Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those things on the end of pencils
The 2-year gap between True Lies and Eraser forced some action fans into thinking that Big Arn had retired. He had delivered at least one action movie per year since Terminator. Eraser had an awesome trailer, to the tune of Enigma's wonderful "I Love You, I'll Kill You", that rocked my world in the summer of 1996. I saw virtually every blockbuster that year, and the...
Published on 7 May 2012 by Inspector Gadget

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, ruined by BBFC
This is a great movie but the UK version has just under FOUR minutes cut from it. This is frankly obscene and any Arnie fan should forgo the R2 version and shop in the US. The US version is violent to the brink of sadism, yet the UK release barely deserves its 15 certificate.
Published on 30 Dec. 2003 by Ben Christiansen


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wall-to-wall action.Arnold is in prime form.Williams is beautiful eye candy, 27 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
What director Charles Russell ("The Mask") and co-writers Walon Green ("RoboCop 2") and Tony Puryear do right is supply the kind of non-stop action and laconic one-liners we live for in Arnold movies. Caan's character is great, Robert Pastorelli's ex-wiseguy is enlisted to help and provide a little stereotype comic relief and Arnold makes a mid-air exit from an airplane that makes for one groovy action sequence. Second-rate Arnold, but entertainingly over-the-top. a minor addition to the Schwarzenegger oeuvre.Schwarzenegger delivers big action, big stunts and high-tech suspense.The best Arnold movies are the ones with a properly winning co-star. "Eraser" sports three, including Vanessa L. Williams as the chief damsel in distress. Williams is beautiful eye candy, and although her character has very little character development, this is all right. After all, this is an Arnold picture, not "Citizen Kane."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not classic Arnie, bute good Arnie, 10 Aug. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
To enjoy Eraser you must...

1. Already like Schwarzenegger and his films

2. Suspend your disbelief

3. Have popcorn and nibbles on hand while you watch

4. Find a comfy chair

5. Enjoy the ride

If you can do that, you'll find that your two hours spent in front of the TV will not be wasted.

Simple as that. Some people called Eraser `Arnie's last great action film' (not including Terminator 3). That it may be. He got old. He went into politics. Action heroes became younger, better-looking and the stunts they participated in more elaborate and dangerous.

So maybe Eraser is Arnie's `swansong?' Maybe not. I hear he's gearing up to do some `post-politics' acting. If so, following in Eraser's footsteps would not be that badder place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arnies best film for years, hobbled ruinously by the berks at the bbfc. Still watchable but buy region 1 for full uncut glory., 21 May 2014
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
A 15? Really? Wasn't this an 18 in theatres? Anyway the big man here rocks this show and he's ably backed up by a spunky Vanessa Williams. Some genuinely thrilling action set pieces and some stunning explosions fuels this extravaganza. Highly recommended to all and any action junkies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncut US release; I like!!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the UK Region 2 version a few years ago, and was very disappointed that they've trimmed it. I read some of the reviews for this film, and they were saying get the US Region 1 disc, then you'll get the full Monty. So I did, and was well pleased. Uncut, how it was meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Arnie film- from a fan of his 80's work., 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Wow what can I say about this movie. I am a huge Arnie fan, only really his 80's stuff and including T2 and Total Recall.

I really lost faith in the big man after doing such movies like Kindergarten Cop, Junior, Jingle Bells....

This meant that I only actually saw Eraser this year, 15 years after release.
I had just got disillusionhed by how Hollywood had forgotten to make an old fashioned back to the walls no brainer but with good script characters movie.

So I finally gave Eraser a chance, and what can I say I loved it.
It fits perfectly into any Arnie top 10 list.
The action is thick and fast with a good plot.

My only problems with the movie were the jump out of the plane scene. Yes I know it's obviously not real, but this looked very fake.
The other scene is the crocodile attacking Arnie. Again CGI crap- and looks so fake it's almost laughable.

Apart from that the movie is very OTT, but for an Arnie film to work the bad guys need to be the real actors here, and we have this in abundence. James Caan anyone.

This was a very very enjoyable movie, and I really was quite surprised.
One more note, many people are saying that the UK version is cut, so its best to get the Region 1; However having both viewed I can honestly say you cannot really notice the cuts too much. However I am completely against censorship, so go for Region 1 if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting Schwarzenegger thriller, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
U.S. Marshal John `Eraser' Kruger (Arnold Schwarzenegger) rescues Johnny Casteleone (Robert Pastorelli) and his wife from execution by the Mob. Kruger works for the Federal Witness Protection Program (WitSec). His next assignment is to protect Lee Cullen (Vanessa L. Williams), a senior executive at a firm (Cyrex) that manufactures equipment for the military. Cullen discovers that her company is planning to sell sophisticated equipment to Russia, so copies her evidence onto computer discs to give to the FBI. The man giving Kruger his assignments is Chief Arthur Beller (James Coburn) but his immediate superior in the field is U.S. Marshal Robert DeGuerin (James Caan). Cullen's boss at Cyrex is William Donohoe (James Cromwell), who is happy to sell arms to the highest bidder, though his role in the film is short-lived. As might be expected, there's some sophisticated weaponry in use her on both sides. As a security measure, Cullen copies the disc and gets in touch with a reporter on the Washington Herald, Claire Isaacs (Roma Maffia). Leading the search for Cullen in order to eliminate her is the Under-Secretary for Defense, Daniel Harper (Andy Romano). An added complication is that there is a `mole' or two within WitSec who is eliminating the very witnesses they are supposed to be protecting. This is an exciting thriller with plenty of Arnie action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..THE IMPORT VERSION IS THE BEST..", 3 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eraser is one of last great action movies that Schwarzenegger ever made that was actually good, good story packed with thrills and plenty of violence!! The rest of the supporting cast is great too, Arnie even takes on crocodiles at the zoo, if youre a big fan of Schwarzenegger then this wont disappoint. This U.S version runs for the full 115 minutes too and is uncut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arnies back, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
recommend this product to anyone who's into action films. Great action scenes and the us import version has longer scenes with more action that's been removed from the English release. The story line makes this a marvelous action film with some comedy elements thrown in that fit together very well, shame Arnie didn't make a sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars He will erase your past to protect your future, 2 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
As usual, Arnie exceeds himself in terms of his own sheer stupidity. He can't act, can't speak English and certainly hasn't retained any of the brute strength on show in his earlier movies. But Eraser was, along with many of Schwarzenegger's later movies, strangely enjoyable despite the abundance of flaws. The SFX were appalling and Arnie cut back on his "humorous" puns (the best one here was when he shot a crocodile and proclaimed, "You're luggage!"), but he has always held his own in his movies, probably because of his sheer size. If you're looking for a plausible action movie, then this isn't for you. If, however, you like the clichéd way in which Arnie emerges from every explosion he undergoes wielding two turbo machine guns and yelling, "I'll be back" in his distinctive Austrian accent, you'd love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun Film Bit Cheesy in Places, 7 Aug. 2007
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Hurray for a thoroughly enjoyable movie, I forgot how much I enjoyed this film. Great story about a witness protection marshal played by Arnie and a corrupt Marshal played by James Caan. Vanessa Williams although the damsel in distress does pack a punch too.

There is so much action in this right from the word go and it blends aircraft punch ups, shoot em ups, alligator wrestling, explosions and just way over the top action perfectly.

The cast is great too with James Coburn and that guy from LA Confidential and the Generals Daughter.

The humor is spot on and just is a great old fashion fun film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eraser [1996] [DVD]
Eraser [1996] [DVD] by Chuck Russell (DVD - 1999)
£10.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews