Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Entertainment. A Raging Blu review.
Can I assume that you are all familiar with this film? An iconic classic that features one of the finest ever performances from Robert Deniro as Jake LaMotta, chronicling the rise and fall of the ill-tempered, insecure, flawed man but brilliant boxer. You are? Good, ill move onto the Bluray itself then. If you aren't familiar with this movie though, you owe it to...
Published on 23 Aug 2011 by DeeJay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes there's genius but........
So the wife and I have been reviewing the classics, and finally got round to a long overdue viewing of Raging Bull. Yes, the film is massively hyped,and maybe that didn't help from the outset. We had high expectations, further compounded my watching some excellent classics over recent weeks.

I can safely assume that there will be some negativity towards this...
Published 12 months ago by S. R. Slayford


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Entertainment. A Raging Blu review., 23 Aug 2011
Can I assume that you are all familiar with this film? An iconic classic that features one of the finest ever performances from Robert Deniro as Jake LaMotta, chronicling the rise and fall of the ill-tempered, insecure, flawed man but brilliant boxer. You are? Good, ill move onto the Bluray itself then. If you aren't familiar with this movie though, you owe it to yourself to see it. Fantastic acting performances from literally everyone involved, beautifully shot in black and white with a mesmerising soundtrack and moments in the boxing ring that look, at times, impossibly authentic.

This 30th Anniversary edition of Raging Bull uses the same transfer as the 2009 Bluray release, although that is no bad thing to be honest. The picture quality is excellent and one of the finest Bluay transfers from a 1980's film ive seen. Blacks are solid, whites are nice and crisp, the greys are varied which considering it was shot in black and white means a lot. Fine detail is very good and no DNR has been applied. There is a layer of grain over the picture, but not only is this a natural by product of the film used, it also adds to the gritty realism of the movie. Inside the boxing ring you can see the swirls of smoke passing across the ring lights, the beads of sweat on the boxers, and the blood appears thick and dark. The increased detail also allows you to really appreciate the shape Deniro got himself in to play this role. Which makes the transformation to washed up LaMotta all the more impressive.

The DTS-HD audio track is also very good, standing out in particular during the boxing scenes. You really get the feeling that you are in their with LaMotta.

Extras: Some quality extras here, most of them will have been seen before though. Thankfully, there are 4 new featurettes on this release which total up to around 40 mins. We have interviews with Scorcese and DeNiro on the making of the film and the impact it has had on their careers. Scorcese also has a feature where he talks about his early career. Remembering Jake Lamotta is from the Veteran boxers association of New York, who discuss various points of LaMottas career.

The rest of the extras have been on previous releases, but are worthwhile if you've never seen them before. The 3 audio commentaries from previous releases are all here; Cathy Moriarty on the Tonight Show; Raging Bull: Fight Night - a 4 part feature length documentary; a behind the scenes featurette; newsreel footage from Lamotta defending his title and most interesting, Deniro vs LaMotta; a shot by shot comparison of the two. It is eery how close DeNiro resembles LaMotta during the in-ring fights.

And that is your lot I guess. Overall I would say that Raging Bull has received the Bluray treatment it deserves. A fine transfer, very good audio track, all the previous extras and 40 mins of new ones. If you don't already own the 2009 release then this one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest films of American cinema, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scorsese fully utilized the cinematic medium to create Raging Bull into a work of staggering brilliance and an emotionally powerful, gritty experience. The outstanding black and white cinematography crafts a haunting visual tone while Scorsese's distinctive style of direction flawlessly embodies LaMotta's psychological and violent dilemmas.

Truly magnificent in every aspect - with absolutely exceptional performances, a superbly constructed perceptive narrative and stunningly remarkable technical work, Raging Bull is simply a phenomenal cinematic achievement. It is an unparalleled piece of work that evocatively tackles the harsh realities of the Bronx boxer and transcends to be a character study of human nature. Raging Bull is arguably the finest film from one of the greatest American auteurs and a breathtakingly striking masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Niro at his Best, 9 Sep 2003
This is by far De Niro's best performance, and that is saying something. The performance is raw and he depicts the boxer La Motta perfectly. The film shows the highs and lows of the boxer Jake La Motta, and the film is a real roller-coaster ride, De Niro takes you through all the emotions, and put together with Scorsese's brilliant direction, this film is well worth its title of 'Best film of the 80s'.
Raging Bull is the best sports film ever made, the sheer emotion it puts you through, the detailed fights scenes, the first-class sound, this has never been repeated on big screen. Rocky may be fans favourite, but this is the best.
It is hard to believe that De Niro trained for the part for over a year, fought in three fights, then shot the film, take a few months out of filming to put on 50 pounds and then finished filming. Not only the best actor, but also this shows commitment to the part.
I loved Raging Bull from the first time I saw it, I am sure I am not the only one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yes there's genius but........, 11 Nov 2013
By 
S. R. Slayford (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So the wife and I have been reviewing the classics, and finally got round to a long overdue viewing of Raging Bull. Yes, the film is massively hyped,and maybe that didn't help from the outset. We had high expectations, further compounded my watching some excellent classics over recent weeks.

I can safely assume that there will be some negativity towards this review - but ultimately I found the film long-winded with little to retain interest. Yes the sound track is solid, acting is v strong throughout with De Niro looking every inch the part and visually its unique and defining.
The trouble is you just don't care for anyone in the film, nor are the fights engaging, the drama plays out as you would expect and its a little style of substance.
I can see why people love it, i can also see why people THINK they should love it... but honestly i didn't do much, if anything for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raging bull, 16 Feb 2012
this looks amazing on blu ray the picture and sound are so perfect im glad i purchased this film. robert deniro and joe pesci are brilliant in this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorsese's Creative Peak -- A brutal, visceral classic, 18 Dec 2006
While Raging Bull is the best boxing film ever put to celluloid, it is not really a film about boxing. Instead, we get a biopic of the man, a chance for Scorese to examine his own issues of Catholic guilt -- a recurring issue in his films. Having been seriously addicted to cocaine prior to making this movie, it is also a chance for Scorsese to look at the self destruction he caused to himself by examining the rise and fall story of Jake La Motta.

Consdiering Scorsese thought this could be his last film, he put his all into making it, and it shows. Creatively this is his zenith, with his mesmerising black-and-white style and the brutal yet almost grandiose fight scenes.

If Scorsese is at his best in this movie, it can be argued that so too is De Niro. Famously pilling on pounds to play the overweight La Motta, he took his Method acting genuis to spectacular heights. Joe Pesci is superb also, another actor on top of his game in probably his best role, with Moriaty also superb as La Motta's long-suffering wife.

While De Niro got an Oscar, Scorsese was criminally ignored for the film he most deserved one. This is him at his best, though, producing a raw, brutal, visceral tale of a pugilist at war with himself that is difficult to watch yet hugely rewarding. But, alas, as with alot of film classics, they are not recognised upon release for what they are. Raging Bull is no different, widely regarded now as a modern classic, yet upon its release it lost out on the Best Picture Oscar to Ordinary People. Criminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie-making masterclass..., 16 May 2004
By A Customer
Robert De Niro's performance in Raging Bull is possibly the finest piece of acting ever witnessed on film, and carries a potentially less-than-riveting concept into the uppermost echelons of cinematic history. Other factors of course play a part, such as good supporting performances from Joe Pesci and Cathy Moriarty as the Bull's brother and wife (2nd) respectively, and of the course the masterful direction from Martin Scorsese (this being the third of four classics made by the Scorsese/De Niro team, the others being Mean Streets, Taxi Driver and GoodFellas).
The story of boxer-cum-standup comedian is rife with both glory (his early victories against Sugar Ray Robinson) and sadness, usually through his own fault (the split with his brother), and then finally redemption and reconciliation (again with his brother), and Scorsese's film throws all of them at you in equal measure, the boxing only a veneer over the central theme of perceived virility and male insecurity.
This movie is a true modern classic in its own right, and ironically probably the best black-and-white film, but this DVD package is overflowing with informative and worthwhile extras (making of's, interviews, documentaries etc), meaning that at £7.97 (the price at time of writing), this is a must buy for anyone who likes De Niro, Scorsese or just good films in general, and above all is an essential part of any DVD collection to be judged "complete".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art in a Box, 27 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This is Scorsese's masterpiece and no doubt De Niro's best performance. Much can be said about this film; But one thing that comes to mind is the use of powerfull imagery that is now regarded iconic in the film industry as being art on film.
It's not hard to believe why this film was voted 'The Best Film Of The 80's' as u sit through every last minute of the film in awe and respect for its genius script and performances.
The dvd does little for the film in terms of extras but makes up for it through the crisp picture quality and sharp score.
I recomend this film to anyone who wants to be entertained in ways that only films of this caliber han achieve. Purely inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mighty Film, 5 Sep 2003
By 
Andrew Moore "Mac User" (Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without doubt one of the all-time great films sees the pairing of Martin Scorsese and Robert De Niro.
Filmed almost entirely in black and white, De Niro plays Jake La Motta, the American middleweight fighter. While often dark and violent, Scorsese’s abundant talent is plain. From a simple shot in a mirror to the legendary fight sequences the direction is breathtaking. Joe Pesci is great as La Motta’s younger brother.
A film that is both impossible to criticise and one to judge other films by. Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - Mediocre Blu Ray., 21 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. D. Mullaney (Newcastle, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I won't comment on the movie at all, I'm not reviewing the movie, anyone who is anyone will know this is some of De Niro's best work. Fantastic.

But, the Blu is a mixed barrel of fish.

Nice extras, the sound quality is great, probably as good as It's ever going to get.

But the picture quality somewhat lacks, I'd give it a 3/5. I understand the movie is pushing 30 years old now, and obviously in black and white, but it did just seem a tad soft, and fuzzy to me. It looks a hell of a lot better than the DVD version, but I wasn't blown away.

I am happy with my purchase, but beware, don't expect miricales.

Certainly a good reccomend for any fan of the film, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raging Bull (Wide Screen) [DVD] [1981]
Raging Bull (Wide Screen) [DVD] [1981] by Martin Scorsese (DVD - 2000)
£2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews