Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic in Live Action Form, Great for the Kids and Adults, Too!!
This film is splendid, a very fine and solid effort, considering it is a live action take on the animated Disney classic, in my opinion.

The live action plot does not differ much from the animated original, bar some details, the most obvious being that the Dalmation dogs and their farm animal counterparts do not speak (when compared with the original, of...
Published on 20 April 2012 by Fox in the Box

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for kids
Evidently fed up with plundering their stories from fairy tales and native myths, Disney have decided to recycle... one of their own films! The 1961 cartoon is transformed here into a close approximation of the original movie. Glenn Close camps it up as the magnificently evil and decadent Cruella De'Vil, the head of the fashion label 'House DeVil'. One of her...
Published on 15 Mar. 2000 by Ben Elliss


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic in Live Action Form, Great for the Kids and Adults, Too!!, 20 April 2012
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film is splendid, a very fine and solid effort, considering it is a live action take on the animated Disney classic, in my opinion.

The live action plot does not differ much from the animated original, bar some details, the most obvious being that the Dalmation dogs and their farm animal counterparts do not speak (when compared with the original, of course!), but that is only because this is live action, and because it is live action, it must make a bit of sense to the viewing public.

Now, I would recommend this film to both adults and children alike. It is a good laugh for the adults and, in my honest opinion, a real treasure for the kids. As the kids watch this, they will witness both animal and human behaviour patterns and this, I feel, educates them and broadens the mind of a young child, in turn, which is excellent, all things considered.

Jeff Daniels is superbly cast as Roger, while Glenn Close is absolutely IMMORTAL as Cruella (according to the notes on the back of my DVD version of the film, it is claimed that Glenn Close is a four-time Academy Award nominee; well, with a performance like this here, it is not hard to see why at all, well done!).
Also, one must give the utmost credit to the trainers of the dogs in the film, especially those who trained the two Dalmations to portray Pongo and Perdita, respectively. They are both very believable portrayals, on both sides of the coin, and are also very respectful to the Disney animated counterparts, with the exception, of course, in this film that they do not speak.

Anyway, this is a must-have film for any Disney fan, young or old. Buy it and Happy Viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glenn IS Cruella, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
In my eyes, this 1996 live action adaption of '101 Dalmatians' is better than the animated 1961 version. Whilst the story remains the same, often staying true to the old script, it was clearly made for a modern audience, with Roger no longer an amateur songwriter, but now a computer game designer, there are several other differences (notably that the couple originally only have 15 puppies), and we now have the chance to see how Roger and Anita actually met.

Glenn Close is outstanding as Cruella De Vil, presented here as Anita's fashion designer boss, and not an old college friend like the original story goes, and it's hard to imagine any other actress even coming close to portraying her as so cold, and downright mad. Cruella always wanted a new fur coat, but I dare say that a straight jacket would have been far more appropriate. As evil as the woman was, Glenn plays her with a lot of humour, making me smile too often that I couldn't help but like her a bit.

Whilst Glenn steals the show, the other big name actors portray their characters well, particularly Hugh Laurie (especially) and Mark Williams as Cruella's dog-napping minions Jasper and Horace. As a kid, whilst watching the animated film, It always seemed to upset me that as these two kidnapped the puppies, they left the nanny so distraught (I used to live and breathe cartoons as a kid, and almost believed they were real). Here, the sweet old lady, played by the wonderful Joan Plowright puts up a real fight, and amusingly enough, can pack a punch.

The Dalmatian puppies are adorable, making me even more amazed that anyone would be happy to skin their furs for a coat. I still smile during the scene where they are watching television, and 'The Aristocats' movie comes on.

Beautifully shot, and fun for the entire family (perhaps a little scary to very young children), I can't imagine a better live action adaption of '101 Dalmatians' being done. My advise is to buy it, and prepare to be charmed, and laugh a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 101 Dalmations - great family entertainment!, 6 April 2010
By 
A. ASHLEY (Oakham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
My daughter is obsessed with Cruella de Ville and will watch this over and over again. In fact her friend watched it at our house too and used to ask to watch it every time that she came to visit. In the end I bought it for her birthday present too. Good family entertainment and Glenn Close is great as Cruella de Ville. Fast delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 101 thumbs up! (well, 5's the limit but...), 19 Mar. 2010
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
WHAT AN AMAZING LIVE ACTION MOVIE. Based on the cartoon, 101 dalmations really is one of the greatest disney movies
of all time. and 102 dalmations (and this one) are certainly my favirote. I defenitly recommend buying this and 102 dalmations if you hav'nt seen them (what!? ARE YOU MAD!? HAV'NT SEEN THEM?!) or just want them on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 101 Dalmatians, 25 Jun. 2006
By 
Dave Kraven (Burbage, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Thirty-six years later and Disney decides to update their 1960 animated classic with this enjoyably boisterous and surprisingly effective live-action feature with Glenn Close at her absolute evilest as Cruella De Vil who's on a quest to turn cute spotty dalmatian puppies into a nice fur-coat. Jeff Daniels and Joely Richardson are comfortable as the loving owners of Pongo and Perdita and their litter of 15 puppies but sadly, the live dogs lack the warm expressions - and the vocals - of their former counterparts. Other than that, it's still satisfying to watch, with its tremendous comedic sequences, Stephen Herek's commendable direction and of course, those adorable dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 101 Dalmations, with a "Fatal Attraction"., 9 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Glen Close being given the most Iconic Cruella de vil (Cruel Devil) historic role, after frightening the parents in 1987 as Alex Forrest in Fatal Attraction (another Cruel Devil, that "spooked" many a grown man), and got "bunny boiler" into the dictionary. Life doesn't get better for an actress (and her fans), in being able to "do justice", to this iconic role. To also have a good range of supporting actors, allowed to "act to their own iconic strengths", stops it getting too "Disney-ised". A good Realization of a Cartoon, in my opinion, a rare thing nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous and funny film for kids and adults!, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
My kids and I love this film and have it on video. Was pleased to find it on Amazon at a good price as am in the process of replacing all my videos with dvds. I like the oringinal animated version of this film too but if anything I like this version even better, and Glenn Close as Cruella de Vil and her two evil henchmen are very good. The dogs ofcourse are the stars too and are as cute as anything! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barks, Neighs and Tweets., 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The animal sequences must have taken many months to create and splice together. Lets not forget the players, but the animals stole the show. I'm not sure about my views on this Disney film, It didn't enthrall and was a little drawn out, too much of a muchness towards the end. Children, no doubt, will enjoy it, but, the original animated version is probably more suitable for the younger child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the Grandchildren, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
My two Grandsons were staying for a couple of days and this DVD was a contingency plan against the weather. It worked and kept a 2 and 4 year old demolition team quiet for most of a wet afternoon. Thank you Walt!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd 101 Dalmatians, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dalmatians [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I love this film and I recommended a friend to watch it. They haven't yet but they will. It's the delicate humour and of course the dogs just steal the show. Casting was perfect all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Dalmatians - Live Action (Disney) [VHS] [1996]
101 Dalmatians - Live Action (Disney) [VHS] [1996] by Stephen Herek (VHS Tape - 1997)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews