Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Slightly annoyed Max"
"Slightly annoyed Max" was Barry Norman's rather dismissive comment on this film when he reviewed it for the BBC. While it is certainly true that Mel Gibson had indeed toned things down quite considerably for this, the third and final outing for Max, the franchise had become mainstream along with its star and so the producers went for a more family friendly view of this...
Published on 2 Dec 2005 by JA Fairhurst

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madness!
Beyond Thunderdome was a lost opporunity. The feeling at the time was that director George miller had ended up making a maudlin memorial to his friend Byron Kennedy (producer of the first two films) who was tragically killed in a helicopter crash during 1983. If Mad Max 2 is a fuel injected suicide machine this is a battery powered, hollywood-lite, remake. Complete with...
Published on 12 Oct 2005 by Johnentwistlespout


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Slightly annoyed Max", 2 Dec 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
"Slightly annoyed Max" was Barry Norman's rather dismissive comment on this film when he reviewed it for the BBC. While it is certainly true that Mel Gibson had indeed toned things down quite considerably for this, the third and final outing for Max, the franchise had become mainstream along with its star and so the producers went for a more family friendly view of this post nuclear future.

Now reduced to animal drawn vehicles in the main, the opening scene has Max being bushwhacked and his stuff hauled off but his opponents had failed to finish him off - a fatal mistake!

We soon get our first sight of Barter Town where anything can be traded. Barter Town is one of the newly emerging powers in this post nuclear future and rule is split between the mysterious Master who provides electricity for the Town and the all-too-visible Auntie Entity whose roost lets her see all that goes on inside the Town. Max's presence causes the hidden tensions between the two to explode when he finds that the Master has his equipment, Auntie (played with brilliant exuberance by Tina Turner) gets Max into the Thunderdome against Master's henchman the massive Blaster, leading to one of the most inventive fights in cinematic history involving all sorts of weapons from mauls to chainsaws.

There's also a tribe of children, survivors of a final flight before the bombs flew, looking for a saviour to return them to civilisation. Max finds himself cast reluctantly in that role.

This is certainly the most extravagantly designed of the Mad Max films, with Barter Town in particular being wonderfully decadent! It also has something resembling a coherent plot especially when compared with Mad Max 2s pure gorefest. The main sound track is provided by the Royal Phillomonia Orchestra and Tina Turner sings the opening and closing songs with the verve she brings to her stage performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madness!, 12 Oct 2005
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
Beyond Thunderdome was a lost opporunity. The feeling at the time was that director George miller had ended up making a maudlin memorial to his friend Byron Kennedy (producer of the first two films) who was tragically killed in a helicopter crash during 1983. If Mad Max 2 is a fuel injected suicide machine this is a battery powered, hollywood-lite, remake. Complete with stupid rock sountrack, depressing supporting cast of unfashionable rock stars and a shot for shot revamp of the classic Mad Max 2 tanker chase...but with a train (a train!) this is a silly, silly film. We even get Bruce Spence coming back in a confused "new" role. I'm only rating this so highly because I love the saga as a whole, for anyone else it really is no better than Waterworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could've been more shabby!, 9 Feb 2001
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
On TV, even '80s films are starting to look like old films, and as action flicks get the most airplay, the thrills are quick to wane. One gets all too used to a faded pan & scan experience, ending up with a lesser impression of the film itself. So with films being spruced up and returned to their original aspect ratios, "a new lease of life" is no empty cliche, and on DVD 'Thunderdome' really thunders. However, despite being awash with terrific set pieces, the film fails to live up to the reputation of its predecessors and methinks that too much money may have been part of the problem. Quite frankly, the saga has lost its edge - the future feels nowhere near as dangerous as in 'The Road Warrior'. And there's the feeling of deja-vu too, in that the tribe of children are merely an extension of the Feral Kid from the previous film and, of course, they're not as effective. Tina Turner proves the real highlight - a true scene stealer. Getting her to stick a song on the end titles would have been completely inappropriate to the first two films. Here, though, given the nature of 'Thunderdome', it sort of fits. The bottom line? It's hard to be rough when there's too much gloss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new beginning, a new hope, 18 Aug 2004
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
Beyond Thunderdome is my personal favourite of the Mad Max series for many reasons. The films are set in a post Nuclear Holocaust world where fuel is something to fight for, among other things. This film illustrates how society might begin to reform after such a war. A return to the barter system where skills and products are traded. A return to an "oral tradition," where the tribe's history is remembered and taught to the young. Of course there are always thieves, murderers and someone who is power hungry and want to be in control. Above all it is about what you are prepared to do to survive and still remain human. Tina Turner's Aunty character is the power hungry person and Max is just trying to survive the best he can, however he can. The tribe of children have echoes of the film blue lagoon as they have survived in an innocent manner in a harsh environment. OK Mad Max 2 is a good actioner, and is a no-brainer. This film requires some thought from it's audience and is criticised for having many levels in which to condsider instead of an all out action film we have a film which suggests that even after a tragedy like a Nuclear Holocaust that life will begin to form a new society and maybe just maybe learn from its mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Max 3, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
Great bit of acting and film, with excellent performances with Tina Turner and Mel of course.
Plenty of action when they all took to the road.
Recommend you watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Max Beyond the Thunderdome, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with the product. It was a present and has not been used at the moment. However,as it was brand new I presume it will be in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Max Maxxed., 10 Aug 2009
By 
Observer (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
I want to hate it.....I need to despise it.
This should have been just so awful but is nearer to a post modern classic.
Once you have come to terms with a big studio turning a cult classic into a franchise. More interested in box ticking rather than creative film making. However, its my contentention that the afore mentioned big studio took a bit of a punt with this one. The main story and aesthetic feel is a continuation of MM2 whilst the sub plot i.e. the band of ferrel children forming a rudimentery society in the back of beyond, is a really creative angle. Although worshiping Mel Gibson like he's some kind of diety, is more than I can stomach. In expanding the story beyond what needed to be delivered they have created a movie far beyond MM1 & MM2. Good characters and a great story.....prerequisites in making a memorable movie.
Which Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Men Enter. One Man Leaves., 12 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Adam Conradie "Maverick" (wmidz uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
Gibson Takes on The Barbarians of The Post-Nuclear Future, While Tina Turner Plays a Power-Mad Dominatrix.Great 80's Film, And the Best of The Mad Max Tilogy. Just Total Escapism With Excellent Fight Scenes.Good Soundtrack Too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish it hadn't gone beyond the Thunderdome., 13 Jun 2007
By 
J. Poole (The British Isles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
The blurb on the back of the DVD case reads "Tina Turner steals whats left of the screen as power-mad dominatrix Aunty Entity". To believe this you would mean believing that, in 'Beyond Thunderdome', Mel Gibson delivers a performance on par with his work in 'Braveheart'. For me, Tina Turner WAS Mad Max 3. Where Gibson was being spartan with his talents, Turner was pouring her heart and soul into her portrayal of Aunty Entity.

Now with regard to the film. For the first half-hour or so, this film sweats potential. We have a bedraggled Max armed to the teeth, and sporting the mother of all mullets (bad wig-work, boys); we have Aunty Entity, whose screen presence is phenomenal; we have Bartertown, an enlarged marketplace in the middle of the desert; and we have the Thunderdome, where men battle to the death while tied to bungee chords. After this quite frankly brilliant set-up, the good Aunty breaks out her wheel of fortune, at which point, it all goes to hell.

Instead of keeping MAx somewhere in, around (or under) Bartertown, he's banished to the desert, where by some [tragic] twist of fate, he's happened upon by the most blatant knock-off of the Lost Boys I ever did see. There, I began to cringe. But on reflection, I'm glad I stayed the course. Aside from a final epilogue that almost endeared me to the Aussie 'Lost Boys', a last nod from Aunty proved that Tina Turner was so criminally under-used here.

So ya, if you're a fan of Mad Max 1 & 2, hop aboard, just don't be expecting the brutality of the second (which is a shame, as it would've really worked well). Hollywood just had to go and get their mits on this one, didn't they... if they hadn't, there'd likely be no Tina Turner, but there wouldn't be the kid-friendly elements either.

All in all, watch the first half-hour as if you life depends on it, and then, the choice is yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best mad max film, 10 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. Stephen J. Makin "steveo2004" (Merry old england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] (DVD)
The mad max films are all about life after the appocalypse,the roaming gangs and tribes killing each other lawlessly for the last of the food and water,mad max (mel gibson),is an ex cop,now a solitary drifter roaming the outback desert,he is discovered by a local tribe chief (tina turner) who recruits this now skilled thug,to kill her enormouse rival 'blaster' in a duel to the death,and silence his blackmailing 'master' other half.The action is fast and rough,(not gory)
,the 'feel' is more rough house than dark or bleak,if you like blade runner,indiana jones,you'll like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa60ee2dc)

This product

Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD]
Mad Max 3 - Beyond Thunderdome (1985) [DVD] by George Ogilvie (DVD - 1999)
6.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews