Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding psychological thriller...
Fallen is a dark supernatural thriller that is definitely worth watching. The plot is very clever, beautifully constructed and acted, with a superbly thought-provoking ending. Denzel Washington does a really good job as the homicide detective Hobbes being chased by the fallen angel, Azazel. Excellent support is provided by John Goodman as his partner. The film is...
Published on 29 Nov 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
okay to watch once
Published 5 months ago by G. Ashall


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding psychological thriller..., 29 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Fallen is a dark supernatural thriller that is definitely worth watching. The plot is very clever, beautifully constructed and acted, with a superbly thought-provoking ending. Denzel Washington does a really good job as the homicide detective Hobbes being chased by the fallen angel, Azazel. Excellent support is provided by John Goodman as his partner. The film is genuinely creepy in places and Azazel's transference from person to person produces some really good scenes.
Overall, this movie was excellent, thanks to the superb acting from all the cast, and the great direction of the film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of my fav films!, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
i don't buy many dvd's but when i saw this i had to buy it, really good story, denzel is great in this film, as are the rest of the cast, the soundtrack is really good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slowburning Modern Classic, 1 Aug 2004
By 
John Harrington (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This stylish and extremely well crafted film is one of the most underated movies ever.It has it all, with subtle and realistic performances from an excellent blend of actors including Denzel Washington, a thoughtful John Goodman and the ever unfathomable Donald Sutherland.
It also has a real sense of suspense and tension, and a very nice and very cleverly angled take on the well trod path of the supernatural.
Washington is sublime as Detective John Hobbes, paired with a superb Goodman(don't think Roseanne because he's just in a different world here),who thinks he's seen the last of a serial killer when he witnesses his execution, but who realizes slowly that somehow the spirit of the deceased lives on. As copycat murders begin, slowly drawing Hobbes into an epic but essentially private battle of Evil and Good, it dawns on him that he isn't fighting any ordinary being, but rather an almost immortal devil whose world weary attention Hobbes has unfortunately pricked!
The film's pace is deliberately steady but never, never lets up as it gradually winds it way on to it's conclusion, where we have the final and best twist of this laconic classic.
I can't recommend this movie highly enough, it is such a jewel amongst all the crud that's followed since Seven. In fact it stands on it's own without comparison to any other film, set amongst the broody backdrop of an industrial Northern Usa city, as one of the best most beautifully wrought movies of our time.
Get it and enjoy it again and again.These rare well made and engrossing performances are the stuff Oscars should be made of, not overbites and false noses! Sail on Fallen - Time is most definitely on your side!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Time, is on my side!", 2 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fallen [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
It all starts with the execution of a serial killer, yet, as the detective who caught him (Denzel W.) finds out, it's not over. Suddenly a new serial killer is on the loose and his killing patter matches identically those of the previous serial killer. How can this be? How the hell did the first serial killer know a dialect of Aramaic (a language dead for so long)? Slowly, slowly the case begins to unfold and this sort of thing has happend before. The detective and his partner find themselves pursuing a creature who has lived and killed for eons, a creature whose power is beyond mortal, a creature who taunts their every move and sings to them "Time is on my side! Yes it is!" What is this creature? What are his powers and how can he be stopped (if he can be stopped)! Now, that this creature decides to toy with his new target, not only the life of the detective is in jeopardy but also the lives of his family and friends. This film is an 'x-files' sort of triller. I wouldn't want to say much inorder not to spoil the film itself. Yet it boasts a very good and witty script, a "villain" to be 'admired', and a cast who make you feel the stress and fear of dealing with something that is unknown! You must see this film, if you like the genre. See it if you don't like the genre....it's still a good film beacuse of it's innovation. See it quick, time might not be on your side!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time is on my side, 10 Nov 2002
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Come on ! - for all those who point out the flaws - get a grip, sit back and enjoy the film. Denzel is up to his usual brilliant level of acting and is more thah ably supported by John Goodman and Donald Sutherland. As for the plot, it seems like a normal cop thriller to start with but then the spookiness takes over and makes it brilliant. Great twists and the ending is superb. Recommend this for a spooky winter's night anytime...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen under its Spell, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Usually a prolific actor means for sub standard films. How glad I remain that Denzil Washington proves me wrong, time and again.

I loved The Bone Collector, despite the obvious differences to the book, and Fallen is another I have slowly come to adore. Odd given that on first viewing I initially was lukewarm. For those that get that same feeling... give it a chance. On second viewing it is a lot more intense.

The story follows Det. John Hobbes (Washington) and the man he put behind bars as he is condemned to death. Swearing beforehand he will return and it's not over. When strange things begin to occur and those close to him begin to die in mysterious manners, he is forced to believe as the truth stares him in the face. Will time be on his side?

Washington as par usual is fantastic in his execution of the main character. In many respects he belongs among the best. A rare actor in that he can convey every moment: each emotion with just a simple tense look.

Fallen is greatly helped by the supporting cast: Donald Sutherland, John Goodman, and Embeth Davidtz among others. All bring a credibility to the respective roles and film whilst not becoming too hammy in the process.

Something I truly love about Fallen is the fact it doesn't always go for the cheap thrills and is prepared to hold out, giving the eventual result more substance. By far Azazel is one of the creepiest villains recently portrayed in a film.

Gregory Hoblit's direction is done well, even with some pauses that break the tension, it still carries a fluidness and the score is beautifully done, complementing the movie.

What impresses in 'Fallen' specifically is the final scene/s and the sated use of colours. Whilst there is colour it is toned down to make the film serious, working well. And the jarring twist? Wow! You'll be surprised.

For me Embeth Davidtz was the star beside Washington. A beloved actress she still held her own against Hollywood legends, admirably well. And that song: time is on my side, perfect!

In a nutshell if you like thrillers that make you think, films a la 'Kiss the Girls' you will like this. I apolgise if you don't but I hope it's to your taste. A underrated lil gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Demon quality, 23 May 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Denzil Washington stars in this high class chiller in which he plays a cop trying to deal with an opponent who could literally be anybody at any time. A good cast including John Goodman and Donald Sutherland provide excellent support. Combine this with a surprisingly clever script and decent direction and you'll find a film that thrills and surprises in equal measures. No more so than the ending which has a lovely twist which I certainly didn't see coming.

Fortunately for us there is no basis in reality for this story. If there was you'd look at people a little bit differently in future. Its also worth mentioning that I shall never hear a certain Rolling Stones song in the same way again after watching this film.

This is a much better film than its fairly obscure status would tend to indicate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No violence but oh so frightening!, 18 Jun 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
You really do feel helpless watching this thoughtful,cleverly plotted supernatural thriller.
It helps that all the actors performances are top-notch and believable especially Denzil and John Goodman.The elder Sutherland plays his usual laid back charactor with aplomb.
You do need to watch this several times to appreciate the delicate balance between reality and the supernatural inferred by Gregory Hoblit who has directed another winner.Check outFrequency [DVD] [2000]by the same director.Wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rise of Fallen, 4 Feb 2009
By 
John O'Neill (Darwen England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I'm a accidental fan of Fallen its a film I didn't intend to watch but once I had,I really enjoyed it.Denzel Washington,John Goodman(Fred Flintstone),James Gandolfini(Tony Soprano) all were very believable in there rolls as three Police Detectives.
In a story with unusual twists and turns, it still keeps you intrested in the people in the film and were they're going. Its is a film with a twist at the end so I don't want to give too much away,
but if your a Denzel Washington fan well worth watching at last once unlike myself I've watched this film several times and still enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Denzel Classic, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Abbey "Mozzley MkW" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I love this movie not only as a horror film fan but for the clever story and eerie, chilling and threatening menace of an atmosphere this film generates. I'm not an all out Denzel Washington fan but he gives a strong performance in this as does the rest of a strong cast including John Goodman, Donald Sutherland and (a slimmer) James Gandolfini. A very good and surprisingly not well known movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fallen [DVD] [1998]
Fallen [DVD] [1998] by Gregory Hoblit (DVD - 1998)
£27.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews