Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco Divas Dance the nights away.....
I think this is a very undervalued and under-rated film. It's about two publishing assistants in the early 80s and how they fare at work, at home (they live together), in love and when they go out - to The Club. And they go out a lot!

I challenge any woman who watches this film not to see something that rings true from your late teens/early twenties - the...
Published on 24 July 2006 by J. Watson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dutch cover
The DVD plays fine but the text on the case is all in Dutch which I wasn't made aware of before purchasing. As this was bought as a gift I found it embarrassing to pass on.
Published 10 months ago by Natalie Parrett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco Divas Dance the nights away....., 24 July 2006
By 
J. Watson (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this is a very undervalued and under-rated film. It's about two publishing assistants in the early 80s and how they fare at work, at home (they live together), in love and when they go out - to The Club. And they go out a lot!

I challenge any woman who watches this film not to see something that rings true from your late teens/early twenties - the girlfriend who has their sights on your man, the backstabber at work, the nightmare flatmate, the men that you can't help being attracted to even though you know they're no good! Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boogie Nights That Really Hold The Floor., 30 May 2013
This review is from: Last Days of Disco (DVD)
Completing director Whit Stillman's 90s trio of urban comedy-dramas that began with excellent 'Metropolitan' in 1990, followed by Barcelona four years after, this utterly delicious shining strobe of a movie is my utter favourite of his trio, and one of the best movies of 1998 full stop. Far more satisfying and deeper than the overrated 'Boogie Nights' and the feather-light shallow fluff of 'Studio 54'-itself out scarily near to this one's release schedule, 'Last Days' is loosely based around disco's steep descent to doom, an idea Stillman conceived during the disco scenes shot on 'Barcelona'. And his film triumphantly nails the look, feel and atmosphere of early 80s Manhattan whilst his recognisably fizzing dialogue continues to display all the insight, tact and sharp wit one associates with him. Even more impressive is how his also recognisable bougeois, preppy and yuppie characters relate all this interaction without it ever feeling contrived or utterly out of place. Suffused with great performances and what could be the ultimate disco soundtrack, this is 110 minutes to utterly cherish, and a terrible shame it's become almost forgotten among all the mire out there. High time this was righted, even now Kate Beckinsale's become a big star. Ironically it remains by far her best film, along with 'Laurel Canyon', as now she's "made it", her taste and quality dived just like Reese Witherspoon's did.

Chole Sevigny plays "nice" in a marvellously understated role you really take to your heart, she is just so sweet, vulnerable, and you'd so want to be her friend. Shudder, shiver and gasp then, at the utter bitchery and bile her so-called friend Charlotte (Beckinsale) displays to her and at her on their regular nightclubbing basis, a half escape from the supposed mundanity of their day jobs as book editors. She saves enough spikes for all, firing randomly at the male characters at will. The flamboyant disco backdrop colourfully sets the background as they and the Ivy League boys (perfectly judged performances from handsome and adept twentysomething actors Mackenzie Astin, Matt Keeslar and Robert Sean Leonard) interconnect, with club wide-boy Des (Stillman regular Chris Eigeman-and kudos to Stillman for his loyalty in fending off choices like Ben Affleck-what a thought!-and insisting on Chris) flitting about between them, whilst having the actual termity to routinely dump girls like 'Flashdance' empress Jennifer Beals, making a beautiful cameo, with lies once he's lost interest, and stashing away drugs in the club, much to the contentment of the oily owner, played by Cyndi Lauper's hubby David Thornton.

Winona Ryder missed out on Chloe's roll, due to the film editor preferring her instead, and I wholeheartedly agree, while Beckinsale actively mailed Stillman her audition tape, sporting such a perfect American accent that back then some used to think there was both a US and UK girl by that nane! She also lights up the dancefloor display, a show that balances out some of her character's nastier moments. Tara Subkoff is on fine form as a good friend who moves in with the girls, and Matthew Ross, who works with the girls and wants to frequent the disco. 'NCSI' fans will notice Detective Dinozzo stud Michael Weatherly in a small role, and Drew Barrymore's mother turns up in a few sequences!

As in the best of dramas, a wonderful lightness of touch keeps things from being too heavy, and those unused to his style may whinge at the apparent "all talk not action" but that misses the point, in a Stillman drama, the talk IS the action, and there is no stagnation about any verabl exchanges on offer, and plenty of drama happening all about, yet if nothing else, just soak up that musical energy. There are many talky overrated banalities out there like 'The Ice Storm' that pretend to deal with real issues, but 'The Last Days Of Disco' has enough flurries of suitable heaviness, as sexual diseases, street bashings and drugs raid all flow through the mix.

What I'm left with is a fabulously feel-good glow whenever I watch this, and so wish I was there among these sparkling characters and a place in time when, briefly, anything went, and I don't even like disco! But I love good movies, and whether disco died or not, this deserves to endure forever, and not just for being Beckinsale's best ever piece, though I do highly recommend 'Laurel Canyon' too. Given an unfairly small release by Image Entertainment in 1998, despite unique and deserved critical acclaim, it fell out of print around ten years later, commanding high prices online, though it only had its trailer in the way of an extra, but has now been given a release on the esteemed Criterion Collection, restored to Whitman's approval, with a fair few extras, and an arty new cover ('Metropolitan' received this treatment a few years earlier), but it is sadly very pricey, yetI pray for its swift descent, as I'd really want this far better package, but until then "this will survive". For disco lovers, the soundtrack is easier to find than the film, a total injustice I just won't boogie with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Put those claws back in Ms Beckinsale!, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Last Days of Disco (DVD)
Wow for such a sweet face that tongue is pretty well sharpened! This script is well crafted with lashings of unlikable characters and dry humour that just goes on and on. You may find yourself quoting it after watching but beware – you’re likely to loose your nice friends when you do.

The 70’s/ 80’s disco backdrop is just fabulous. The soundtrack surely would take up at least 3 discs. Plus the extra’s costumes are sensational, there’s always plenty to watch out for behind the main action. There is some cringeworthy dancing on display and how many of us will realize all over again that making a habit of looking moody in a nightclub is less mysterious and more annoying…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last days of disco, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Last Days of Disco (DVD)
This is one brilliant film, very underrated in my opinion very good music sound track for the era very good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dutch cover, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days of Disco (DVD)
The DVD plays fine but the text on the case is all in Dutch which I wasn't made aware of before purchasing. As this was bought as a gift I found it embarrassing to pass on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days of Disco (DVD)
If a trip down memory lane is needed this disco era is a perfect DVD to sing along with the disco divas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Last Days of Disco (DVD)
This is a great little film with a brilliant ... disco ... soundtrack - which you never hear anyone talking about these days, so not surprised there are no reviews till NOW. And as anyone who knows any of Whit Stillman's work - there is plenty of talking in his films, and plenty of NY references and preppy college kids! Here, he follows a couple of girls in early 1980s New York as they share an undesirable "railroad" apartment in Manhattan - all they can afford as they try to pursue careers in the world of publishing. So far all very low key and a light touch of Muriel Spark's A Far Cry from Kensington time-shifted to 80s NYC. I am desperate to see this again ... as I recall then plot then gets the 2 girls involved in the disco clubbing scene referencing Studio 54 - cue fab soundtrack, various escapades; and an epic final scene to Love Train, taking place on ... the NY subway. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it!, 15 Sep 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Days Of Disco [1998] [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I bought this film thinking it would be another take on the 1980's disco scene, it wasn't!
It follows three girls who work in a boring office and go out to a boring club. There is no excitement, no magic and no wonder. I was watching the counter on the video, waiting for this terrible film to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Days Of Disco [1998] [VHS]
The Last Days Of Disco [1998] [VHS] by Whit Stillman (VHS Tape - 1999)
Used & New from: £4.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews