Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
28
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2002
I give this film its odd title because with the amount of clever flashbacks in it you can be sure that one scene will explain a previous one.
This is a fantastic film which can be adored by both men and women due to its clever plot and excellent cast which can make you laugh and effortlessly relate to them.
You will also be happy to know that there is'nt a single character upstaging another. You would think that a high profile actor like Joseph Fiennes (Shakespear in love)would steal the show but thankfully the other actors suit their roles so perfectly that it almost seems like it is real.
Monica potter(cant believe I havent seen her in other things!)is fantastic as the young american willing to take a huge chance at changing her life and at the same time stumbling upon three hopeless romantics.
Hilarious, tear jirking,tense!
I recomend it to everyone everywhere.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2008
I've wanted to see this film again after seeing it at the cinema on its first release. Sadly, on the initial attempt to buy it on DVD, I was told that it had been discontinued only to be re-released in a few weeks time. And here it is. Hooray!

All the central performances are great with the relationships between the characters being revealed as the plot unfolds. The story is told in retrospect and has a number of clever scripting surprises. There are also a few familiar faces that have become well known in the intervening years. Can you spot Rob Brydon?

With a cracking script and great direction of both photography and actors, this film is as fun and stylish as when I first saw it.

The DVD packaging promises special features which include sub-plots (whatever they are), feature clips, biographies and TV spot. Strangely, we're only offered theatrical trailer and featurette on the special features menu itself. No great loss, but mis-sold on the pack.

A small scale but perfectly formed production, rather like Mr Hollander himself! Brilliant.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2001
This has to be one of the best films I have seen in a very long time. It is funny, frustrating, enchanting, and very simple. The small loveable cast keeps the story moving at a steady pace, ensuring the viewer is entertained at every moment. Another classic British film, with signatory twists and turns of fate for four peoples lives, resulting, in a wonderful love story. Watch it, this film is magical!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Excellent film, underated, almost unknown but got it from a video rental years ago and loved it ever since. Finally bought it on DVD. But of a shame there are no subtitles on this release but otherwise is fine. I'm more interested in plots, dialogue and a clear image than amazing super HD and surround sound. Batman rises has all that but you still can't hear a word they say and find yourself turning the volume up and down for the explosions whilst wondering who each person is in the gloomy dark range of tones. But I digress. Great romantic easy to watch and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2002
was a bit wary when i bought this DVD but was definately worth it...not like any other movie i have seem..it is not a great hollywood blockbuster but it has a simple sweetness to it that makes you want to watch it again and again
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2001
Despite having watched the film numerous times I can still never remember the title without much brain-pain (perhaps cos I'm useless with names)! So, it's certainly not the catchiest of titles. It also sounds like your bog-standard girly romantic film. Not so. Yes - it is a romance, but it's very funny with it and has some good twists. What struck me most about it, however, was how cleverly & beautifully it was shot. I don't usually notice things like this and certainly don't go for 'arty' films, but I found the style and camera work of this film really appealling & I think it is that which makes it one of those films that I could watch again and again. So - don't be put off by the title or genre & I think you'll be pleasantly suprised.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2003
Unbelievable coincidences make the protagonist meet three men separately, without finding out they are close friends. When the one she falls for (friend number one) discovers she is friend number two's dream girl, he's torn between duty and love. Meanwhile, friend number three purposefully tries to prevent her from seeing number two, wanting to take revenge for his having stolen his girlfriend once... Everything is unbelievable, yet sweet and intense, and you really want to believe it all possible.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Wonderfull British romcom with Monica Potter, Joseph Fiennes, Rufus Sewell and Tom Hollander. All brilliant performances.
Martha meets the 3 friends seperatly and they fall for her. Martha falls for one of them, but that was not the plan, she was going to live irresponsibly and flirt with everyone. Now she has to find that one guy out of 10 million Londoninars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2001
This story line is complicated at first but as it unravels you see the funny side and the romantic side of this beautiful story. I absolutely love it and the ending is so lovely it brings tears to your eyes. Well worth the money - a film to be watched over and over again!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2005
An amazing film for a girly night in.... not the most intellectual of films, but the characters are genius and the story is a classic of three men fighting over one woman.
Watch it with some girly friends, open a bottle of wine and drool over Joseph Fiennes!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)