Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 September 2011
One of the best thrillers you have never heard of. Strong roles for Kingsley, Sutherland and Quinn who all do an excellent job.

This is an extremely well put together and well written thriller. It is based around the recruitment of a lookalike for Carlos the Jackal, and the attempt to use him to kill the original terrorist. There are high production values, consistently believable acting, and although the plots is at times far fetched, it remains engaging, believable and convincing.

In common with the best thrillers there is as much psychology as there is acting, it never becomes over anguished, but these feel like people making real choices, that will have real and costly impacts for them.

There are some memorable action sequences, although at times brutal, it is a grown up and satisfying film. In the context of a quality film I don't think the violence and language are inappropriate. Classed as an 18, there is some sex and sexual references that are unsuitable for children.

This is one of those films that feels long, not because it is dull, but because it takes you on a real journey with characters that you care about.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
In spite of the deserved success of the Bourne movies, they regretfully do not reflect the plot line contained in the books. Fortunately 'The Assignment' fills this void well. Fine attention to detail and good action sequences serve to draw the viewer in to this satisfying if underrated film. Sutherland, Kingsley and Quinn are all effective in their individual roles and provide a dark realism that comes close to doing justice to Ludlums 'The Bourne Identity'.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2001
Luckily, it's not just the blockbusters getting the DVD treatment. This stands head-and-shoulders above many films that actually made it to the cinema. Christian Duguay ('Screamers', and if I hear one more person criticising the ending of that overlooked gem...) remains anything but a household name and that's criminal, as the guy certainly knows how to make a compelling motion picture, with characterisation high on his list of priorities. The criminally underused Quinn is extremely effective in his dual role, and first-rate support is on hand throughout. Every effort has been made to ensure that this is a believable thriller (something you don't find too often); e.g. a protracted pursuit scene seems come to an end. The hours pass by and when we catch up with our hero, so do his pursuers (they didn't go off somewhere and try to figure out Plan B - they just continue to do their job in the way that we all do.)
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I really like Aiden Quinn and I think this is one of his best films. With Donald Sutherland and Ben Kingsley also starring the film is one which I could watch more than once. Aidann is very plausible as a tough guy too. The ending is a good one and not what I expected. Well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
this was absolutely brill have watched it over and over and over onr of those dvd's you can't get enough of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Had to return this movie, kept stopping and never got to see the ending, very dissapointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
A fantastic thriller. Very gritty and believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Good actors but for me it was unreal and boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
usual run of the mill actioners......good cast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Excellent dvd & service. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.70

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)