Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Films Ever
A bold claim to make, you may feel, as this is only a light-hearted comedy. But there is just something about this film, that makes it far better than any 'family film' I have seen.

The Jamiacan setting is beautiful and sunny, and the actors are a hilarious, perfect combination. Doug.E.Doug is definately the star of the show, playing the uproarious 'Sanka'...
Published on 10 July 2006 by One Love, One Heart, Lets Get ...

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointment
I did not realise that this was a USA copy, and so unplayable in this country - I should have looked, but it could have been made clearer as well.
Published 19 months ago by Suzie Evans


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Films Ever, 10 July 2006
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
A bold claim to make, you may feel, as this is only a light-hearted comedy. But there is just something about this film, that makes it far better than any 'family film' I have seen.

The Jamiacan setting is beautiful and sunny, and the actors are a hilarious, perfect combination. Doug.E.Doug is definately the star of the show, playing the uproarious 'Sanka'. The supporting roles are also strong, Leon Robinson as 'Ben Bannock' is delightful, endearing and down-right hot! Also the late John Candy acts brilliantly as the stubborn come gentle 'Irving Blitzer'

Some may think this film is all too predictable, but the ending will bring a tear to the most hardened male's eye! Overall, I'd have to label this film "Un-missable". I honestly think that it is the best family-comedy film ever made, and perhaps did not gain the recognition it deserved.

Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never gets old., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Cool Runnings never gets old! The whole family are entertained with laughs, sentiment and catchy phrases. Whenever I show it to a friend who hasn't yet seen it, they're never disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Runnings, 15 Jan. 2006
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I must admit that I’m a sucker for a good sports underdog movie and I also like a well executed family film, so it’s not really surprising that I rate “Cool Runnings” as a great film and definitely one I would recommend.
Very loosely based on the true story of the Jamaican Bobsleigh team who competed in the 1988 Calhary Winter Olympic Games the film shows the gathering of four unlikely Olympic heroes from the sun drenched island of Jamaica. Derice Bannock is the 100 metre sprinter who denied a place in the Jamaican athletics squad after a freak accident concerning two other soon to be members of the bobsleigh team, Junior Bevil and Yul Brenner, searches out an American ex-bobsleigh champion living in a drunken stupor on the island. Irving 'Irv' Blitzer is a wreak of a man and it takes some considerable persuading on the part of Derice and his best friend and forth member of the team, Sanka Coffie to get Irv interested in coaching the team.
Like a hundred of the best sporting underdog movies that have gone before and will no-doubt come again the story of the team’s journey to the Olympics are a veritable roller-coaster ride of various highs and lows and although some of them are clichéd to the hilt you can’t help but be entertained by them all. The rousing finale is one of the most moving ever seen and remains a firm favourite film scene ever of mine. But as I say I’m a sucker for this sort of thing.
The main reason why the film works so well and why the rather hackneyed plot gets away with it all is quite simple. Firstly John Candy is simply brilliant as the cynical but fiercely loyal Irv Blitzer. This is the sort of light comical role that he always excelled at and here he is well worth the money. Secondly the four members of the bobsleigh team are played with such enthusiasm by the four actors involved one just can’t help by be drawn into the film’s spell. Best of the bunch is the high energy Doug E. Doug as Sanka who mixes manic comedy with sweet home truths in a great style.
It’s not a classic film and it was never going to sweep the awards ceremonies clean, it was never meant to, but what it is a fine example of is a rather touching family film that will entertain and delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Problem man!, 16 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
An amazing film which is pure genius. All of the main characters are brilliant, especially Sanka and the Coach. Many hilarious bits in this film, would make anyone split their sides. And also conveys a nice message about prejudice, and my favourite line, 'Everybody's afraid of what's different' .This DVD is well worth buying at under £6, bargain. Quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best film ever!!!!!!, 6 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This film is the best film that i have ever seen, a true high quality family film that still makes a wonderfully refreshing change to all the violence and filth that seems to dominate the big screen nowadays. I have seen cool runnings so many times i have lost count but am still in floods of tears every time in watch the ending. I have the soundtrack to the film and it is also very good. I would recomend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel the rhythm, feel the rhyme, get on up, it's bobsled time., 18 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The bobsled hasn't exactly set the cinema world alight but when you mix a group of unlikely people who succeed in either their chosen sport or in proving people wrong by achieving what everyone thought was impossible with Disney, you generally get a well structured and enjoyable feature. For me, this is above the rest of Disney's sport-led movies for the perfect cast, the quotable dialogue and the great ending that makes you force yourself to stop that tear rolling down your cheek. In fact, I would go as far to say that this is the best Disney sports movie I have seen. Feel the rhythm! Feel the rhyme! Get on up, its bobsled time! COOL RUNNINGS! Highly recommended. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, inspiring and hilariously brilliant, 14 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This is one film you cannot miss. It is purely amazing and the acting and music is equally good. The bobsled scenes will have you shouting "Jamaica". And the ending will leave you wanting to take up bobsledding. John Candy plays the coach of the team quite superbly and the Jamaican actors such as Doug E.Doug really do bring the comedy to the film in style. Easily the greatest film i have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 28 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is one of those films you keep in the cupboard and pull out every time you need cheering up. Very funny, as well as being a great tale of the underdog surprising all the doubters, there are some classic scenes - such as training in an ice cream van -- which will stay with you, but will still make you laugh every time you see them. Easy, lighthearted entertainment which leaves you feeling good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare gem, 23 Dec. 2012
By 
M. J. Bailey (Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I had heard this was a funny and inspirational record of true events, but wasn't expecting it to tug on my emotions so powerfully.
It would have been easy to lapse into overt racism as the Jamaicans receive the cold shoulder from their Nordic competitors, but that card is nicely underplayed.
Perfect for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Katie85 (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is a fun feel-good movie that is suitable for all and is so easy to watch time and time again and never get bored of. I first watched this as a child but I still like it even though I'm now in my twenties. This film is loosely based on the Jamaican bobsleigh team that entered the 1988 Winter Olympics. Of course, there are some historical inaccuracies but that is nothing unusual and it wouldn't make for as good a story if there wasn't some embellishing. There's plenty of humourous moments too. The cast bring this story to life and even though I know how it all pans out, I still feel a sense of pride for them at the end. It's fair to call this one of my favourites and I haven't come across anyone I know who has seen it and doesn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994]
Cool Runnings [DVD] [1994] by Jon Turteltaub (DVD - 2001)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews