Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance
If I'm honest now, when i sat down to watch this film i was ready to be bored. The film is about classical music, so not an erratic story about a group of adventurous rock gods. I was wrong. This is one of the most moving and memorable films i have ever seen, whether this is because its a true life heart wrenching story or it features passion in the form of musical...
Published on 23 Jun 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film but definition poor
I got this on DVD after a fit of nostalgia, but was very disappointed by the picture quality which was poor. This may just be because it is 16 years old and not HD, but even so I've seen better definition in much older films. The film is still awesome, however.
Published 15 months ago by eraho


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance, 23 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
If I'm honest now, when i sat down to watch this film i was ready to be bored. The film is about classical music, so not an erratic story about a group of adventurous rock gods. I was wrong. This is one of the most moving and memorable films i have ever seen, whether this is because its a true life heart wrenching story or it features passion in the form of musical genius, i cannot decide. The superb acting talents made the characters come alive, so much so that the viewer feels that they could describe their feelings to the most intricate detail. I would recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shine, 15 April 2009
By 
Emer Mullen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Shine is the Sory of David Haffgott a concert pianist who developed a problem with schizoaffective disorder when he left home to study music in London.The first half of the film focuses on his difficult relationship with his controlling father and his susequent escape to the Royal College of Music. Then the film moves on to his treatment and hospitalisation as he seems to move further and further from reality. However when he meets his future wife David's fortunes change as he re-enters the world of professional performance and finds comfort and support in a stable domestic relationship.

In parts this is a difficult film to watch. The depiction of abuse within David's family is uncompromising and could be upsetting for some viewers. However David himself is potrayed as a genuinely lovable and loving man so when finds a woman who reciprocates his feelings there is a strong sense of closure at the end of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, 2 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shine [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
This is the type of film that I love. It sensitively explores the relationship of a gifted young muscician to his repressive, but ambitious father, and later on, of the grown David to the adult world. It is funny, moving, and compelling. I particularly loved the piano playing, and bought Rachmaninov 3 on the strength of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See Movie, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Sir Alec "Sir Alec" (Thurlstone, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I had been looking to buy this film for a long time, when I found it on Amazon at a very cheap price. It is both heart-rending and heart-warming in equal amounts. The true story of David Helfgot, a prodigy piano player, so oppressed by his domineering father that he has a breakdown and ends up in a mental institution. On his release he finds fame once more and goes on to marry. Geoffrey Rush deservedly won an Oscar for his portrayal. I would recommend this film wholeheartedly. Though quite heavy-going at the start, this film has a great feelgood factor from the middle onwards. Five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget everything you ever thought about classical music, 1 Feb 2001
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is certainly a film that can change your view on classical music. The story follows, somewhat erratically via flashback and revisiting, the life of an talented but capped young boy that make you find it hard to believe that it's true. Only when you realise that this is in fact the case does the hardship and struggle faced by David Helfgott really hit home. This erratic story line must have been intentional as it mimics the strange behaviour of the man himself as a result of rejection and pressure from his father at such a young age, and servers only to draw you in to the character more.
The descriptions and delivery of the music throughout gives you insight to the passion and fullness of classical music that always seemed to be missing in music lessons (at my school anyway). Sir John Gielgud's performance as his music teacher makes the music seem as fresh and vibrant as Oasis or Blur today. I dare anyone to watch this and not be moved, heartened and touched by the story of the man, but also not to be enthused to go out and build a huge collection of Rachmaninov or Vivaldi..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really moving film, 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Shine [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
I really love 'Shine' because it's a film that genuinely moves me. It's based on the true story of David Helfgott, who is played as an adult by Geoffrey Rush in this unusual Australian bio-pic. Rush's acting style in this role is so frenetic and convincing that I didn't recognise him at all in later films like Elizabeth! Noah Taylor is equally brilliant playing Helfgott as a disturbed young boy, living in the shadow of an extremely repressive father. Another great reason to watch this video, along with the world-class acting, is the piano-playing - much of the sound for the later post-fame sequences is apparently provided by Helfgott himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning performance by Geoffrey Rush, 1 Feb 2004
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
He won the Oscar in 1996 for Best Actor in this role, where he portrays a pianist, David Helfgott, whose great carrier as a pianist is severely damaged by a nervous breakdown. The way Rush shows the ingenuity of a slightly odd mind and the influence that it has on the movement of the body is truly stunning.
Get it, especially if you love Rachmaninoff or piano in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Success isn't always easy!, 4 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Pamela A. Stephens "P.S. AST" (Maidstone, Kent.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A true story of the stress of Rachmaninov! Lovely story, superbly acted by Geoffrey Rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sad but beautiful story, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Geoffrey Rush is superb in the main role and the story so interesting.
Being a true story it's so sad that all his talent was never realised. Certainly worth watching.
Bonny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shine dvd, 6 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shine [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
After seeing Geoffrey Rush in the Book thief I ordered this older film which I'd watched at the cinema. It was an emotional film but very encouraging and freeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shine [DVD] [1997]
Shine [DVD] [1997] by Scott Hicks (DVD - 2001)
£4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews