Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Get off the nuclear warhead!"
This is a film never gets old and one you can always enjoy.

A very heart warming story and great enviroments.
Published on 26 Oct 2012 by Steve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
GOOD FILM
Published 5 months ago by gibson


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Get off the nuclear warhead!", 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film never gets old and one you can always enjoy.

A very heart warming story and great enviroments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddon outta here, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armageddon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
NASA discovers a huge meteor simmilar to the one that wiped out the dinosaurs is heading to Earth. Coming up with a plan they recruit a team of oilrig workers to land on the meteor and blow it up before it reaches Earth and destroys all life on the planet. One of director Michael Bay's early films, this is a cheesy, ridiculous film that you can't take seriously for a second yet also a lot of fun with Bruce Willis in good form and a good supporting cast including Ben Affleck, Liv Tyler, Steve Buscemi, Billy Bob Thornton, Michael Clarke Duncan, Owen Wilson and Will Patton all playing it completely tongue in cheek. Spectacular action and effects and looks stunning on bluray too. One of Michael Bay's best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "So kiss me and smile for me", 22 Feb 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you'll wait for me
Hold me like you'll never let me go"
Leaving On A Jet Plane Lyrics - John Denver

Once again the world is threatened by Armageddon. A dangerous asteroid, it is heading straight for Earth. Our only hope will be to send a team of roughneck drillers to dig a hole big enough to place a bomb and shatter the meteor.

This movie is lots of fun on many levels. It is a parody of disaster movies; however the characters don't know that they are parody and play it straight. This allows us to have fun without having to listen to a bunch of campy over-the-top one-liners that don't match the movie. It's a father daughter story; and of all things the father would have to be Bruce Willis who brings his killer formula to the story and fits his part perfectly. The daughter played by Liv Tyler (before her The Lord of the Rings fame) adds a great catalyst to the story. The rest of the team is rounded off by contemporary actors of which you will recognize immediately.

The graphics and action both explosive and human will hold you to the end.

This movie is worth watching over again so you can see the nuances that were missed the first time through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flipping awesome!, 6 Dec 2014
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, I don't even know where to start. My friends and family raved about this for years and for some reason, it's only been recently that I have actually sat down and watched it and boy oh boy was I impressed. Now I know what all the fuss has been about. Literally one of the best action movies I have ever seen. Wonderfully directed by Michael Bay. There is so much excitement in this movie from beginning to end that you don't have a chance to get bored, in my opinion, how an action movie should be, leaving you on the edge of your seat.

I won't give the storyline away for those who haven't seen it, it's pretty straight forward as you can probably tell from the name of the movie "Armageddon" Not that unrealistic either, which is also rare compared to most disaster movies. This really could happen one day. Unlikely, but could. Bruce Willis is fantastic, as is a very young Ben Affleck! If you haven't seen this, you really need to check it out and have it in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'BRUCE' WILL SURELY SAVE THE DAY', 9 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Armageddon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I, as i'm sure apply's to many of you, just love these apocalyptic type movies with bucket loads of special-effects.
The story tells of a giant 'Asteroid' hurtling toward earth with little over a couple of weeks before impact, a 'team' are gathered together, put through a 'crash' course training regime to enable them to travel into space ,along with an experienced crew, land on the Asteroid shifting through space at 22,000 m.p.h., drill a '800 ft deep hole then plant the 'Nuclear Bomb' to separate the Asteroid, then...try to escape before detonation........not a huge task ?
'Bruce Willis' leads the cast list as 'Harry Stamper' - 'Liv Tyler' plays his daughter 'Grace' 'Ben Affleck' plays 'Grace's' suitor and
fellow 'driller' and mission companion to 'Harry'
This is an exciting and tense roller-coaster ride, maybe a bit 'gun-ho' as many of this type of films are, but putting that aside...it's great fun......'great 'Blu-ray' material.
Both picture and Sound quality - very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With my tongue FIRMLY in my cheek...., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
With this movie (rather than, as you may have thought, "Jurassic Park"), the BIG KID/POPCORN movie came of age. Oh, all right then, if you must, "Raiders" set a bar, but this movie went over it and never stopped. Kind of odd, considering that Bruce Willis also changed the Bond franchise forever with "Die Hard", but I digress...

Nasty big asteroid heading for Earth, big bunch of muscly oil men knowing how to drill explosives, CGI pouring off the screen, discreet love interest, relentless action and a script with its tongue firmly you-know-where. OK, so I love classic movies as well, but there is a real place for this real one-size-fits-all movie in the Great Movie Canon. This is the kind of movie that Thomas Magnum would have watched. Or Jeremy Clarkson. Boy stuff. You don't like it? Well there's "Sex and The City 1 &2" out there. Or maybe "Cats & Dogs". You choose. Tell you what, pick them all up, some cans of lager, a bottle of white wine for the ladies and a mountain of popcorn. DVD heaven. What d'ya say??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge film huge characters, hugely entertaining, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
OK, I'm holding back a star. This is tosh. But it's great tosh.

There are so many great bits of fun in this slam bang actioner that it's hard to know what to talk about.

So, in no particular order, the acting from a universally hugely enjoyable cast (if no oscars here):

Billy Bob Thornton-brilliantly quiet and understated.

Bruce Willis- huge fun

Ben Affleck, another enjoyable turn.

Steve Buschemi- humiliating the head-shrinkers and other great scenes

The much-missed Michael Clarke Duncan-as he cuts into the singing of "Leaving on a jet plane" with a voice deep enough to shake out your fillings.

Oh, you could keep on, but for this type of film, the perfromances are perfect.

The medical screening- high order slapstick, and MCD's table dance !

Effects- generally good enough. One bad call, I think we see meteorites from the comet coming in at all angles- well, probably they'd all come from the same place. Aside from that, it wasn't supposed to be realistic, but it's good enough.

The story- well, you know it, but it's well done.

A big film, big entertainment, but fun. Great but not GREAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars leavin on jet plane ....., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
Im on a mission at the moment to buy all my classic fav films and this was one of the first I bought have watched it a million times and could watch it a million more.
the all star cast is just amazing Bruce willis liv tyler and Ben Affleck what more can I say... well not alot or i'd spoil the plot lol a must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Brucie, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armageddon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I liked this film when it first came out and still think it's one of Brucie's best. Even better in Blue-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing film i love it. Its is one of the best films i have ever seen i highly recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Armageddon [DVD] [1998]
Armageddon [DVD] [1998] by Michael Bay (DVD - 2001)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews