Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copy That!!!
Ive seen this film a hundred times, yet the originality of it still astounds me. It takes real events and makes them up to date, every detail. Sigourney weaver is excellent as Helen Hudson, and what a character Darryl Lee Cullum is. Great script, great acting, great movie. . Buy it!!
Published on 14 Dec 2004 by glenncowie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy?....Andy?....
Criminal profiler and psychologist Dr Helen Hudson becomes entangled in the deadly mind game of a vicious copycat serial killer.

Due to the horrific attack Helen suffered in her past as an agoraphobic she is confined to her apartment.

The killer uses this against her in his murderous attempts to become a famous serial killer.

Detectives M...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copy That!!!, 14 Dec 2004
This review is from: Copycat [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Ive seen this film a hundred times, yet the originality of it still astounds me. It takes real events and makes them up to date, every detail. Sigourney weaver is excellent as Helen Hudson, and what a character Darryl Lee Cullum is. Great script, great acting, great movie. . Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Copycat [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I bought this DVD with the idea of giving it a go because it sounded like an all right kind movie, and at the price it was selling for, I thought why not - if half good, I only paid half price. What I got was far from a half baked attempted at a scary, entertaining movie! Horror and suspense fans will feel right at home however occasionally cheated by the fact that it doesn't always follow the usual formula & rules of horror and suspense, and also by the fact that it actually has actors that can act and do far more than scream, be blond and run upstairs when they should be running out the door! Full hats off to Sigourney Weaver and Holly Hunter. DEEP characters, freaky plot, nasty deaths, plus it makes you think and is intelligently made makes this movie something you should stop considering getting, and just get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy?....Andy?...., 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Copycat [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Criminal profiler and psychologist Dr Helen Hudson becomes entangled in the deadly mind game of a vicious copycat serial killer.

Due to the horrific attack Helen suffered in her past as an agoraphobic she is confined to her apartment.

The killer uses this against her in his murderous attempts to become a famous serial killer.

Detectives M. J Monahan and Reuben Goetz they have the challenge of trying to capture the killer before he kills again and uses his chance to commit another murder....

While th film will win no plaudits for originality or scares, it's still good to see a character driven thriller, rather than one intending to shock with bucket loads of gore and cheap scares.

Weaver is great as the Agoraphobic, but it does become quite funny the amount of times she shouts out for her carer at the beginning.

The actual story is quite good, but the two 'Tyler Durden' showings of the killer before we meet the character is awful, and just gives the whole game away.

Connick Jr is truly great in this, but did he really have to look like the guy from MAD magazine? Even though it's on for more than two hours, it runs at a steady pace, and never really gets boring, thanks to the two leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sigourney Weaver and Holly Hunter make this an enjoyable and gruesome excursion into serial killing, 3 Oct 2008
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Copycat [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
"Screams of the victim deaden his pain. The act of killing makes him feel intensely alive. What he feels next is not guilt but disappointment. It was not as wonderful as he'd hoped. Maybe next time it will be perfect." --Dr. Helen Hudson speaking on serial killers.

Copycat is a first-class psychological serial killer/diller/thriller nearly undone by a conventional slasher/thriller climax. The end works well enough, but once you've seen one jump-out-and-scare-us, spray-in-the-face, last-minute-save cliché you've seen them all. The only difference in the clichés is how close we get to the blade going in, the skull cap blasting off, and the last minute twist being irrelevant to the story.

What makes Copycat so superior to the others can be summed up in two names: Sigourney Weaver and Holly Hunter. Weaver plays Helen Hudson, an authority on serial killers, in demand for lectures, consulted by the police, and a smart woman. That all changes when she is attacked by a serial killer and barely survives. The guy winds up in prison for life. Hudson winds up a prisoner, too. Thirteen months later we can see that she's been so traumatized that she has turned her apartment into a fortress. She's too frightened to venture outside. She needs liquor to get through the hours and pills and paper bags to deal with the panic attacks. She trusts few others. She deals with life through her computer. She's still an authority on serial killers, but her life has become a wasteland. (She does have that terrific San Francisco apartment.} Then she discovers that there is a new killer at work, one who mimics the style of killing that other serial killers have used. When she tells the police that recent, horrible murders are being committed by one madman, that brings us to Holly Hunter, who plays police inspector M. J. Monahan.

Monahan is quick, smart, feisty, small and, yeah, kinda cute. She's also tough enough to make big, male cops nervous. She's friendly, she's liked, she's prickly and no one doubts who's in charge when she's on a case. Dead bodies don't bother her too much. Monahan is a pro. Between Hudson's knowledge of serial killers, as wracked out as she is, and Monahan's gritty persistence, it's not long before we...then Hunt...then Monahan...realize Hunt has become the target for the copycat killer's affections. Now we're in the middle of a stylish, murderous cat-and-mouse game. Monahan, working with the difficult, isolated Hudson, is determined to capture this man. And the serial killer is going to go after Hudson, locked away in her fortress of an apartment.

Copycat gives us every old favorite in the book...darkened hallways, closed shower curtains, empty bathrooms, cops tricked off their assignments, ingenious ways to kill...and they still work. In an added twist, the current killer seems somehow to be able to communicate to the man who attacked Hunter and who now is in a secured slammer.

The only real drawback, if one doesn't mind too much the standard scares at the end, is the movie's length...more than two hours. If the director had had the energy to lop off 20 minutes the way the serial killer lops off lives, the movie, in my view, would have been even better. Even so, Copycat is a fine, intelligent movie made special by Hunter and Weaver, and with effective performances by Will Patton, Dermot Mulroney and a really unpleasant Harry Connick, Jr. The score is low-key and evocative. There's even a song by Sting and Andy Summers that the killer seems particularly fond of:

It's murder by numbers, one, two, three
It's as easy to learn as your a b c
Murder by numbers, one, two, three
It's as easy to learn as your a b c

Now if you have a taste for this experience
And you're flushed with your very first success
Then you must try a twosome or a threesome
And you'll find your conscience bothers you much less

Because it's murder by numbers, one, two, three
It's as easy to learn as your a b c.

The DVD looks very good. There's a "making of" extra and a commentary by the director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and different crime thriller, 7 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Copycat [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Sigourney Weaver (Aliens) stars as psychologist Helen Hudson, who is asked to assist in a crime case involving a serial killer who is copying famous serial killers methods.

Copycat is a complex and exciting thriller from director Jon Amiel, a fast and sophisticated film about finding the truth, and dealing with the consequences along the way. The plot is well written, without over doing the action, and dealing with criminal masterminds on both sides of the law.

Copycat is different from other crime thrillers by being more technically accurate and less on the action and more on the psychology behind the crime case. The plot will require plenty of attention with plenty of twists and flashbacks encoded and come the end, you may be slightly lost but is definitely worth another viewing. The plot can get a bit muddled come the end but the action and suspense will keep you hooked right to the dramatic finale.

The film get you thinking about what happens in a criminal's mind, with their desire to get what they want and how they approach each decision, a thought provoking ideology that at frequent moments will chill you to the bone.

Dermot Mulroney (About Schmidt) gives a good performance and provides some healthy humour to the film and is one of his finest onscreen performances.

With the lack of action, the film can lack at points, but the concept and the unknown identity of the criminal will keep you hooked, not to mention the shadow the serial killer casts over the central character Hudson.

The narrative is helped along by two particular good lead performances from Weaver and Holly Hunter (The Piano) and having two central female leads is a rare and wonderful thing in the crime genre, and both do justice as the psychologist and detective respectively.

The settings are well established, really diving deep into the mind of past serial killers and putting them into current society, which was shocking.

Copycat is an entertaining crime thriller, different from others in its genre and with two really good leads to captivate the mood and tension of the narrative

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful, gripping thriller, 22 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Copycat [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
A powerful gripping thriller based on an actual event that happened many years ago. Involving a serial killer stalking and strangling his victims, two cops and a psychologist who tries to track him down before he claims more lives with his demonic style execution. Ironically the psychologist happens to be on his very list of victims he kills for fun, thrill and power. Fortunately the psychologist, Dr. Helen Hudson, has an amazing ability to predict when a crime will take place, and the gruelsome outcome before it happens. She also has an obstacle against her in a form of terrifying phobias and panic attacks which could threaten to wreck havoc on her crime fighting skills, putting her life and others involved in danger as well. Incredible acting and drama that is so convincing that you have to see it to believe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and unusual film, 28 Mar 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Copycat [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Copycat [DVD] [1996]

Copycat is an unusual combination of a psychological drama and a horror movie.

Sigourney Weaver is the traumatised Helen Hudson a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers and now confined to her apartment as an agoraphobic after a particularly vicious attempt on her life.

Detective M J Monahan (Holly Hunter) unexpectedly receives a call from Hudson identifying a particularly nasty murder she is investigating as the work of a serial killer.

It soon emerges the serial killer is replicating the methods of infamous killers making tracing him more difficult.

This is an excellent film, well scripted with outstanding performances from Weaver and Hunter, with exactly the right mix of drama and horror.

An unusual film that succeeds brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review of US Import, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As my title suggests this is a review of the US Import Blu-ray release.
First, and most importantly, for UK buyers....this disc is REGION FREE!!! My region-locked player plays it fine. It's from Warner Bros. who do not region lock their blu-rays.
There are lots of review for the actual film, so in this review I'm only going to focus on the blu-ray release.

The biggest question: Is this worth replacing on Blu-ray. Answer: YES!!
The picture on my DVD is awful, and, while the image on the blu-ray isn't perfect all the time it gets damned close. There is some graininess to the image; but, in my opinion, this film benefits from this atmospherically. Colours are bright and vivid and the blacks are deep. The film continues in this vein throughout with only a few scenes showing grain or soft focus issues.
Overall, if you're a fan this is a must-own and I'm very please I bought it.

If I'm honest, I would have liked more extras. A behind-the-scenes documentary would have been excellent (I'm not a fan of commentaries). But, nonetheless, this is a decent release to blu-ray for this excellent thriller.

Technical Specs:
2.40.1 Widescreen.
Audio: English DTS-HD Master 5.1, German, Spanish and French DD 5.1, Portuguese Mono and a Dolby Surround Commentary.
Subtitles: Dutch, English, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish.
Extras: Commentary and trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Nov 2003
This review is from: Copycat [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
I watched 'Copycat' on BBC 3 a couple of weeks ago with my 13 year old brother, and we both agree that it an excellent thriller movie. I think that it is ok for under 18's but it does have some 'adult' scenes (I covered my brother's eyes). This is an brilliant film, and i would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good story, good actors, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copycat [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
good story , good actors , well paced and i really enjoy watching it ... i would have given it 5 stars but i feel something is missing and i can't quite put my finger on it ... maybe there is a lack of menace or horror or the lead female detective is poorly cast or slightly rushed dialogue , i don't know .
good film just slightly lacking in areas preventing it becoming a classic.

dvd quality is average for a film it's age and the surround sound fails to impress but this doesn't ruin the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Copycat [DVD] [1995]
Copycat [DVD] [1995] by Jon Amiel (DVD - 1999)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews