Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 246 toothpicks, "counting cards" and lessons in love.
Have you ever had to communicate with someone on a different wavelength as you; for example because he speaks a foreign language and you don't have an interpreter, or because he is unable to communicate verbally at all, or maybe just because you keep misunderstanding each other? If so, you know what a frustrating experience it is to have virtually no control over the...
Published on 21 April 2004 by Themis-Athena

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present
bought as a pressie for a friend. One of the classics I think and my friend says its one of her favorites
Published 7 months ago by Rozel Fitzgerald


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 246 toothpicks, "counting cards" and lessons in love., 21 April 2004
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rain Man [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Have you ever had to communicate with someone on a different wavelength as you; for example because he speaks a foreign language and you don't have an interpreter, or because he is unable to communicate verbally at all, or maybe just because you keep misunderstanding each other? If so, you know what a frustrating experience it is to have virtually no control over the situation and over making sure that you're actually understood. And in precisely this situation finds himself Charlie Babbitt (Tom Cruise), personification of the 1980s' yuppie, a used car dealer with major money problems whose only - tentative - personal attachment is to his current girlfriend Susanna (Valeria Golino). Because having learned that except for a few rosebushes and a vintage 1949 Buick Roadmaster his recently-deceased father has left virtually all of his considerable fortune to his autistic brother Raymond (Dustin Hoffman) - a brother he didn't even know he had - Charlie decides to kidnap Raymond from the Cincinnati facility where he lives, take him to California, and demand half the inheritance in exchange for his brother's return.
Now, Charlie isn't the greatest communicator himself; at least as far as listening goes; he is used to talking people down, and if that alone doesn't do the trick, he starts to yell. This, however, just doesn't work with Raymond, who lives in a world of his own and, unable to express emotion in any other way, falls into a nervous tic when feeling threatened. So for the first time in his life Charlie has to learn to accept another human being for what he is, and work *with* his bewildering methods of communication rather than against them. And subtly, very subtly, Charlie begins to change, until at last he no longer wants to relinquish custody of Raymond even after having been offered a substantial amount of money: because now money is no longer an issue at all; now it's all about genuine love for a newly-found brother and very special person.
"Rain Man" is ostensibly told from Charlie's perspective; through his, the "normal" guy's eyes we perceive Raymond's habits, tics and strange behavioral code. And even if Charlie is easy enough to snub for his superficiality and materialism, his frustration at his inability to communicate with his brother feels genuine and is something we can empathize with(albeit perhaps inadmittedly). Tom Cruise plays Charlie with a finely-tuned mix of audacity and reluctant emotion; turning a role that seems to start out as just another Cruise cliche into a character who hesitantly comes to realize his own complexities and shortcomings and learns to appreciate sensitivity, compassion and love - yet, without ever taking the role that treacherous step too far into sentimentality.
Still, important as Charlie's character is for this movie's narrative, this is from first to last Raymond's story; and by the same token Dustin Hoffman's, because the two individuals are in fact inseparable: As Hoffman once explained in an interview, he rejects the notion that acting is merely about playing a role, or that the term "my character" could ever appropriately describe his approach to a role; emphasizing that in every part he plays, he truly has to *become* the individual in question to fully be able to understand and portray him. As such, his achievement with Raymond Babbitt is breathtaking indeed; for in a role which not only imposes severe limitations on his ability to communicate traditionally but also gives him virtually no opportunity to express emotion, he conveys Raymond's frailties, unexpected strengths and, significantly, his profound humanity in a manner that lets you forget you're even looking at a piece of acting, thus accomplishing that rare feat only attained by the greatest of actors - and even among Dustin Hoffman's spectacular performances, this one stands out in particular. (He did, of course, win both the Oscar and the Golden Globe for this movie; but somehow even the industry's highest awards don't begin to express the significance of his achievement.)
Raymond Babbitt's character was based on several real-life autistic persons; and at a time when little was known about the condition even in the medical community, contributed substantially to a greater understanding of those afflicted with it. Not all autistic people are so-called "savants" like Raymond, i.e. possess genial mathematic or other abilities within the shell separating them from the outside world (and conversely, not with all of them that shell is as thick as in Raymond's case; although intricate routines do tend to play a rather important role) - so don't go rushing off with them to Vegas for an exercise in "counting cards," at least not before you've verified that they can memorize entire phone books (at least up to the letter "G"), count the toothpicks in a pile on the floor with one glimpse of an eye and determine the square root of a four- or five-digit number within a matter of seconds without so much as looking at an electronic calculator. Chances are you'd do them tremendous harm, not to mention make a complete fool of yourself.
Dustin Hoffman reportedly fought hard for this movie's production even after several directors (including, inter alia, Stephen Spielberg) had bowed out; and in one of those rare un-Hollywood-like moments even managed to maintain the movie's sense of authenticity up to the very end by prevailing on the writers to drop the projected ending. - In addition to Hoffman's awards, "Rain Man" received the coveted Oscars for Best Movie, Best Original Screenplay and Best Director (Barry Levinson, who also played the psychiatrist called upon to evaluate whether Raymond is fit to stay with Charlie), plus a number of other American and international awards. For once, the industry collectively got it right. But even if this movie hadn't received a single award, it would still remain one of recent film history's greatest and truly unforgettable moments - definitely, it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literally? Totally Mind Blowing Good Film!, 31 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say! I bought two films at the same time; this one, (Rain Man), and Forest Gump. There's no doubt about it Rain Man EASILY knocks out the latter by a LOOONG shot in terms of reality. All the accolades attributed to Forest Gump should had gone to Rain Man. There's brilliant acting by Tom Cruise and Dustin Hoffman.

Tom Cruise honed perfectly into the frustration felt by people who have to work with autistic people. People look on the surface and all too quickly judge that, 'things are not that bad', but they don't understand that it can be very hard to deal with people who are essentially robots, (although of course they are not, they are human beings with a massive communication problem), but they simply cannot comprehend emotions easily.

And Dustin Hoffman executed his part with equal brilliance having studied a particular autistic person. When you see the person who he based his character on, (he's on the dvd), you will see what good a job he actally did.

I bought this film never having seen it before but heard of it and decided it's time I did. I'm glad I bought it now the hype has long died down, it allows me to give an observent p.o.v and I can say it is seriously a very very good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My main man Charlie Babbitt., 10 Jun 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It is something of a great cinematic achievement that Rain Man became the great film it clearly is because the story surrounding it is interestingly Hollywood in itself.

Four directors, six screenwriters, two cinematographers, eight producers, writers strikes, crew change, and a studio fighting for its life.

All of the above are common knowledge but it doesn't hurt to remember these facts when viewing the award wining triumph of a movie that stands the test of time today. The film is so simple in structure it really needed something special to pull it out of the prospective banality of being "just another road movie about finding oneself", Rain Man achieves something special by tackling its subjects with very sensitive hands and splicing a believable human concept into the story via the incredible shows from its two leading men.

Dustin Hoffman gives a magical moving performance as the Autistic Savant Raymond, the ultimate complement I can pay the performance is that it really is believable, both moving and clever rolled into one artistic result. Tom Cruise is equally as great in a role that called for drastic layer changes, a role that demanded much conviction from the actor taking it on, and Cruise gives the role much depth as he goes from shallow bastard to a very emotive and feeling human being, it's a great show that stands up to reevaluation these days. A performance that seems to have sadly been forgotten in light of Hoffman's film stealing show. With a film such as this you pray that the ending can do it justice, and I'm glad to say that there is no pandering here, it's an ending that says so much because it doesn't cop out, I thank god for those rewrites because the endings to the original scripts would have had me booting the TV set out of the window. Essential cinema. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Bluray Transfer, 14 Mar 2011
By 
All I can say this bluray disc has excellent AQ and PQ. It is by miles better than the DVD version. I highly Recommend. One of my most favourite films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A STUNNING MOVIE', 15 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
One of the greatest role portrails of all time by 'Dustin Hoffman' as 'Raymond Bobbit' who's life has been restricted by autism.
'Raymond's' brother 'Charlie' (Tom Cruise) doesn't remember having a brother but becomes aware of it after the father he'd walked away from years before dies,
The 'will' leaves very little to 'charlie' but three million dollars is put in trust for 'Raymond'
'Charlie' decides in effect to kidnap his brother from the hospital he had been resident in for many years, 'Charlie' wants his share of the money.......'Raymond's' constant rambling bothers 'Charlie' at first, however a bond grows between the brothers.
Autistic people often have a talent, a fact that 'Charlie' is about to discover, watch out 'Vegas' the 'Bobbit' brothers are about to hit town.
The HD transfer is perhaps not the best, however the film certainly is...
It's funny, it's perhaps a little sad, and absolutely absorbing from start to finish., with stunning performances from both 'Hoffman'
and 'Cruise.....great film, well worth owning on either format.
Well worth a viewing or indeed a re-viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar winning performances, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this Blu-ray to replace my DVD, and it's like watching a new film because you notice so much more detail. I can recommend this Blu-ray. The film is a studied account of the relationship between two brothers, and having a brother myself I found it a touching movie to watch. Great performances by Hoffman & Cruise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as expected, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Man [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Nice reminder of when we first watched it, always a good watch, Hoffman & Cruise always very proffessional, good together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its about the experience and rewards of brotherhood., 30 April 2012
(THE FILM)Heartless Charlie Babbitt expects a vast inheritance after his estranged father dies. But Raymond, his institutionalised older brother, someone he's been totally unaware of, is willed the entire fortune instead. Raymond is an `autistic Savant' with severely limited mental abilities in some areas but with genius gifts in others. When Charlie kidnaps Raymond, the crazy cross-country drive back to Los Angeles teaches them both a few lessons in life. For as they overcome their mutual distrust of each other, a deep bond is forged as they painfully share past memories, present problems and a possible shining future together.
WHAT CAN I SAY?
This movie is a testament to how good a director Barry Levinson is! It is a Beautifully crafted storyline which has been beautifully executed.when viewing the award wining triumph of a movie that stands the test of time today. The film is so simple in structure it really needed something special to pull it out of the prospective banality of being "just another road movie about finding oneself", Rain Man achieves something special by tackling its subjects with very sensitive hands and splicing a believable human concept into the story via the incredible shows from its two leading men.
Dustin Hoffmans performance as Raymond Babbit is, in his greatest acting performance
in which he won an Oscar it is the most deserved Oscar win.one of such unmatched strength and brilliance that we often feel that we are really watching an autistic man on screen The vacant stare, the monotone voice, the screaming, it was unbelievable but also Tom Cruise and the beautiful Valeria Golino also give arguably their best ever performances in a movie that is both funny and moving throughout.
"Rain Man" still remains a smart insight into the condition. "Rain Man" gets both its story, and the issue of autism, RIGHT.
this film will opens up your eyes to autism and gives you a real insight into the relationship autism sufferers have with others.
This is definitely one of the best films of the 80's
its A moving and Beautiful and so emotional film.
Rain Man is (simply outstanding) .
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brain Man!!!, 25 Sep 2011
By 
M. Dalal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dustin hoffman...One of the finest actors.. Plays the endearing ,Autistic , Raymond(Rain man) convincingly. Supporting him admirably is a young Tom Cruise who plays his brother & has put up a very good performance.. Very well directed ..& an excellent script.. the rain man is one of the finest movies you could see. But once again , I have to mention Dustin Hoffman (Papillon,Tootsie), a power house of talent who towers above all with a superlative, oscar winning performance of an Autistic person with special abilities. A must see move & a must buy Blu ray as the sound and the picture quality are top class! And not to miss the extras.. especially the one about real life autistic people with artistic / special abilities. So go on then.. buy & enjoy watching!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good film unlike anything else I have seen, 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rain Man [VHS] [1989] (VHS Tape)
I first watched this film for a college assignment, it was really useful and taught me a lot especially about autism. The parts were played very well lots of research especially into autism must have been done, the film was realistic and had a good story line without being too predictable. i would reccomend it to most people as long as you can understand the condition Raymond has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rain Man [DVD] [1989]
Rain Man [DVD] [1989] by Barry Levinson (DVD - 2000)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews