Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and amusing
There are two things to keep in mind when approaching 'Jack'. The first is the fact that this is a family film made by Coppola, the famed director of numerous masterful dramas. The second is that Robbin Williams is genius and maybe his mawkish behaviour is not suitable for such a character. If there was ever a third it would be the fact that this is a movie critics love...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by Cottoboi

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars What a film
As brilliant as I remembered it - both funny and touching. Robin Williams' acting is outstanding
Published 1 month ago by Mrs Carole Finch


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and amusing, 29 Oct 2007
By 
Cottoboi "chriso" (Bromley, London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
There are two things to keep in mind when approaching 'Jack'. The first is the fact that this is a family film made by Coppola, the famed director of numerous masterful dramas. The second is that Robbin Williams is genius and maybe his mawkish behaviour is not suitable for such a character. If there was ever a third it would be the fact that this is a movie critics love to poke fun at.
Whatever you would have heard, just remember that 'Jack' is classic, touching and beautifally filmed. ESPECIALLY do not pay attention to the Amazon reviewer as the majority have voted him out already!
It has a sweet plot and is ultimately the film with nostalgia centered inside the middle. Like a chocolate cake. That's what Jack is, a chocolate cake. Don't forget it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I so enjoyed this tender but true to life story of jack who lives life trapped inside the child that never grew up..I think its great to see how this can affect many with this problem and how jacks loving innocent nature portrays through the world as seen by his eyes and mind.
It will make you laugh and also shed a few tears and robin williams was a great choice when picked for lead role as he really gets into the character and gives a full upstanding performance.
If never seen this film your missing out and would say get online and order it as you won,t be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very life affirming, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
It's funny and very moving. I haven't seen it in over 10 years, but I still love it. Not Oscar worthy, but still very good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From video to DVD, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
We had this film a few years ago , it's funny,sad all in one package! If you need to sit down with the family and enjoy a good film check this one out . Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This was a very influential childhood film that I wanted to re watch and it didn't disappoint. While not medically accurate, robin Williams acting is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who doesnt love robin williams right?, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
a great great film one of my childhood classics! i highly recommend watching this film one of robin williams best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sweet Movie, 7 May 2009
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Robin Williams, although an immensely funny and energetic comedian, has the raw acting talent to make you truly believe in his characters. He can emotionally engage you and allows for his supporting cast to remain prominent in his films without being overshadowed by the big characters that he plays. Patch Adams & Mrs. Doubtfire are two very fine examples of how Robin Williams can present an immensely funny character, yet retains a level of depth and reality that allow for the hysterical laughter without sacrificing the emotional importance of what his films are ultimately about. He achieves this just as well in Jack.

The film is based around the main character, Jack. He is a child born with a rapid aging disability like that of the real condition known as Progeria. The parents are naturally shocked and upset by this news, but make a pledge to allow him as good a life as possible. Fast forward a few years and we see a child in the body of a grown man (Robin Williams) who has been secluded from the outside world by his parents to protect him from the cruelties and judgments of the real world. His home school tutor Lawrence (Bill Cosby) recommends to Jacks parents that he should be put into a public school so he can socialise and make friends.

Anybodies first day of school is a terrifying one, but for Jack it's even more so thanks to him being in the body of a fully grown man entering an elementary school. Naturally his fellow classmates are a bit wary of this stranger in their classroom and keep well away whilst inventing stories. Mrs. Marquez (Jennifer Lopez), his teacher, warms quickly to Jack and strongly wants him to make friends and be accepted by his classmates. After being asked to join a team in a basketball game because of his height, he quickly becomes part of a group of friends who start to look past his appearance and recognise the kid within him.

This is an immensely sweet and heart warming film and is personally one of my favourites starring the comic legend that is Robin Williams. It's largely unrecognised on the mainstream film stage and I would love it to get more recognition than it did then and does now. It's up there with the likes of Mrs. Doubtfire and Patch Adams. Although it's not as blatantly funny, it's more so an emotional piece with a strong message to deliver to us all about acceptance of the personality within everybody. Looking past the appearance and accepting people, warts and all.

Directed by the legend of Francis Ford Coppola, there's no denying that this would have been an immensely enjoyable movie going piece. The inclusion of comedy legend Bill Cosby is also a delight and although he doesn't have a largely comic prominence, it's still a great thing to see him in the film. This is one of Jennifer Lopez' first movies and although I'm not crazy over her acting, she doesn't do a bad job overall. Williams is the true gem though and truly creates a believable and sweet character that we're all hoping will succeed in making friends.

I would highly recommend this to any fans of Robin Williams as it's truly one of his greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 4 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Hadn't seen this film for years and it brought back so many happy memories - myself and my partner have watched it numerous times now Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family film, 25 July 2008
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Yet another great Robin Williams film - his portrayal of a young boy is brilliant - funny and moving. The film had me laughing in parts and crying in others. It's a great family movie - funny, sad and touching all at the same time. I would recommend 'Jack' to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood movie, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
So glad to have got this on DVD Jack was always one of my fav childhood movies. One Robin Williams best movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack [DVD] [1996]
Jack [DVD] [1996] by Francis Ford Coppola (DVD - 2001)
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews