Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly epic movie...
Now don't start on me. I know it's Disney. I know the version with Oliver Reed is the definitive one. Don't start on me, until you have watched this movie, because this movie...? This movie is epic. For real.

You've got young Chris O'Donnell with the worst hair in the world getting his shirt off at every opportunity. You've got Charlie Sheen in tight breeches...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by C. Ball

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!! Movie SPLIT over two sides!!
Although this movie is short enough to have been in it's entirety on ONE side; it has been SPLIT in half and you have to flip the disc over to view the whole movie.

The ONLY advantage this DVD has over the US/Canada version (which is in it's entirety on ONE side) is that this DVD is Anamorphic Widescreen (whereas the US/Canada version is NON-Anamorphic...
Published on 23 Oct 2008 by Alan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!! Movie SPLIT over two sides!!, 23 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Although this movie is short enough to have been in it's entirety on ONE side; it has been SPLIT in half and you have to flip the disc over to view the whole movie.

The ONLY advantage this DVD has over the US/Canada version (which is in it's entirety on ONE side) is that this DVD is Anamorphic Widescreen (whereas the US/Canada version is NON-Anamorphic Widescreen).

Buyer be aware!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly epic movie..., 22 Mar 2010
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Now don't start on me. I know it's Disney. I know the version with Oliver Reed is the definitive one. Don't start on me, until you have watched this movie, because this movie...? This movie is epic. For real.

You've got young Chris O'Donnell with the worst hair in the world getting his shirt off at every opportunity. You've got Charlie Sheen in tight breeches with a Tony Stark 'tache; Keifer Sutherland getting it on with his manpain and woe; Oliver Platt being awesome and getting all the best lines. And that's not including Tim Curry stealing the entire movie and chewing the scenery like the old British pro he is, Paul McGann as the shrillest redhead in the world and Hugh O'Conor as the cutest ickle King Louis you will ever meet.

This movie has got it all. Hell, this movie is so awesome its theme song is performed by Bryan Adams, Rod Stewart and Sting. Oh yeah. Not just one of 'em, not even two, but all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let me explain..., 10 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I had watched this movie in the cinema when i was 13 years old, then about 6 years later and then again a while ago. Every time I enjoyed it as much for different reasons, the latest being Tim Curry's performance. He makes for one of the most entertaining larger than life characters i've ever seen.

It's NOT a serious adaptation. For that please go to the earlier movies - certainly not the one that came out this year!!! Imagine an animated movie, but with real actors. There's either a comical undertone or tightly written action scenes alternating very quickly and lasting only just enough for the viewer not to get bored. Then you have the larger than life villain, the hero and his sidekicks (since they are given an angle and stay that way that's how they are treated) and the final battle where every character is beating up villains in his own way, just like a Disney animated movie.

If it's not obvious the suggested audience would be people in touch with their childish side. Yes, i too have watched films from Zulaswki, Shinoda, Riefenstahl, et al and loved them :-) , but i can appreciate this for its own merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All For Love, 28 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Easy watching, interesting & amusing. Turning the disc over half way through didn't bother me in the slightest.
I love the ending, and the soundtrack is amazing. Actually i'm going to make myself a coffee and watch it right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a funny charming film, 14 May 2013
By 
Ms Amy E. Robinson "VGRockBookfan" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
A perfect mix of adventure and comedy (Oliver Platt) based on the story of Alexander Dumas Novel. Tim Curry is fantastic as the Red Cardinal (but he is always good as the bad guy). Oliver Platt steals the scenes with his comedy and one liners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing but not true to the book., 4 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I enjoyed the film, and D'Artagnan was rather pretty, but the film has not stuck to the spirit of the book and as with most book-to-film adaptions, it loses the bulk of the humour, excitement, and strength of the characters in translation. Milady had a weak part and did not seem evil, none of the musketeers were particularly developed, and D'artagnan did not have the same fire ands rashness of the book.

On its own it was alright, but it could have been so much better had it stuck a little closer to the classic story. If you haven't read the book and are looking for a safe movie for kids then this fits the bill. If you're looking for the true story of the three musketeers then this is not the movie version to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved by whole family, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
All of our family love this DVD. The humour appeals to all age groups. My son will practice his swashbuckling moves after watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One for all and all for one, Muskehounds are always ready., 4 April 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
OK, this isn't actually the fab cartoon series Dogtanian and the Three Muskehounds, but Stephen Herek's Disney film is basically a live action cartoon.

Starring Charlie Sheen, Kiefer Sutherland, Chris O'Donnell and Oliver Platt as Aramis-Athos-D'Artagnan and Porthos respectively, story is a fictional load of guff involving Tim Curry's evil Cardinal Richelieu trying to usurp Hugh O'Conor's King Louis XIII of France. Enter the last remaining Musketeers, sworn to serve their King, who after being joined by D'Artagnan set about foiling dastardly plans whilst admiring heaving bosoms.

There's a couple of half decent sword fighting scenes, the photography (Dean Semler) and costuming is first rate, and undeniably there's a sense of fun about the whole thing; even if some of it is not intentional. But it's a pretty flat experience as valid entertainment, almost every casting decision is wrong, with O'Donnell and Sheen ridiculous beyond belief, the plot is wafer thin, the dialogue awful and the running time is padded out with music that hinders rather than enhances the pic. Michael Wincott (Captain Rochefort) and Rebecca De Mornay's (Milady De Winter/Sabine) breasts come out of the production in credit, but really you should seek out the Muskehounds as a better alternative for cartoon swordery. 4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Strange that money-grabbing Disney have never bothered to issue a good (one-sided) DVD of this film. No point moaning that a film isn't like the book - few are. O'Donnell made a pretty D'Artagnan - love the cute hair, Chris - and took off his shirt to give us a brief thrill, the older pros do well, and it's colourful and entertaining. I'd pay a bit more for a proper DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The 3 Musketeers, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I love this movie and would have given it a 5* rating had it not been for the fact the movie is in 2 parts (1st half of the movie on side A of the disc and the 2nd part on side B!) - not ideal when you're sitting down to enjoy the movie and have to get up and turn the disc over to watch the 2nd half! The other negative was that it took AGES to be dispatched and ultimately received. Would be hesitant about buying from this seller in future due to these 2 points. Otherwise, great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994]
The Three Musketeers [DVD] [1994] by Stephen Herek (DVD - 2001)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews