Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's cheesey, but a lot of fun...
It's cheesey, but a fun. Just saw the 2014 reboot-and it aint got half as engaging. At least this movie has some tension. And plot!
Published 1 month ago by the AC chrysalis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The hype was as big as the monster to start with!
It felt like this take on Godzilla was advertised for 2 years in advance of its actual release, every time (it seemed) I went to the cinema I was awestruck by little teaser trailers, in fact the one of the old guy fishing and hooking Zilla is a personal favourite...SIZE DOES MATTER! Love it I do. Sadly as most of us now know, the film didn't meet fans and critics...
Published 16 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's cheesey, but a lot of fun..., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
It's cheesey, but a fun. Just saw the 2014 reboot-and it aint got half as engaging. At least this movie has some tension. And plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review, 25 April 2011
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As usual, when looking for a review of a film on Amazon you have to wade through dozens of irrelevant ones for other format versions to find a smattering of fairly unhelpful ones of the actual product. This review is only for the blu ray version, and I won't bother discussing the film itself; if you're looking at blu ray versions you more than likely have already seen the film and liked it enough to upgrade, like me. Regarding the blu ray quality - it's excellent. I didn't find it excessively grainy and I have to say it's a hell of a lot clearer than the dvd version. Many complaints about this film were over the fact that you couldn't see enough because it was always dark and rainy. Not a problem here; still dark and rainy, but the sharpness of the blu ray image makes the details stand out. I got a lot more from this than from the dvd. The sound is better, even if you're not using a home cinema system and just a standard HD tv with dolby. The menu is entertaining, too - if you don't select immediately you get a cgi meander down the street to the accompaniment of huge, reverberating footsteps. The extras are a Godzilla trivia quiz, a visual effects commentary, Behind the Scenes with Charles Caiman, a round up of best Godzilla fight scenes, and a music video by the Wallflowers. It's widescreen format (2:40:1), audio in English, German and French DTS-HD MA, and subtitles for English (HOH and standard), Arabic, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Hindi, Norwegian, Swedish and Turkish. It loses a star because when all's said and done, I really like the old Japanese Godzilla stuff and would have liked a bit more in the movie related to those. But maybe someday someone will put out remastered blu rays of the originals, so I'll be able to relish them more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The hype was as big as the monster to start with!, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
It felt like this take on Godzilla was advertised for 2 years in advance of its actual release, every time (it seemed) I went to the cinema I was awestruck by little teaser trailers, in fact the one of the old guy fishing and hooking Zilla is a personal favourite...SIZE DOES MATTER! Love it I do. Sadly as most of us now know, the film didn't meet fans and critics expectations at all, but was the film done down by the hype and an expectation of a masterpiece for the genre?

Well it didn't help that is for sure, but taking aside that problem, the film only glimpses at what might have been. It has many great points that seem to have been forgotten, so sadly we are all too aware of the film's failings on the makers behalf. The build up in the film is excellent, the makers mount the tension in steady strokes, doing what all classic monster movie makers do, they have you waiting with gripping expectation of the creature by a series of scenarios and inventive dialogue. The sound is incredible, making it an essential viewing for those who cherish home surround cinema, while some of the shots and destruction of New York are well worth the viewers time.

But then? Well they throw the good work away by turning the film's focus away from the big lizard to a story line that was only fitting for the cartoon version of Godzooki. Thus rendering the film as a poor man's Jurassic Park, which quite frankly doesn't sit well. Matthew Broderick, Jean Reno and Hank Azaria all deserved better scripting, hell we all did!

It's not the evil stinker some would have you believe, it does have its moments of both good and bad, it is, by definition, very much a film split down the middle. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
A very exciting (if unrealistic) film, with many well-known actors. There are scenes of horror and terror, plus plenty of humour, and a very worrying final moment . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Special Effects but not enough about Godzilla, 2 May 2004
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
If you've read my other reviews about Independence Day and Stargate, the same creators of Godzilla, you'll probably know that I enjoyed them both. But here they've not made such a good film. I saw this at the Cinema in 1998 and did enjoy it, don't get me wrong about that, but it didn't seem to have much detail about Godzilla himself. The Special Effects, being done by the same people who did Independence Day, are excellent, but the film seems to be more involved about the cast than the Monster. There are more things about this movie I don't like, like the script, being terrible, but apart from that this film features Good Special Effects, Entertainment and humour throughout. Hopefully the creators will make up for the mistake of Godzilla in their new film The Day After Tomorrow coming out later this year, which I am looking forward to. This film also features some very good extras on it, like The Special Effects Team Commentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars king of the Monsters, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this in anticipation for the new Godzilla being released on Bluray. Its an ok film but nothing compared to the new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 10 July 2014
This review is from: GODZILLA (Blu-ray)
Good value for money. Arrived on time. Enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
J. M. Dunn (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
nice to look back at a well made film even though the special effects weren't the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars godzilla, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
classic film great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book and gives me back the fond m emories I had when I first read this at school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla [1998] [DVD]
Godzilla [1998] [DVD] by Roland Emmerich (DVD - 2010)
4.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews