Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quality Jack yet!
The re-mastering looks great in high-def and the sound is great too, with depth and detail to the music, singing and voices. There are also plenty of extras for the film buffs & Burton fans.

What a coincidence that it's been released just before Halloween! Having said that it works as a Christmas movie too as the people of Christmas Town are also involved,...
Published on 19 Oct 2008 by Cheatin' Jockey

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film.... Product not as shown in picture
I ordered this expecting special edition with two disks as in the picture but received a flimsy case with just one disk!
Great film but if you are buying it and expect what is in the picture think again!
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining for Children and adults alike, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I think Tim Burton's way of implementing the animation is incredible. Definitely worth the investment! .
For a Christmas movie it may a little scary for some small children. All in all it is very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story, fantastic animation and magical music, 31 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Special Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Tim Burton's has made a fantastically gothic children's story, once again teaming up with another creative genius, Danny Elfman, to produce a wonderful soundtrack. This film appeals to both children and adults alike, with gently dark humour, showing how the true meaning of Christmas can be misunderstood. An Ideal film to watch in either Hallowe'en (today) or Christmas. A modern day Animated masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great!, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Special Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
ORDERED TO WATcH ON CHRISTMAS EVE WITH MY FAMILY! cant wait!! x :) x roll on christmas! :) x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great winter and Christmas classic, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Special Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie having seen it many times, and is usually the first Christmas movie that we watch every year. The kids love the soundtrack, and is one of the few "musicals" that I actually enjoy. If you havent seen it yet, rush out and get it. A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Show, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Special Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I did this as a stagecoach show and it was really good
I recommend this for around 7- as how old u want to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film!, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Special Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Really great film for the whole family, my boys loved all the music and adventure and were not scared at all. A great festive or halloween film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a film, The Nightmare before Christmas is a fantastic piece of entertainment. The DVD came out every Halloween and while it's on offer I decided to go for the Blu-ray edition.

Just in case you haven't watched the film or seen the other descriptions of it here, the basic story is that Jack Skellington, the head of Halloween, is getting bored with the same routine and stumbles across a door to Christmas. His plan to take over Christmas and replace Santa has some interesting and entertaining results.

There are several reasons for upgrading to a Blu-ray version of this film. Firstly, the picture quality in this remastered version is amazing. Putting the DVD side by side with the Blu-ray you can certainly tell the difference, even if the DVD is upscaled. The sound, too, has been given a remaster so Danny Elfman's score is now beautifully captured in 7.1 Surround and even lower end sound sources will sound better.

If that wasn't enough, the disc has all of the extras from the collectors DVD and a new Blu-ray exclusive introduction to both the main film and the short Frankenweenie too. The 2 shorts, Frankenweenie and Vincent are well worth watching, especially Vincent which has a narration by Vincent Price.

If you fancy something different for your Halloween or even Christmas viewing, I can recommend picking up The Nightmare Before Christmas Blu-ray, the picture and sound quality and wealth of extras make this an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!!!!, 6 Jun 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Special Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
A real musical!!!!!!I remember buying this at bedale I was looking forward to seeing it and I got it for free.I didn't give it 5stars,
because I thought not all the songs were needed like a song called whats this.My friend was talking me into it and I loved the sound of it the music and funny parts,everything for a family.I still have loads and loads of songs in my head and I will watch it over and over again,because its just brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars charming animation with catchy songs, 12 Nov 2008
By 
Tired with Halloween Pumpkin King Jack Skellington finds a land called Christmas Town and plans to make the festivities very frightening.

Tim Burton's vivid imagination has made him a modern day great and this is a sparkling gem with an acute perception of the holidays.

Opening with a catchy song "This is Halloween", Henry Selick's picture sets the tone for an entertaining and interesting adventure starring a spiderlike central character

Jack Skellington is a wonderful creation, filled with many human emotions including hope and challenge and is easy to watch. Danny Elfman has pitched the songs to match Skellington perfectly, especially when he first sees Christmas Town "What's this?"

The animation may feel slightly dated with CGI taking over the genre but the features on the DVD including the making of will leave you feeling heart warmed and inspired by the work and effort the team went to in order to achieve the visually stunning Oscar nominated effects.

The plot is very enjoyable. However there are slight shortcomings when an important decision becomes an instant realisation. For example the `what to do about Christmas' dilemma. Nevertheless the dialogue is likeable and is told with that charm of fantasy verses reality that Burton does exceptionally well.

The songs are always upbeat and all the characters get a chance to sing and shine, giving the picture a creative diversity. Jack's explanation of Christmas to the town of Halloween is a particularly annoying part with other characters disrupting the flow of the song.

But this is a minor flaw when you have the classic well recognized "What's this" discovery song, not to mention a wonderfully colourful moment from Oogie Boogie. These two songs bring the light out of the darkness and are the finest moments of the film.

The humour doesn't live up to recent Burton animation The Corpse Bride but the characters in this animation are far better. The imagination and darkness of the picture should not be discouraged and should be applied to more animations.

The direction gives a charm that isn't horrific but pleasantly spooky and is therefore suitable for the whole family. The likeability and humanity of the characters also help give this picture a relaxing and enjoyable realisation that isn't to be missed.

The Nightmare before Christmas has been recognized as a 90's classic with its catchy songs and a good plot that is memorable if not the sharpest and funniest you will ever see.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Childrens Classic, 18 Oct 2008
By 
JLChem (MidlandsUK) - See all my reviews
I used to (cough) watch this every year just before xmas, it is simply magical. With a great array of characters animated superbly with Burton's imaginative flare shining in the right direction, meaning the film has something different and definitive about it. I really enjoy the way Tim Burton has created this film (I am not Burton mad - planet of the apes was terrible as were Sweeny Todd and mars attacks + some others) but he has came up with some gems - beetlejuice, edward scissorhands etc, a real marmite (Love it or Hate it) film maker. With this being the heart of the collection. Don't forget Henry Selick's contributions as without him the film would certainly not be so charming. Not the most intricate of scripts towards the end but it doesn't have to be with a magical backdrop and a simply fantastic premise with Danny Elfman really at his best. Overall this is a great film for kiddies and adults alike a real Xmas treat. Be sure to check out the extra features to see how painstakingly this was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nightmare Before Christmas (Special Edition) [1994] [DVD]
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews