Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars80
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2010
a great film with twists and turns, clever little plot
mike douglas is a fine actor and brings great charactor to the film
i find it rare for douglas to be in a bad film or role
Gwen paltrow gives another good performance as dugggies suffering wife, revenge can be sweet
this film is a must for putting the feet up in front of the fire on a rainy night

tommy from dublin
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
POSSIBLE SPOILERS: Michael Douglas plays Wall St, Shares Tycoon Steven Taylor a man with ice in his veins like nobody else can.These parts are tailor-made for him it seems and in A Perfect Murder his wife Emily (Gwyneth Paltrow) is having an affair with a dead-beat artist David Shaw(Viggo Mortenson) who Taylor later tries to blackmail into murdering Emily, except like all the best laid plans of mice and men.....? Taylor sets himself up the perfect alibi also - or so he thinks, until Emily discovers his shares company is going to the wall and without HER financial inheritance he will end-up broke AND in prison!There are more twists in this than a roller-coaster ride and I'm not giving them away, suffice to say it's a good, interesting thriller with good support cast.NOT a remake of Dial M for Murder.In MY opinion and as much as I respect Alfred Hitchcock, THIS is a faster, far better and more suspensful film.Michael Douglas is a far more profound actor than was Ray Milland who was a bit bland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
As I get into my dotage I do wonder about graphic violence, especially at this time when there's so much of it about in real life, and although this is very entertaining and very well-made (tick off the Hitchcock references game), it does contain a small amount of it by today's standards which is a bit gratuitous and there to 'entertain'. Hitchcock was as much as anybody to blame I suppose for getting in first, but in Psycho at least, there was great cinematic skill rather than 'the verisimilitude' of blood and gore favoured today 'because you can'. It's just a very well-crafted twisty thriller with the 'guilty' Gwyneth (she's having an affair you find out 1 second in in an allusion to Psycho) perhaps not really getting the Hitchcockian comeuppance that Janet Leigh did. Times change, thankfully, but that makes it a bit more predictable and for modern morality. David Suchet a nice surprise at the softish-centre, perhaps Martin Balsam's less threatened Arbogast equivalent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
A highly enjoyable movie with an excellent cast and a story with ample twists and turns. This is a clever "remake" of the earlier Hitchcock "Dial M For Murder" film but classy enough to stand on its own merits.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
This is the second time of viewing and I enjoyed it all over again. Michael Douglas is an excellent actor and puts his heart and soul into his work. Because of this others act well with him. In Wall Street though he might have been the only actor on the set and I don't know how he coped, he must have been colosally bored, (I know I was) but his professionalism steered him through. This film though was superb and Paltrow is at her best while acting with him. Very clever and enjoyable. I think those who have moaned on here must have been falling asleep. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
Michael Douglas is true to form with this thriller,
this film is a tense thriller with a really good twist at the end.
The film starts out by giving you the impression that the couple are truly in love with each other, but as the story unfolds the wife is having an affair and the husband is planning her murder, as she is the one who has all the money.
This all makes for a good nights viewing as Everything backfires, even though each detail has been well thought out.
Was well worth the money and its a film you could watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2006
This is a great movie - entertaining, full of twists and turns and is beautifully underplayed. Not excessive in its violence, but packed with intrigue and moments that had us scrunching the cushions and on the edge of our seats.

Michael Douglas is brilliantly cold and classy, Viggo Mortensen keeps you in a permanent quest to work out what he is thinking and what he will do next. Gwyneth Paltrow and David Suchet are superb in their respective roles of potential victim and suspicious police officer.

This is a great thriller, very loosely based on the classic "Dial M for Murder", and makes a great evening's viewing. If you like a good murder mystery, you will enjoy spending a couple of hours with this stylish and absorbing film. I commend it to you!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
This 1998 film is based on the Hitchcock Film "Dial M for MUrder" with the action transposed to USA where Michael Douglas plays a wealthy Wall Street trader whose down on his luck because of poor investment decisions and decides to have his wife killed to inherit her fortune and stave off bankruptcy using a intermediary to do the dirty deed. Things go awry which results in him constantly altering his plans to achieve his goal as plots within plots abound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
We had recorded this movie - or thought we had, when we came to play it back there was a news interuption part way through and the system wasn't intelligent enough to recognise this so we just had to buy the dvd to see the end. Very gripping film, lots of twists and surprises in it and very good value - cheaper than renting then you have it to watch again at some time in the future when you have forgotten the story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2000
Michael Douglas is millionaire Steven Taylor who finds out that his wife (Gwyneth Paltrow) is sleeping with ex con-cum artist (Viggo Mortensen). Instead of confronting his wife's lover with fisticuffs, he offers him a hefty sum if he will off his wife. Directed by The Fugitive's Andrew Davis, A Perfect Murder is the Perfect slick thriller with Paltrow giving a winning performance as the cheating wife and Douglas' villain being suitably devilish and evil.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)