Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£17.74+ £2.80 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2001
Kipper and his friends entertain through a collection of wonderful stories that even after the umpteenth viewing still manage to entertain my two and a half year old son and more importantly me! The animation style matches perfectly the gentle style of the stories which make for good viewing at anytime of day. The only complaint my little boy had was that his favourite character, Jake, was not in this collection. 'Hey butterfly, get off my lollipop!' has become a stock phrase in our house. I recommend this video to any parent who is already a fan, or looking for an alternative to the standard childrens cartoons available at the moment. I challenge any grown-up not to be humming the best theme tune in childrens' television within a week.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2002
Gentle,yet humorous, Kipper is a big hit with both my 3-year-old son and 18-month-old daughter. They laugh out loud at the little dog and his friends' exploits. With beautiful animation, and rich, yet comprehendable language, this quirky cartoon has my kids hooked. My son, himself an avid golfer, squeals with delight as the novice Kipper holes his ball in one. He constantly quotes the hapless "Tiger", using language and stuctures hitherto unknown to him, chuckles as Kipper's unexpected guest steals his cornflakes in "Mouse", and adores escaping up a rainbow into the fantasy world of the "Clouds" episode. A fun video to watch with your children (and retell afterwards), as well as a fantastic distraction for when you need to do the housework! The Kipper books, which my children have always loved, have now come alive in this delightful video.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2001
This wonderful video was an instant hit with my 22 month old son who had previously really enjoyed the PINGU series, but obviously needed more in the way of real language. The voice of Martin Clunes provides this excellently, whilst the stories cover subjects that every toddler can relate to. Four five to ten minute long episodes explore the issues of being looked after by a babysitter; why it's good to talk about problems; getting lost and feeling left out. The subjects are broached in an engaging way with the use of suprisingly sophisticated humour that works brilliantly. With wonderful music and other sound effects this video is the perfect choice for those who seek high-quality, stimulating but fun entertainment for children. This will be my son's first Kipper video of many.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2002
My 2.5 year old would watch this every day if he could. Kipper and all his friends introduce various new concepts which he copies into play eg hide and seek, conkers and play acting the whole rocket story. The only problem is that it's impossible to get him to watch only one of the stories and one of his socks is now offically named "sock thing"!!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2001
Had my Daughter glued to Screen from beginning to end.
Must buy for Parents with Young Families
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2009
Each of the short films in this collection has its own appeal - sometimes they even have wildly differing moods. Then, of course, so do the children who want to watch each one. When Kipper spends most of an episode on his own such as in 'The Visitor' there is an entirely different feeling than when he interacts with his friend Tiger.

Of the ones on this tape I find that 'The Seaside' causes the most humour with the youngsters who watch in our household. Tiger is such a know-it-all that it is always amusing when he puts his foot in it. He wants to be so organised that you can be frustrated along with Kipper who just wants a chance to relax and play about on the beach.

There is a touch of a Laurel and Hardy routine when the two dogs set about securing their windbreak with a rather dangerous-looking mallet. Tiger's attempts to blow up his lilo are hilarious and even the everyday disaster of the tide coming in and sweeping him away is turned into sublime comedy when Kipper rides to the rescue.

Kipper's encounter with the Bleepers and the consumption of the wrong end of a lollipop makes these strange aliens appear totally unthreatening. One of them even brings a teddy bear to comfort his companion !

The music so often underlines the tone of each experience as for instance when it mirrors the flight of the butterfly. The contrasting voices of the actors bring to life the characters of the animated creatures in a charming and captivating fashion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2002
Our two years old son has already quite a few Kipper videos, and he loves them all. I think he really enjoyed the new little caracter in "pig's present', and the torch episod, as he just had one given to him for christmas. I love Kipper too, because the english language used is lovely, texts and voices. We live in France and appreciate Kipper videos even more for their humour and tone of voice. I watched this new video with my son from start to end, and I think I enjoyed it as much as he did!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2004
Every day we sit and watch some Kipper before bedtime. My 22 month old sits enchanted and follows the story avidly. He is a great lover of his Kipper books and so enjoys Rocket the best since it is very close to the book. His Dad loves it too - Rocket is his favourite. Everything in our house stops for Kipper after bathtime. The animation is so detailed which makes for interesting adult viewing too. Thoroughly recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
It takes the curmudgeon Tiger to keep the life in this series of Kipper's adventures by the time that you get round to watching them for the umpteenth time. His failure at crazy golf is the highlight of the five stories on this video.

Kipper is universally tolerant and patient in a way that escapes any humour for children who are now growing slightly older.The episode with the mouse now beomes irritating rather than engaging.

Tiger, however, suffers from a cold in way that everyone can recognise. Kipper proves to be kind friend who doesn't like being taken advantage of. Pig and Arnold are certainly the last characters that you would want to see entering into your sick bay.

Pig, who is so often the odd friend out in Kipper's adventures, proves to capable of getting one up on Kipper and Tiger when they land on their pirate island.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
We bought these Mick Inkpen books when our children were very young. They loved the stories being read to them at bedtime and the videos have matched the images of their imagination.

This video made it Christmas every time.

Martin Clunes is an excellent narrator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse