Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Do you really want to go in there ?"
"Gattaca" is one of the better science-fiction films that I have seen in recent years. It looks stylish ,it is filmed superbly and it is well acted. It is an atmospheric and thoughtful futuristic film ,not of the high octane, pumping soundtrack variety . The premise of the film is interesting and also quite credible , namely that in the future genetically engineered human...
Published on 7 Mar 2006 by L. Davidson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars German & English version
This is a German version that has English as a second language for the sound, as well as English subtitles. I really like the movie, so this is not an issue, but you do have to switch to English on some players...
Published 7 months ago by R. Berends


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Do you really want to go in there ?", 7 Mar 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
"Gattaca" is one of the better science-fiction films that I have seen in recent years. It looks stylish ,it is filmed superbly and it is well acted. It is an atmospheric and thoughtful futuristic film ,not of the high octane, pumping soundtrack variety . The premise of the film is interesting and also quite credible , namely that in the future genetically engineered human beings will be given preferential treatment in the job market and "normal" humans will be allocated menial occupations. As in the films "1984" and "Brazil" ,for example , "Gattaca" is about one man's resistance to an oppressive , stratified social system which interferes intolerably with personal liberty. It is a cautionary tale and perhaps also a parable about life in today's transnational organisations. The Gattaca Corporation , with its robotic, dehumanised compulsive achievers lined up in front of their PC's like well groomed battery chickens, mirrors the typical modern day open plan corporate office. "There is no gene for the human spirit" indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 4 Sep 2005
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Genetic defectives have been a staple of science fiction ever since the discovery of DNA. But until 'Gattaca', the powerful symbolism of future genetics for present day racism never made it onto the silver screen.
This is raised to an inspired level by writer/director Andrew Niccol's decision to film it as if all the flashbacks had taken place in our own past. In written SF, this could only have been achieved by a complicated alternate reality setting. But, in cinema, Niccol's careful choice of fifties clothing styles, haircuts, and black-and-white family snap-shots powerfully evokes a past for the protagonist, Vincent (Ethan Hawke), which mirrors our own past.
I had expected this film to be bleak and oppressive. The premise, and the first half-hour, create an air-tight world where Vincent is condemned to second-class servitude because his conception was natural rather than genetically screened.
But Niccol skilfully switches the 1984 style bleakness into an ultra-tech murder-thriller, with the murder of the mission-director, moments (in film time) after we learn of the meticulous plan by which Vincent will pass as genetically perfect and achieve his dream of space-travel.
Suspense builds from this point on. On the first time of watching I was convinced Vincent would be caught, right up to the final moment.
The core of this film is in Vincent's words: "There is no gene for fate", although the official tag-line was "There is no gene for the human spirit". It becomes an enormously positive affirmation that sheer guts and determination will take anyone to reach their dream.
This is an excellent film, but it will not please everyone. It is essentially a short-story created in perfect detail for cinema. SF fans will appreciate the purity of the vision. But the film lacks the epic scope which most people associate with modern science-fiction cinema. And anyone wanting a special-effects laden space-romp should look elsewhere.
But, in its own scale and its own terms, Gattaca is virtually flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Region A as stated this is in fact region free, 16 Feb 2010
Just a quick note - 5 stars for the film and the image and sound quality on this intriguing sci-fi identity theft film.
It is not Region A locked as stated in the title - this is yet another in a long list of technical mistakes made by Amaazon on their blu-ray product pages.
The film is distributed by Sony Pictures and is Region A,B,C compatible - it plays fine on my stand alone blu-ray and PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves to become a classic, 11 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Everything about this film is evidence of how much deep, imaginative thought went into its production. From the coolly clever set design to Michael Nyman's distant, stirring music, this Huxley-esque gem contains everything one could hope to find in an intelligent, thought-provoking sci-fi feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest sci-fi movies ever made..., 28 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Gattaca is by far one of the best sci-fi movies I have ever seen. It's about a man named Vincent who overcomes a prejudicial system impossed upon him through sheer self determination, who doesn't accept anything less than the full attainment of his dream. The story line was inspiring and thought-provoking, the acting is great (especially Hawke and Law), and the production design and art direction are totally stunning. There are little special effects which sets this movie apart from other sci-fi movies. Gattaca is simply a beautiful unique work of art filled with emotion, intelligence, beauty, and suspense. Definitely a must see for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films you'll ever get to see..., 31 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A true 'think about' movie that is set in the near future... (If you were wondering where the title came from... I believe it is an anagram of the component letters that form DNA. i.e. C T G A) GATTACA
Gripping story that is well written and directed. Clever cinematography. A film, in my opinion, that was poorly overlooked at the cinema... but then 'cult films' always are!
Watch this movie and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life is what you make it, 12 July 2005
By 
E. R. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This movie is a Sci-Fi masterpiece about realising your dreams against all the odds and against what hand nature has dealt you.
Ethan Hawke (Vincent) is like most of us born an "invalid", without the best Dna that money can buy, and is set to end his short life as a cleaner at the Gatatica Corporation, rather than realising his dream to be a Space Pilot. Having the brains in the future just isn't good enough if your DNA isn't up to scratch, this is where vincent decides to trade places and DNA with wheelchair bound Jude Law (Jerome).
All works out fine until there is a murder at the corporation and the police find some DNA belonging to an "Invalid" (Vincent's), as Vincent has assumed the idenity of jerome, its a cat and mouse chase to avoid the authorities before he is blasted into space and fufills his dream.
Essentially this movie is a story about achieving your potential regardless of what life and mothernature throw at you, it is also i feel a love story between two opposites between Vincent and Uma Thurman (Irene)another "Valid" or even Vincent and Jerome who are totaly dependant on each other, Vincent provides Jerome with the lifestyle he has come accustom to , and in return Jerome provides Vincent with good DNA.
Finally this movie paints a picture of our own future, where yur destiny is decided at birth all based on your DNA.
Quite Unsettling really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All science fiction fans should see this film., 4 Jan 2003
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Gattaca is a beautiful film.
I've read a review that focuses on fingernail clippings and criticises the special effects which has spurred me to defend this film.
Yes, in the opening credits we see closeups of finger nail clippings falling to the floor, but they are almost beautiful set against the light blue background. However, I don't know many people that are only interested in the opening credits.
So, if you think science fiction is only about special effects, go watch a big budget, badly acted, 'run of the mill', 'Sci-Fi' film. If you want to watch a modern classic of the science fiction genre watch Gattaca.
The visuals in this film are amazing. The cyber-punk world, that we are presented with, features a beautiful mix of many different periods of the last century. Everything is sleek and smooth. This film is science fiction for the young professional.
When I buy a DVD and there are deleted scenes on it, I always think to myself that one or two of them should have been left in. However watching Gattaca's 'Lost Scenes' I realized just how much this film had been crafted. None of these sequences deserved being placed into the film. This film really is a work of art. Everything is just right.
Forget about the science fiction for a moment though. This film is inspiring. The cover states "There is no gene for the human spirit". This film tells us that we can do anything. Nothing is set in stone, we can control our own fate.
When I'm depressed I watch this film, it motivates me, like no other.
The only real shock was that Danny DeVito was a producer on this film. My opinion of him has altered post-Gattaca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Testament, 21 Nov 2004
This film was and still is forward thinking. The themes dealt with in the film become more and more applicable as each day passes.
Genetic engineering concerning humans always makes it big in the press (cloning, for example) and for guidance I would direct people towards this film. Its extremely didactic in its content and I wholly believe that our world, if allowed to continue down the road that some over-enthusiastic scientific researchers are forcing us to travel down, will end up resembling something not a million miles away from the world depicted in this film.
Anyway, more about the film. The soundtrack is amazing, production design supurb. The production design in this film paved the way for near-future science fiction films like "Minority Report" and the recent "i-Robot" in the way that one can still not only recognise the surroundings but also empathise with characters feelings towards institutions and predicaments that could be a little abstract to our society, ie, you believe that in twenty or thirty years time, the things seen as sci-fi gimmicks in the films could actually become a part of everyday life.
Throughout the whole film I felt sorrow and remorse and there was also a sense of foreboding for my part. A sense that the human race had lost a part of its innocence by tampering too much with things that should sometimes be left well alone.
I know that this review is overtly polical (you can say that again) but so is this film, I don't know whether they were aiming for that or whether it was truly character driven but the political themes still remain.
Top film, buy it, watch it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential viewing for scriptwriters., 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Scripts rarely come along as great as this but when the writer director is Andrew Niccol the writer of 'The Truman Show' you should know you're in for a treat. Gattaca relies on a great idea, in a world where everyone is genetically modified to grow into the best possible adults how would a non-modified human feel, cope and try to achieve his dreams in a world where he was considered less than everyone else. Where Niccol's 2011 film 'In Time' suffered from having a great concept but a narrative that did not match it, Gattaca has a fantastic story full of twists and turns with a climax that is satisfying not only in terms of plot but emotionally as well. Science fiction can focus too much on the science and forget the emotion that drives great movies but Gattaca is a character piece with a protagonist that everyone can relate to and performed by the always interesting actor Ethan Hawke. A recurring idea about two boys swimming out to sea in a race is one of the greatest moments and it's payoff is one of the most rewarding experiences in film.
It's unlike most modern science fiction films, with it's lack of special effects and action but it does share some interesting ideas with the Battlestar Galattica reboot.
A film which constantly surprises and proves that no matter how much money a film has in it's budget, a well-written script is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gattaca [DVD] [1998]
Gattaca [DVD] [1998] by Andrew Niccol (DVD - 2004)
9.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews