Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid thriller
Bruce in classic cop mode plays a detective who gets busted to the river police after a murder investigation goes wrong and his dad and cousin die. A man goes to prison for the murders but Bruce is not convinced and won't let it go. Skip forward two years and he's now a functioning alcoholic with a hot new partner in the shape of a young Sarah Jessica Parker (oh yes she...
Published on 12 Nov. 2009 by PJ Rankine

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good action
Good action/police film from Bruce Willis. There are better films in this style, but the action is consistent, the cast is good and the story decent enough. A must for Bruce Willis fans.
Published on 9 July 2010 by Pery Machado


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid thriller, 12 Nov. 2009
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Bruce in classic cop mode plays a detective who gets busted to the river police after a murder investigation goes wrong and his dad and cousin die. A man goes to prison for the murders but Bruce is not convinced and won't let it go. Skip forward two years and he's now a functioning alcoholic with a hot new partner in the shape of a young Sarah Jessica Parker (oh yes she was once!) and bodies start turning up in his stretch of the water that suggests the killer is back and with a personal agenda as the victims are linked to Bruce. This is not a 'Die Hard' but it has a reasonable amount of exciting chases and action. The picture quality is good and full screen, only stand out point on the soundtrack was at the policeman's ball where the fireworks start off screen and you hear them behind you in a surround sound set up. Definitely worth a 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Willis at his wise cracking best!, 26 Feb. 2001
By 
ptralmn@aol.com (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is a movie which sees Bruce Willis back to his Die Hard wise cracking antics. He plays a former cop who is now a river rescue officer, and when a serial killer who had killed his father, begins murdering his former girlfriends, he is caught up in the investigations. Overall a good action movie that you should see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good action, 9 July 2010
By 
Pery Machado (Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good action/police film from Bruce Willis. There are better films in this style, but the action is consistent, the cast is good and the story decent enough. A must for Bruce Willis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As dumb action movies go it's enjoyable enough, 24 April 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Splashing down in cinemas with a reputation you can smell a mile off, Striking Distance is no masterpiece but is a lot better than anyone has any right to expect given its troubled shoot and much rewritten screenplay (Willis' uncredited and unrequested additions reportedly necessitated reshooting when they turned out to be incomprehensible to preview audiences). File it under guilty pleasure, but as dumb action movies go, it's enjoyable enough with a few good action scenes and a really great car chase to keep you watching as the plot unfolds exactly as you expect.

Willis' disgraced cop-turned-river patrolman doesn't exactly show much in the way of emotion or remorse when his numerous ex-girlfriends keep on turning up dead for him to find in Pittsburgh's Three Rivers while Sarah Jessica Parker phones in her how does-she-get-the-work performance (well, by wearing tight dresses and sticking her chest out is my guess) and the killer comes on like Jay Leno with a badge on acid but the rest of the cast are good value for money, with a nice all-too-brief turn from John Mahoney as Willis' cop father (actually, most of the cops in the movie are relatives) that plays like a more amiable dress rehearsal for his role in Frasier. Sad to see Andre Breugher, so good in Glory so wasted here as an IAD prosecutor.

Only a trailer by wayt of extras on the DVD, and not even that on the Blu-ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but enjoyable., 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Formulaic, predictable, average, yet enjoyable action thriller. I'm sure most were expecting another Die Hard type film when this came out, but this is a lot more laid back in comparison and whilst nowhere near as good, shouldn't be forgotten. Willis suits his role as a disgraced alcoholic, former homicide detective who has a serial killer who is pulling him into a cat and mouse game whilst the rest of the Pittsburgh police department believes the (innocent) man they have already arrested is responsible. It's quite obvious from the start who the killer is but there is some fun in getting there, including a fairly good car chase and a couple of decent gunfights. The humour is hit and miss throughout but is welcome to lighten the tone and the supporting cast are mostly impressive, especially Dennis Farina, Tom Sizemore and John Mahoney. Sarah Jessica Parker is the weak link, but is better than most would think. Overall, this is worthy of a high end rental. 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hair today, gone tomorrow., 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I've been having some fun recently with digging out a few old films I remember enjoying when they came out at the cinema. And each one I've watched over the last few weeks I have enjoyed as much, if not more than the first time. The most recent film in my back catalog was Striking Distance. It's a bit of an underrated Bruce Willis action classic in my opinion. I think the reason it was not as popular as it should have was down to the first two Die Hard films over shadowing it. However this seemed to be the year when Willis's career stalled slightly before he bounced back in 1994 with Pulp Fiction.

Striking Distance is great action flick that sees Willis as an honest cop (Tom Hardy) within a not so honest cop family. He is forced to give evidence against a family member detective resulting in the force and family to turn their backs on him. Hardy ends up as river cop patrolling the waters ways when he finds a string of dead body's who had some significants in his life. Teaming up with a new partner Sarah Jessica Parker, they set out on an unauthorised investigation to catch the murderer.

There are some fantastic action scenes in this film, one in particular with a massive car car chase at the beginning which I concider to be one of the best. I love a good car chase and even have a best of list: The Italian Job, Ronin, The Rock, Bad Boys 2, The Dead Pool and The Rookie. On top of the car chase we have some brilliant boat chases and some quite chilling murder scenes which are pretty graphic. Dare I say it, but this film feels bit like a modern Hitchcock movie. That may sound a bit silly but the ways it's filmed, the way the suspence builds and the music score made me think of it as that. It a very solid murder mystery story with a good cast. Even SJP is pretty good and is given a bigger part that you would expect. And we have a rubbish snagging moment with our couple getting their kit off and dropping to the floor with a bit of sax in the background. And she looks ridiculas in a bright red low cut dress making her breasts look like two floppy naan breads! One other thing I noticed is that in one scene at the end we get a glimpse of Willis as he is about to kill someone in the water with a Tazer but for some strange reason he has no hair when throughout the film and after this scene he has a full mop. Check it out and see if you can spot this.

So if you fancy something a little different but still with a classic edge then get your hands on a copy of Striking Distance. Get the Bluray, the HD is top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A typical Bruce Willis thriller!, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is a detective story about a serial killer who likes to tell police about each of his crimes immediately afterwards and plays a tape of the song `Little Red Riding Hood' over the phone to taunt them. But Detective Sergeant Tom Hardy (Bruce Willis), who is one member of a police family in the Pittsburgh Police Department, is now on the case. Tom Hardy is out of favour with his colleagues because he reported his partner and cousin, Sergeant Jimmy Detillo (Robert Pastorelli), for using excessive force. However, Tom's father, Captain Vince Hardy (John Mahoney) is on his side and believes he did the right thing.

Almost from the beginning they have the killer cornered with his latest victim and a long and exciting car chase involving Tom and Vince Hardy follows. But there are several accidents along the way and in the last of these, the killer shoots Vince Hardy and gets away. All the evidence suggests the killer is a cop but Tommy's uncle, Captain Nick Detillo (Dennis Farina) railroads some unlikely suspect into custody as the killer. In a separate incident, Jimmy Detillo throws himself into the Ohio River, presumably as an act of desperation.

The story now moves on two years and Tommy is now a member of the river police with a new partner, Jo Christman, alias Emily Harper (Sarah Jessica Parker). But the bodies keep coming and `Little Red Riding Hood' keeps in touch with Tommy, even dumping his victims in the river for him to find. The dead women were all people Tommy knew earlier in his life. There is plenty of action in this movie and enough twists in the yarn to keep up the interest till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This is Hardy, go at the beep., 1 Mar. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
That's the answer phone greeting of Bruce Willis' bitter and troubled river cop Tom Hardy. Well I'm telling you all that this is John Chard and you all should go as far away from this movie at the opening credits. It's truly awful and probably stands up as a candidate for biggest collective waste of actors in the 1990s.

Directed by Rowdy Herrington (Road House), who also co-wrote it with Marty Kaplan (The Distinguished Gentleman), it's not unfair to say that expectation isn't set too high with that collaboration. But the cast on the other hand does suggest we are in for a popcorn thriller of some note. Oh how wrong that suggestion proves to be. Although Bruce Willis was at the time on a run of poorly received film's {Pulp Fiction and a career invigoration was a year away}, he still had two Die Hard movies behind him and a cult favourite in The Last Boy Scout. He was still an action star of some credibility and a draw card. Joining him in the cast are Dennis Farina, Brion James, Tom Sizemore, Andre Braugher, John Mahoney and Tom Atkins. Oh and Sarah Jessica Parker (the sarcasm is intentional). What transpires with this collection of thesps is just over 100 minutes of cliché riddled rubbish devoid of suspense and tension.

It's a pity the film is so bad because an action/cop film set on and around a river should have made for a refreshing change. Lots of boaty action mixing with a serial killer plot seemed like a good idea, but they didn't get a decent writer or director in did they? From the off all eventualities are sign posted. The killer is obvious, and this in spite of myself trying desperately not to notice the obviousness of it. I actually thought to myself that surely the makers wouldn't take the viewers for being that stupid? Even the staple requirement of a red herring jumps up and hits you on the head with a dull thud. Parker is awful, tho in fairness her character serves only to be a token bit of totty lining up to do all the same things every other badly written female cop has done in prior movies. Then there is the performance of the actor playing the villain for the film's finale. So laughable you will be forgiven for checking the DVD case to see if you picked up a Laurel & Hardy movie by mistake. The one saving grace for action junkies is a tidily constructed car chase sequence in the first quarter, but from there on in it goes downhill in quality. For the big key section set in and around a log cabin, you may find yourself stifling the laughter; such is the bad quality of the action and execution of the scenes. This is a film containing men who before this film had been in Die Hard, Midnight Run, True Romance, Red Heat, Beverly Hills Cop II & Lethal Weapon. Making the biggest crime of all involving this movie? That not one of those guys stood up during the rushes and said this is a bad action movie, lets start again. 3/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Striking all the right buttons, 18 April 2014
Bruce may be famous for his quick wit, rogue smile and action persona in films, like your Die Hard, but I always thought he was so much more, a great actor who is rather underrated in some respects, and in this thriller, he is bang on form again.
To be honest, it is one of those thrillers that I did forget about and only just found it online and remembered it and I didn't ever buy it on dvd, but now I have blu ray, and I thought I would take a look at it again and I was terrific from start to finish.
It is basically a serial killer thriller, which begins to get a bit personal towards Willis' character, Tom Hardy, but it is also about the Hardy family and a lot of dark and tragic family secrets which Tom and the other members of the family have to face. I have always been fascinated by family dramas in films like that, (same with a film like Backdraft, the sibling rivalry).
There are a few plot twists, and features a rather sexy Sarah Jessica Parker, who is terrific too as his new partner, but who is also not who Hardy thinks she is.
The film opens with a fasten your seatbelt car chase, and a really riveting one at that, quite epic in fact, and well done, and almost takes you back to some of those classic chases in films long ago. But after that, the drama is only beginning, especially after the tragic death of Hardy's father.
I absolutely love this thriller and it deserves to be up there with some of the best that Bruce has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always liked this film, 23 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I'm suprised that i am only the second person to give this a 5 star rating but i honestly enjoyed it, i've seen it at least 4 times so surely that shows that it is a good film somewhere along the lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Striking Distance [DVD] [1994]
Striking Distance [DVD] [1994] by Rowdy Herrington (DVD - 2005)
£8.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews