Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Do you really want to go in there ?"
"Gattaca" is one of the better science-fiction films that I have seen in recent years. It looks stylish ,it is filmed superbly and it is well acted. It is an atmospheric and thoughtful futuristic film ,not of the high octane, pumping soundtrack variety . The premise of the film is interesting and also quite credible , namely that in the future genetically engineered human...
Published on 7 Mar 2006 by L. Davidson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Can Dream
Based on the gene fable which has gained such a dominant position within US psychology, forever wheeled out to justify the current social arrangements, let alone the near future. As a creed it has its own set of adherents, and operates as a glowering Old Testament ideology. This is where those who continuously buy into this bogus discipline - which is essentially built...
Published 2 months ago by Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Do you really want to go in there ?", 7 Mar 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
"Gattaca" is one of the better science-fiction films that I have seen in recent years. It looks stylish ,it is filmed superbly and it is well acted. It is an atmospheric and thoughtful futuristic film ,not of the high octane, pumping soundtrack variety . The premise of the film is interesting and also quite credible , namely that in the future genetically engineered human beings will be given preferential treatment in the job market and "normal" humans will be allocated menial occupations. As in the films "1984" and "Brazil" ,for example , "Gattaca" is about one man's resistance to an oppressive , stratified social system which interferes intolerably with personal liberty. It is a cautionary tale and perhaps also a parable about life in today's transnational organisations. The Gattaca Corporation , with its robotic, dehumanised compulsive achievers lined up in front of their PC's like well groomed battery chickens, mirrors the typical modern day open plan corporate office. "There is no gene for the human spirit" indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 4 Sep 2005
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Genetic defectives have been a staple of science fiction ever since the discovery of DNA. But until 'Gattaca', the powerful symbolism of future genetics for present day racism never made it onto the silver screen.
This is raised to an inspired level by writer/director Andrew Niccol's decision to film it as if all the flashbacks had taken place in our own past. In written SF, this could only have been achieved by a complicated alternate reality setting. But, in cinema, Niccol's careful choice of fifties clothing styles, haircuts, and black-and-white family snap-shots powerfully evokes a past for the protagonist, Vincent (Ethan Hawke), which mirrors our own past.
I had expected this film to be bleak and oppressive. The premise, and the first half-hour, create an air-tight world where Vincent is condemned to second-class servitude because his conception was natural rather than genetically screened.
But Niccol skilfully switches the 1984 style bleakness into an ultra-tech murder-thriller, with the murder of the mission-director, moments (in film time) after we learn of the meticulous plan by which Vincent will pass as genetically perfect and achieve his dream of space-travel.
Suspense builds from this point on. On the first time of watching I was convinced Vincent would be caught, right up to the final moment.
The core of this film is in Vincent's words: "There is no gene for fate", although the official tag-line was "There is no gene for the human spirit". It becomes an enormously positive affirmation that sheer guts and determination will take anyone to reach their dream.
This is an excellent film, but it will not please everyone. It is essentially a short-story created in perfect detail for cinema. SF fans will appreciate the purity of the vision. But the film lacks the epic scope which most people associate with modern science-fiction cinema. And anyone wanting a special-effects laden space-romp should look elsewhere.
But, in its own scale and its own terms, Gattaca is virtually flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Region A as stated this is in fact region free, 16 Feb 2010
Just a quick note - 5 stars for the film and the image and sound quality on this intriguing sci-fi identity theft film.
It is not Region A locked as stated in the title - this is yet another in a long list of technical mistakes made by Amaazon on their blu-ray product pages.
The film is distributed by Sony Pictures and is Region A,B,C compatible - it plays fine on my stand alone blu-ray and PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves to become a classic, 11 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Everything about this film is evidence of how much deep, imaginative thought went into its production. From the coolly clever set design to Michael Nyman's distant, stirring music, this Huxley-esque gem contains everything one could hope to find in an intelligent, thought-provoking sci-fi feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films you'll ever get to see..., 31 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A true 'think about' movie that is set in the near future... (If you were wondering where the title came from... I believe it is an anagram of the component letters that form DNA. i.e. C T G A) GATTACA
Gripping story that is well written and directed. Clever cinematography. A film, in my opinion, that was poorly overlooked at the cinema... but then 'cult films' always are!
Watch this movie and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thought-provoking and under-rated, 19 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only after watching GATTACA did I realise that the title itself is derived from the four initial letters of the chemicals that make up DNA: ACTG. Such are the depths the film goes to in order to explore the deeply affecting and controversial theme of genetic "perfection". Indeed, I went online shortly after the film and came across a company that would, for a fee, map your genome for any "defects". Even though it cited an example of a girl using the service to screen for a genetic heart disorder, its implications are still creepy, and it's why GATTACA is so good. That it is the human spirit, something that cannot be quantified or distilled in a test tube, that will triumph in the end.

GATTACA definitely deserves to be in anyone's DVD collection if they believe themselves to be a thinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life is what you make it, 12 July 2005
By 
E. R. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This movie is a Sci-Fi masterpiece about realising your dreams against all the odds and against what hand nature has dealt you.
Ethan Hawke (Vincent) is like most of us born an "invalid", without the best Dna that money can buy, and is set to end his short life as a cleaner at the Gatatica Corporation, rather than realising his dream to be a Space Pilot. Having the brains in the future just isn't good enough if your DNA isn't up to scratch, this is where vincent decides to trade places and DNA with wheelchair bound Jude Law (Jerome).
All works out fine until there is a murder at the corporation and the police find some DNA belonging to an "Invalid" (Vincent's), as Vincent has assumed the idenity of jerome, its a cat and mouse chase to avoid the authorities before he is blasted into space and fufills his dream.
Essentially this movie is a story about achieving your potential regardless of what life and mothernature throw at you, it is also i feel a love story between two opposites between Vincent and Uma Thurman (Irene)another "Valid" or even Vincent and Jerome who are totaly dependant on each other, Vincent provides Jerome with the lifestyle he has come accustom to , and in return Jerome provides Vincent with good DNA.
Finally this movie paints a picture of our own future, where yur destiny is decided at birth all based on your DNA.
Quite Unsettling really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All science fiction fans should see this film., 4 Jan 2003
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Gattaca is a beautiful film.
I've read a review that focuses on fingernail clippings and criticises the special effects which has spurred me to defend this film.
Yes, in the opening credits we see closeups of finger nail clippings falling to the floor, but they are almost beautiful set against the light blue background. However, I don't know many people that are only interested in the opening credits.
So, if you think science fiction is only about special effects, go watch a big budget, badly acted, 'run of the mill', 'Sci-Fi' film. If you want to watch a modern classic of the science fiction genre watch Gattaca.
The visuals in this film are amazing. The cyber-punk world, that we are presented with, features a beautiful mix of many different periods of the last century. Everything is sleek and smooth. This film is science fiction for the young professional.
When I buy a DVD and there are deleted scenes on it, I always think to myself that one or two of them should have been left in. However watching Gattaca's 'Lost Scenes' I realized just how much this film had been crafted. None of these sequences deserved being placed into the film. This film really is a work of art. Everything is just right.
Forget about the science fiction for a moment though. This film is inspiring. The cover states "There is no gene for the human spirit". This film tells us that we can do anything. Nothing is set in stone, we can control our own fate.
When I'm depressed I watch this film, it motivates me, like no other.
The only real shock was that Danny DeVito was a producer on this film. My opinion of him has altered post-Gattaca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can see the Stars, 30 Jun 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I give no apologies for this review, it's completely biased. First things first, this review is about the `superbit' circ 1998. If this review is found next to another format version, please ignore. For story breakdown, the science premise etc, please look to other reviews their much better done.
This disc plays well on a number of first generation DVD players. The colours are solid the sound is excellent; please note I did not try out the various sound enhanced systems, i.e. 5.1 Dolby, as I do not have this equipment.
That said, the Superbit DVD was played on HD DVD player, and HD Flat screen TV. The experience is mind blowing; I cannot see the difference between picture quality on this DVD and some of the newer HD DVD releases. OK HD DVD is a defunct format, but it shows that up scaling this DVD gives it 'Angelic wings'. Is it worth buying? The answer is yes. This superbit DVD makes a fantastic film, even more mind blowing.
Some years ago at a film event, I asked Ernest Borgnine, who played the janitor in the film, what he thought of GATTACA. In a rather dismissive way he said he didn't get it? Well that's his flawed genome.Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Can Dream, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Based on the gene fable which has gained such a dominant position within US psychology, forever wheeled out to justify the current social arrangements, let alone the near future. As a creed it has its own set of adherents, and operates as a glowering Old Testament ideology. This is where those who continuously buy into this bogus discipline - which is essentially built upon the very unsolid foundations of eugenics - gain a foot on the ladder of success. It is a self propelling ideal, designed to exclude as much as define.

Here the "gene" for "addiction," "domestic violence" and "silliness" can be bred out of each individual. However what is not looked at within the film is raw flmsiness of these various descriptors. They do not exist in themselves, there is no "disease" but there are a number of names attributed to behaviors - a huge difference. But psychology and those bogus scientists believe otherwise.

In the best of pure American tradition, we have the odd fellow who bucks the system, but the system itself never comes under scrutiny itself; despite wheeling out Gore Vidal, to act as some counterpoint to the young bucks who fill the screens. You see the Amerikkkan dream is based on lucky winners, and this is what we have here, a lucky winner.

Therefore the story is somewhat deceptive, it gets you to believe in the basic mythological concept before telling you that hard work can too make you part of that elite ie the current craze around plasticity. But this is pure Aryan myth, there is no gene for an elite anymore than there is a gene for writing reviews - however what becomes important is that there is a belief these genes exist. And this is what is only tentatively explored by the script writer.

The film does not delve too deeply into this subsection of academic mythologising and instead glides upon the Amerikkkan surface of glittering desire. It is a proper gander movie. So why the 3 stars.

Where it does succeed however, is in the acting, the ponderous style, noir interiors - Jude Law steals and Urma glitters. It is not intense, but it has a certain camera aesthetic and robotic rigid setting which raise it up a notch, but it holds back in delivering the killer punch.

I guess that is the Amerikkkan Way - everyone can dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gattaca [DVD] [1998]
Gattaca [DVD] [1998] by Andrew Niccol (DVD - 2004)
£4.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews