Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longingly Romantic and Human
Nicolas Cage gives a wonderful performance as Seth, an Angel who falls in love and begins to long for the ability to express that love. Seth is an Angel who helps the dead cross over and in some respects this film resembles the 1930's film "Death Takes a Holiday" with Frederick March and Evelyn Veneble.

Meg Ryan is Maggie, the doctor who is the object of Seth's...
Published on 11 Jan 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film but.....
I am a hopeless romantic, and was looking forward to watching this movie for sometime.
The movie starts with a slow but intense pace, gradually building up to something far bigger and better.
Is a deep, meaningful movie taking you to places in your phyche you didn't know existed.
However, just as you are fully engrossed in the movie, the cinematography and...
Published 7 months ago by tracy james


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longingly Romantic and Human, 11 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Nicolas Cage gives a wonderful performance as Seth, an Angel who falls in love and begins to long for the ability to express that love. Seth is an Angel who helps the dead cross over and in some respects this film resembles the 1930's film "Death Takes a Holiday" with Frederick March and Evelyn Veneble.

Meg Ryan is Maggie, the doctor who is the object of Seth's affection. She somehow sences his prescence when trying to save one of her patients and he is touched and bewildered by her. Andre Braugher steals every scene he is in as Seth's fellow Angel and friend. They all hang out at the library and gather every morning at the beach to see the sunrise and hear the singing of heaven. Dennis Franz has a fine turn as a patient in Maggie's hospital who knows Seth is there because he to was once an Angel.
This provides Seth with a way to truly love Maggie if he can find the courage to leave heaven behind, and just, fall.
This is one of the most romantic movies of recent years and has a message about the wonderful things we all take for granted. More than that, it is a story about the importace of love, even one felt for only a moment, for it is that experience which makes us special among all creation.
I will not ruin the last portion of this film if you have not seen it, but as we all know there is a price we pay for being human. This film is for anyone who has ever loved someone as Seth does, who would trade all eternity for just one breath of her hair. This is a truly memorable film you will watch over and over.
Films like this are rarely made anymore and this is one to cherish. You will never forget the line, "When they ask me what I liked best...I'll say it was You"..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Angels - Almost Perfect.......Almost., 20 Aug 2003
By 
Mr. David Anderson (London, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I stumbled across this film....as you do. However since then I have been thinking about it, so profoundly touched I have been by it. The scene where the song Angels is played I have played over and over. Rarely has a film touched my very soul as this. I confess to being a hopeless romantic but in my mind there is not enough of that in the world. City of Angels makes you glad to be human and have the capacity to love and be loved and to recognise the concept of sacrifice within it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favourite film in the whole wide world, 1 April 2003
My most favourite film deserves 10 stars. Definitely, absolutely amazing film.
Touching to the heart, deep and emotional, true and genuine and totally romantic.
Anyone with a full heart will feel true emotion while watching this movie.
Soundtrack is beautiful too. The acting captures you.
If you want to dream in a land far away, watch this movie, and dream a little dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good movie to watch if u want to have a good cry!!!, 20 April 2007
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I saw this movie a few years ago, and i loved it (even though i sobbed) Its an inspiring and desperately saddening tale of love and all that love entails...wot else can i say,wot else do u need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film was inspiring from start to finish and was a real tear jerker. This story of immense love give hope that there is someone out there for each one of us...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must see movie for the uninitiated Nicholas Cage Fan, 25 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
An Angel (Nicholas Cage) who wants to know how it feels to feel, falls in love with a doctor (Meg Ryan) as he comes to take her patient to heaven....Simple storyline but directed in such a way that it tugs at the heartstrings at every turn. Basically a "Chick Flick" that guys can watch tooooo... I really enjoyed this unassuming movie so much so that i almost forgive it its really awful unimaginitive ending ...ALMOST...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film but....., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I am a hopeless romantic, and was looking forward to watching this movie for sometime.
The movie starts with a slow but intense pace, gradually building up to something far bigger and better.
Is a deep, meaningful movie taking you to places in your phyche you didn't know existed.
However, just as you are fully engrossed in the movie, the cinematography and so forth, it's ends rather abruptly and before you know it, the credits are rolling.
This film had at least another hour in it, and finished far too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comfort film, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
this is a nice heartwarming film for watching on a cold damp evening when you don't want to go out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Interpretation, 1 Feb 2009
By 
C. S. Ebrey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City of Angels [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
City of Angels is a wonderful adaptation of the original in that it presents an alternative perspective of the incredible "Wings of Desire" and is so different in it's approach that it merits recognition in it's own right as a romantic, modernist interpretation.
Wings of Desire, however, represents something truly different and inspiring, in that it portrays a far more fundamental, poetic and encapsulating representation of the human psyche that reaches far beyond the scope of "City of Angels". Both these films can be considered standalone and within their own contexts can be considered masterpieces in their own right. Watch both and enjoy both for what they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy Movie, 5 July 2000
By A Customer
While typing away the review I try to remember my feelings when I first saw this film - and all I can sense is a dream-like ball floating in happiness and melancholy.
Indeed this movie about an angel life-taker falling in love for a surgeon life-saver has a place in dreams: Love being that strong that it defies immortality, and that an Angel denies it all just for the chance to touch his beloved.
The bitter-sweet ending isn't at all what is expected, and for once in films, it then fails you because of that.
True you can always refer it to Wim Wenders, but a lovely film nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of Angels [DVD] [1998]
City of Angels [DVD] [1998] by Brad Silberling (DVD - 1999)
£4.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews