Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those things on the end of pencils
The 2-year gap between True Lies and Eraser forced some action fans into thinking that Big Arn had retired. He had delivered at least one action movie per year since Terminator. Eraser had an awesome trailer, to the tune of Enigma's wonderful "I Love You, I'll Kill You", that rocked my world in the summer of 1996. I saw virtually every blockbuster that year, and the...
Published on 7 May 2012 by Inspector Gadget

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, ruined by BBFC
This is a great movie but the UK version has just under FOUR minutes cut from it. This is frankly obscene and any Arnie fan should forgo the R2 version and shop in the US. The US version is violent to the brink of sadism, yet the UK release barely deserves its 15 certificate.
Published on 30 Dec. 2003 by Ben Christiansen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, ruined by BBFC, 30 Dec. 2003
This is a great movie but the UK version has just under FOUR minutes cut from it. This is frankly obscene and any Arnie fan should forgo the R2 version and shop in the US. The US version is violent to the brink of sadism, yet the UK release barely deserves its 15 certificate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Ghost of its Former Self, 19 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Don't be fooled. I saw this and bought it, having fond memories of the action, explosions, big guns and cliches. The film itself is great, everything you'd expect from an Arnie blockbuster, but you don't get to see it all. What you're buying here is a heavily cut UK 15 certificate version of the film. I saw more of the action scenes last time it came onto the TV.
The running time for this version of the movie is 107 minutes. If you check on Amazon.com at the USA version, you'll find its 115 minutes.
Shouldn't there be a warning, something to say that, actually, what you're buying is only 93% of the film you thought you were buying?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those things on the end of pencils, 7 May 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The 2-year gap between True Lies and Eraser forced some action fans into thinking that Big Arn had retired. He had delivered at least one action movie per year since Terminator. Eraser had an awesome trailer, to the tune of Enigma's wonderful "I Love You, I'll Kill You", that rocked my world in the summer of 1996. I saw virtually every blockbuster that year, and the Eraser trailer was attached to every one of them. It came out out in the UK in the very last week of summer (and my first week back at school). I saw it at the now demolished UCI cinema in Edinburgh with a sold-out audience, mostly filled with guys out for a "lad's night". The movie was rated 18, and even though I was 3 years below that mark, I still got in, which was fortunate since the cinema version is the only uncut version of the film that has ever been released in the UK. For its VHS and DVD release the mad BBFC saw fit to cut 4 minutes from Eraser, turning it into an incomprehensible mess. It capped-off an awesome summer season (or so my 15-year-old self thought), and put to rest any fears that Big Arn was slowing down (although he has only made 5 action movies, to date, since then).

Arn is John Kruger (an amusing choice of name since director Chuck Russell also made the 3rd Nightmare on Elm Street Movie), a Witness Protection Program Agent who is tasked with 'erasing' and protecting a high-level informant who can prove that there are traitors within the US government who are selling weapons to Russian terrorists. Naturally the informant is the lovely, and wide-eyed, Vanessa Williams, who involves herself in a subdued romantic subplot with Kruger. James Caan and the always great James Coburn provide respectable support as Kruger's antagonist and mentor, but the best support is no doubt Robert Pastorelli (an actor who I really liked who died of a heroin overdose in 2004), who plays a previous witness who is eager to please Kruger in his latest, impossible quest.

Overall, it's hardly revolutionary, but what makes Eraser stand out from the crowd is the utterly breathtaking (literally) scene in which Kruger escapes a jet, mid-flight, without the comfort of a parachute on his shoulders. It's definitely one of the best action scenes in the last 20 years and, let me tell you, when that scene climaxed in the cinema, the packed audience of 'lads' totally sucked the air out of the auditorium. A massively exciting, and completely exhilarating, scene that never fails to get your heart racing.

Alan Silvestri's score is one of the film's more underrated features. Silvestri scored Big Arn's Predator, a famous score in its own right, and while Eraser is not as famous as Predator you should not rule out the integrity of the score. When separated from the movie it is still one of Silvestri's best efforts.

I guess the only complaint I could have about Eraser is that it's kinda anti-climatic. The best scene occurs at the end of the second act, leaving the final act pale in comparison. There's no iconic imagery to the film and it seems kinda forgettable when compared to other Arn characters who have endured the test of time. Nonetheless, it's at the top of the bottom of Arn's best movies, but make sure the version you watch has not been butchered by the BBFC.

The Blu Ray is in 2.40:1 1080p with Dolby TrueHD sound. Extras are non-existent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eraser (Blu-ray version), 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Director Chuck Russell delivers 1990's action hero Arnold Schwarzenegger in this 1996 action which was released on Blu-Ray in 2008. This follows the usual plot for a film of this vintage in fact for a Schwarzenegger vehicle the violence has been toned down from his previous outings but there is enough here for the fans to enjoy and the get their teeth into as U.S. Marshal John Kruger played by Arnold Schwarzenegger "erases" people's old lives so they can enter the Witness Protection Program.

The up-grade from DVD to Blu-ray is worth it as long as you can get the disc cheap enough and the Blu-ray is the full un-cut version of the movie 115 minutes not the cut version that appeared on the DVD.

This region free 25GB disc is encoded using the VC-1 codec which is in full 1080p resolution the aspect ratio has been changed from the original 2.39.1 to 2.40.1 this has da no affect on the picture quality at all, the soundtrack has not been up-graded to English Dolby TrueHD 5.1 there also English, French and Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtracks as well along with French, Spanish, Chinese, Danish, Finnish, German, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese and Swedish subtitles there also English subtitles for the hard of hearing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EXTREME WARNING, 21 Dec. 2008
By 
T. M. Small "trevorus Khan" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Although the film is not cropped, unlike "True Lies" this version, unlike the other has had 8 MINUTES cut from it.

Wish i'd bought the longer version, but why have 2 of them, 1 cut & 1 uncut with no indication of this on either of them.

NB the order number for the 115 mins uncut version is B00004RYLP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why cut, 16 Jun. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I have not seen the R1 version of this film, but I do not understand why the version released in England has to be cut as the previous viewer says this one is. I noticed that Commando, another great Arnie film, has been cut. The scene on the plane where Col. John Matrix (Arnie) breaks his minders neck is cut and yet is included when shown on tv.Ridiculous! Perhaps its because the studio wants to sell to kids. If thats the case then why not release 2 versions, a 15and an 18?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncut & Region Free!, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
Cb1306 "CJB" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If like me you are a fan of this film DO NOT buy the Region 2 version. I saw this at the cinema on release (where it was an 18 certificate) and loved it. I waited with baited breath for the video release (back in 1996) and to my horror it was heavily cut (by a staggering 3m 22s) to achieve a 15 certificate.
The torture scene at the beginning, the scene at the witnesses cabin, the zoo scene and a few more were all ruined by obvious cuts that ruined the movie completely.
Its long been a gripe of mine that films are cut after their cinema release but thanks to the wonder of region free Blu Ray i have managed to buy this as well as Face Off, Under Siege 1 & 2 & The Matrix (all of which are cut on R2) as they were intended to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 13 April 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Even with the cuts this isn't a bad Arnie vehicle. As a US marshall specialising on witness relocation Arnie (John Kruger) is brought in to hide a company exec turned FBI whistleblower who has uncovered some dodgy dealings at the arms firm where she works. The movie dishes up all you would expect in terms of action and firefights and Williams is a particularly well drawn and sympathetic character rather than a lazy love interest. Arnie almost does some proper acting in this. This isn't an explosion extravaganza but there are a couple of particularly satisfying set pieces, an escape from an aircraft is quite tense and a crocodile infested shootout at the zoo is pretty cool althought the CGI isn't great at times. The ending delivers plenty of action alongside some high tech weaponry. You can compare various versions over at movie-censorship.com where it does a scene by scene compairson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review Is for Uncut Region 2 From Amazon France, BBFC Treat UK Like Imbeciles., 2 Oct. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I seen this in 1996 at cinema & was rated 18 then hired the video( Remember them it was BD, Before DVD), its rating changed to a 15 & the BBFC did a Jason Voorhees on this & butchered the movie.

Neckbreak with fridge, Shot fired from Shotgun impact scene missing, Shootout scenes cut & the worst cut of all the Train crashing in the limo at the end wtf???
NOW!, The weird thing is Lethal Weapon 4 has a similar scene with train crashing into a car the movies a 15 rating & the BBFC didn't cut that scene in that movie although they cut loads from the fight scenes, View my Lethal Weapon dvd review.

Eraser Uncut is a great return to form Arnie plays John Kruger a agent whom erases your existence placing you in witness protection with a new identity, Of course a worker for a company that manufacturers Weapons is dealing with Russian Gunrunners.

When Lee a worker there trys helping the CIA by getting evidence as proof she's caught brought to her boss whom shoots himself trying to frame her for his then murder but she manages to get away she is targeted to be killed so the company heads smuggling the weapons wont be brought to justice.

So its Arnie character John Kruger to the rescue rescuing Lee & placing her in Witness protection.

Arnie finds out that one of his bosses & friend is also involved in the weapon smuggling & Arnie is targeted to be erased along with Lee.

The action is typically Arnie, The HUGE GUNS, The one liners, "Your Luggage", Big epic action scenes it's you typical Schwarzenegger Action movie.

Some of the action scenes using CGI like the Airplane seem a bit to much but this is a minor niggle.

But what isn't acceptable is how the UK viewer's are treated appallingly by the BBFC do they think of us as Imbeciles or something, That we cant separate fantasy from reality?

When you purchase a product like a action film it's by choice & shouldn't be subject to some small minded band of do gooders censoring scenes, You chose the product all the BBFC should do is issue guidelines on content, Yes I agree keeping the rating system but as a precautionary measure to stop kiddies purchasing violent of graphic images, Not censoring scenes for a mature audience.

Final thought of this Movie a decent Arnie action film it's not his best action movie but it's not his worst either, But purchase the uncut version from Amazon France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not classic Arnie, bute good Arnie, 10 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Eraser [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
To enjoy Eraser you must...

1. Already like Schwarzenegger and his films

2. Suspend your disbelief

3. Have popcorn and nibbles on hand while you watch

4. Find a comfy chair

5. Enjoy the ride

If you can do that, you'll find that your two hours spent in front of the TV will not be wasted.

Simple as that. Some people called Eraser `Arnie's last great action film' (not including Terminator 3). That it may be. He got old. He went into politics. Action heroes became younger, better-looking and the stunts they participated in more elaborate and dangerous.

So maybe Eraser is Arnie's `swansong?' Maybe not. I hear he's gearing up to do some `post-politics' acting. If so, following in Eraser's footsteps would not be that badder place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eraser [1996] [DVD]
Eraser [1996] [DVD] by Chuck Russell (DVD - 1999)
£13.99
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews