, and his bratty 13-year-old daughter tagging along doesn't help much.

Tony Scott's style of direction is best suited to this type of action flick. The flashy, exotic editing and cinematography techniques lend a lot to the witty script and compliment the seedy back alleyways and pretty Los Angeles vistas. Shane Black has also written dozens of one-liners and riddled the script with funny dialogue and exciting situations. It's no surprise that this was once the most expensive script ever sold in Hollywood.

Some people say that this film is too violent and misogynist but I honestly cannot understand what they are talking about. I guess it was just a little out of the norm back in 1991. But still the tone of the film is so light and enjoyable you begin to wonder how this never made up for it. Check it out for yourself and I am sure that you will enjoy.

The Blu Ray is in 1080p 2.40:1 widescreen with lossless DTS HD-MA sound. I can confirm that that it is a HUGE step up in quality from the horrid DVD edition. Well worth the upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Das Film ist wunderbar!, 2 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Joe Hallenbeck was one of the country's top Secret Service agents. Unfortunately, for him Joe had a run-in with a grubby politician. One set-up later and Hallenbeck had lost his career, his income, the whole lot but his gun. James Dix was a star quarterback for the L.A. Stallions. Again an unfortunate thing happened, as Jimmy was barred from football when he was caught betting on the games and was accused of shaving points. What Hallenbeck and Dix have in common is that their lives have reached an unsurpassed low. But when Hallenbeck's client and Dix's girlfriend turn out to be the one and the same - and when she is murdered in front of their eyes - they have something else in common. An investigation into that murder which uncovers a plot involving blackmail, sleaze and a danger to the future of professional football. What the participants in this plan didn’t count on was that, the two men, emerged as a new team in the league - a team which doesn't need 11 men to take on the competition!
The intended audience is obvious as it goes along with the normal action intended audience. Also producer, Joel Silver, and screenwriter, Shane Black said "Let's make a movie that red-blooded American males age 18-34 will enjoy. We'll need some babes, some comedy, a couple big name action stars, a good explosion budget, and what the hell, let's throw in some football", when they were asked about the different conventions of the movie.
The characters in the film are of the normal conventions. Joe is a dirty, unshaven private detective. His job is to watch over an exotic dancer named Cory (Halle Barry), who is the girlfriend of Jimmy Dix. "You couldn't protect a warm cup of piss," says Jimmy to Joe, an example of this movie's great dialogue. Cory is afraid of stalkers, but later, Joe discovers that she had information in order to induce Senator Baynard (Chelcie Ross) and Sheldon Marcone (Noble Willingham), the owner of the L.A. Stallions football team. Much of the movie is straightforward, as Joe and Jimmy uncover the plot and get in and out of trouble. It's the dialogue, personalities and Tony Scott's approach to violence that make this a guilty pleasure, an enjoyable and slick action film with some real surprises.
Not only are the two leads amiable, but the two main bad guys are interesting as well. Noble Willingham as Sheldon Marcone chews the scenery perfectly as the corrupt owner. His main henchman, a hit man named Milo (Taylor Negron), is a sophisticated and calm individual who kills people without emotion. Some supporting performances by Chelsea Field and Mike Matthews are also effective, despite being limited. The character of the foul-mouthed 13-year-old who yells at her father and has a stuck-up attitude is probably the best, as she spouts obscenities, we can't help but stare at bewilderment at the situation. But even though we believe her to be an evil type she helps her father and Jimmy as she plants a gun in her bear!
The “Last Boy Scout” uses self-referentiality as it refers to other action texts in the film. For example, Dix is wondering of a catchphrase to say when he kills someone, the main action convention and states “I’ll be back!.”
The lone constant theme of the film is its hatred of women. The two heroes have a wife and a girlfriend, respectively, who cheat on them - the wife with Willis' best friend, the girlfriend by prostituting herself. Both men are at home in this screenplay, which hates women with a particular brutality; the verbal violence begins by calling them bitches and whores and worse, over and over again, and the message is that a man can only really trust another man. The end of the movie is strange in the way it insists on this; the hero, resigned with his cheating wife, embraces her and whispers vile obscenities into her ear. We are intended to read them as caring!
The Last Boy Scout" is an excellent example of what an action film should be; a sleek, skilful, sceptical, smart, but utterly corrupt and a lot of revolting action. I would have to give it thumbs up as it is such a skilful and well-crafted movie but by being positive is to seem to approve its sickness about women, so I believe it’s just well constructed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joe hallenbeck aka "THE MAN", 12 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I love this film, i've always loved this film. I used to watch it on almost alternate days when i came back from school as a teenager. I used to try to copy joe hallenbeck's sardonic world weary smirk on my post-pubescent little 15yr old face, much to the chagrin of my friends. I pre-booked the rental VHS 2 weeks ahead of release and annoyed my local pharaoh's video store by going in EVERY day after school to see if it had come out yet. I love this film.
Why? Because like Bruce's Joe Hallenbeck, this film headbutts you in the face leaving your blood-spattered world reeling in bright neon colours then, as it casually limps away, delivers an effortless execution of a punchline sprinkled with a delicate garnish of poetic profanity that brings the blood you were choking on 3 seconds earlier gurgling back up your throat with gut-aching laughter. Phew, deep breath...aaaand...
I hope fellow brucephiles like moi appreciate this as THE defining Bruce Willis character. Before you bust a gut - yes, yes i know Die Hard is his classic film - but Joe Hallenbeck is his career defining character - the Willis personality pushed to the knife-edge brink of explosive perfection.
Dont belive me yet? But monsieur, let me tempt you with these delicacies:
1. On finding his best friend in his wife's bedroom closet:
"Yeah Yeah, i know - you tripped, slipped on the carpet and accidentally stuck your **** in my wife".
2. On being approached by three hatchet faced armed goons by a car parked full of dynamite:
"You girls still out? Streetlights are on"
3. On being asked point-blank by a hitman where he wants it - in the chest or the head: "Yeah, thats what your wife said"
and plenty more morsels of humour to come all delivered in Bruce's loving grimace of sardonic masculinity - a performance of true humility and gratitude for the Y chromosome.
Oh and where on earth did these "woman hating" reviews come from? This film doesnt hate women - it loves guys, and wallows in the self-indulgent pity all us men wallow in cos we love women so goddamn much it hurts. Right? Settled.
Oh and before i forget, Boy Scout is 2nd only to White Men in its form and content of mother jokes - watch and learn them to your hearts content as you would the poetry of john donne.
Convinced? No? Well let me tell you this. This film, more than any other film ive seen defines the modern violent action movie because it defines the scenario perfectly and repeatedly: a world-weary self-hating lone male always trying to do the right thing but being hurt by the corruption of others, finding himself time-and-time again surrounded and outnumbered by armed goons and managing to escape against all odds with sheer resourcefulness, killer jokes and manpower. But above all the killer jokes.
The final honours go to the ending - ignore the last 500 words - i love this film because the 15 yr old in me loves the way milo (the bad guy) is churned up in the helicopter blades - he literally EXPLODES like a balloon of blood. AAAAAaaaaaahhhhhh.
As our two heroes stroll into the sunset the screen fades to the sound of Pat Boone's "Moody River". I'd never heard of Pat Boone, i still havent got a clue. But i memorised every word of that song and y'know what? I think ill go and listen to some more Pat Boone if i can find it. Cos Joe Hallenbeck loves Pat Boone. He's my hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce's Other Action Classic, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dvd Info.
Running time 101 minutes, 240:1 ratio.

Quality.
Far sharper picture with proper cinema ratio & worth upgrading to your Blu ray collection.

Trivia.
1)102 times the F'word used in this film.
2)9 times somebody punches Bruce Willis character Joe.
3)Keep an eye out for the movie Darian is watching on tv it's Lethal,Weapon which was also written by Shane Black & produced by Joel Silver.
4)Tensions were running high on this production betwen Bruce Willis, Producer Joel Silver & the late Director Tony Scott.
5)The late Noble Willingham starred in Chuck Norris Walker Texas Ranger as C.D Parker.
6)Danielle Harris featured as Jamie Lloyd in Halloween 4 & 5 and also featured in the remake & it's sequel & also featured in another horror movie Urban Legend.

Synopsis.
A down & out cynical private detective Joe Hallenbeck who's wife is having an affair with his best friend Mike & who's daughter hates him reluctantly teams up with a banned ex quarterback American football player Jimmy Dix to solve the murder of Hallenbecks best friend Mike who's blown up in his car outside Joe's house.

Mike got to close to in his investigation of sport's corruption & was befriending Jimmys girlfriend Cory who is also murdered by a team of killers infront of Jimmy.

The duo have to avoid being shot & killed as they evade the bad guy's led by Shelly Marcone who's involved with a corrupt senator & deals in Illegal sport's gambling were a recent footballer Billy Cole took his own life after murdering several player's during a American Football game.

This is a classic Bruce Wills action movie made at a time for mature audiences not the 12a adolescents.

The script by Shane Black who wrote Lethal Weapon 1 & 2 & more recently wrote & directed Iron Man 3 gives this buddy buddy movie a witty engaging script & enjoyable character's we can relate too.

Bruce Willis nails the character of Joe Hallenbeck & it was certainly tailor made for his personality.

Bruce Willis play's Joe as a character who's life is falling apart yet still keeps his morals & principles when chaos surrounds him, A bit like myself.

Bruce reels off the dry one liners with ease & handles the action spectacularly, I was disappointed this movie never got to start up a franchise which was the no doubt the intention.

Damon Wayans does very well as Jimmy Dix & shares a great chemistry with Bruce Willis & the action is very well directed by the late Tony Scott who delivers fast cutting frenetic action in a direction that the viewer can actually see what's going on not like the manic MTV cutting of movie's today.

This is one of Bruce Willis best action films & this should've been the start of a new movie franchise.

A solid enjoyable action thriller.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Willis is excellent once again..., 25 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I feel the Amazon review on here's a bit harsh. Being a woman myself, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this film. From its shocking opening, you can tell its one of those films that isn't going to pull its punches, so you could be in for a fairly rude awakening.

Bruce Willis is a private investigater whose foul mouthed wife is bedding his friend. Bruce Wilis' one liner here absolutely had me in fits of laughter, "What, you tripped fell and landed on his...?" I can't type the next word because of the swearing, but i'm sure anyone who has watched it before will remember what I mean.

It's loud, noisy and explosive - and yes, Bruce Willis' daughter in the film is annoying, cheeky and a foul mouthed brat, but look at her mother to see where she got it from!

All right, I digress. It's an action film for which you park your brain in neautral and sit back and relax. No, its not a cuddle up on the sofa romantic type of films, but not all of us ladies enjoy those soppy type of films - personally, I dont, and I am a huge Bruce Willis and Arnold Schwarzenegger fan and have to say, this is one of Bruce Willis' best films since Die Hard, and I didn't find anything offensive about the film's "hate women" message - or any such inclination of a message, in fact.

So for a loud, noisy action film without too much of a plot to handle, i recommend this, because its wisexracking Bruce at his best since Die Hard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try it.. You might like it, 21 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
The best way to describe this film would be to say that it is a bloke flick, not for women but not against them, my girlfriend enjoyed it every bit as much as i did but it's not really a cuddle up on the sofa romantic film.
What it is is hugely enjoyable and funny. It does not take itself seriously but does not have that movie spoof feel about it.
If you like wisecracks, gunfights, bad language and explosions then you will love this film if not steer well clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violent, humour laden no-brain fun, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I saw Last Boy Scout on video way back when (I was underage) and it disturbed me greatly. The swearing was nonstop and the violence was explicit and bloody. OK, it was mostly towards bad-guys but I had seen Die Hard before, and enjoyed that immensly.
I have recently bought it on DVD for the sake of nostalgia, and am surprised and delighted to see that I was blinded by the violence. Tippex out the violence, and we get a sharp script worthy of Tarantino, with some of the best put-downs and one-liners this side of a, well, a Bruce Willis film really.
Not sure about that "hatred towards women" award this flick seems to have been given by many critics, who obviously seem to have read too much in the very shallow but quick-witted script. The wife of Brucie boy is simply a plot device to give the PI's character more of a third dimension, an attempt at an unfamiliar spin on a familiar cliche which doesn't work, but hardly says that all women want to have affairs 'cause their bored. And LOOK AT WILLIS! Throughout this movie he's tired, drunk and smells like a bottom. Wouldn't YOU want someone else? No mention in the reviews I've read of his best friend who betrayed him too. And guess what guys - he was a man! Is there hatred to men in here too? How about hatred to homosapiens?
No, the script is too shallow for any deep and meaningful statement about the sexes. Many have complained about the other female lead, who was a 14 year old girl (fantastic actor in this by the way) who swears like a docker while having guns pointed at her. Would we have preffered it if she screamed hysterically like that IRRITATING woman in Batman (which is far more sexist in my opinion)? Then women would have been portrayed as weak and pathetic. No, instead we get a lead female who is as quick-witted as her father when in a dangerous situation. Agree? Although I have to concede that the BDSM flashback was a little too messy and smelly, and could have easily been replaced by something else, like, I don't know, a bribery sequence or something. (Alright, I'm not a scriptwriter.)
The villains are all characters, not just cardboard cut-out targets at the end of a shooting range. Milo rocks as the "I would really like to hear you scream" villain who kidnaps the girl and ultimately gets sliced and diced by chopper blades in a juicy climax that rivals that of Die Hard with the Nazi-like Gruber. There's also the legendary "Touch me again and I'll kill you" moment, when shortly after he's manhandled once again by the villain, the villian is forcefed his own nose and dies. Gloriously juicy.
Watch this if you like a quick two hours brainless, action entertainment. Buy it if you like witty lines and Bruce's underrated acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest action flicks ever, 25 July 2006
This review is from: The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Bruce Willis has never been better than here (not even in Die Hard!!). Shane Black's script sizzles with cracking one liners that Willis delivers as only he can. The chemistry between him and Damon Wayans is evident from very early on as they play off eachother superbly. The action doesn't let up for a second and neither do the jokes. Willis' character Joe "Touch me again an' I'll kill ya" Hallenbeck is far and away the coolest movie detective ever. The direction is slick, and the movie really is perfectly paced. This should be the standard bearer by which all other action movie's are compared. And it hasn't dated at all. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Friday Night Movie, 4 Nov 2002
By 
J. E. Parry "Jeff Parry" (Pontypool, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
If you like "no brain action movies" then this is for you. It does not claim to be a great, thought provoking film but it is extremely entertaining. As well as owning the DVD I also watch this whenever Sky rescreen it.
Bruce is Bruce. Wise cracking, down to earth, bloke. A hero gone off the rails with family problems aplenty. You find that most of these problems arise from the uncompromising attitude that brought about his fall from grace.
I do not believe that it is anti-women. Yes he does have the "screw you" attitude towards his wife and daughter but actually loves them and understands that it is his own problems that cause the friction.
Damon Wayans is ok as the ex-football playing partner, who's undergone a similar fall from grace.
Yes it is violent. No it is not a great script but there are plenty of one libers to keep you amused. This is not a Tarantinoesque film at all. The script does not have the punchy realism of a Quentin movie.
If you take it with a pinch of salt and treat it for what it is then you have a very enjoyable film indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'TYPICAL 'BRUCE WILLIS' ROLE', 2 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Many of the earlier movie transfers to the 'Blu-ray' format have been dissapointing, obviously we buy the films we love from yester-year on blu-ray hoping for sharper picture, thankfully 'The Last Boy Scout' has been updated successfully ( wish as much honesty applied to all )
The film has 'Bruce' as a private eye 'Joe Hallenbeck' who is hired to investigate threats made against an exotic dancer's, but as the body count rises he is lead toward an assassination plot.
The film has 'Bruce' in a typical role, plenty of one-line humour along with his usual 'heroic' action sequences.
I enjoyed the film all over again.....worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991]
The Last Boy Scout [1992] [DVD] [1991] by Tony Scott (DVD - 1999)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews