Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film
A very underrated film! The story has our main protagonist developing a genius IQ overnight and discovering that his lifelong friends grow to fear and distrust him as his IQ rapidly increases. As a sub issue, he also develops weak telekinetic abilities. Refreshingly, this ability is employed in such a way that it remains subservient to, and supports, the main thrust of...
Published on 14 Dec 2000 by hal_mustafa@hotmail.com

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but nothing special
This movie passes a couple of hours but wont leave you gagging for more - nor will it keep coming back to you for weeks on end like the very best movies do - but then you probably weren't expecting Citizen Kane were you?
Published 17 months ago by Misty In Roots


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, 14 Dec 2000
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A very underrated film! The story has our main protagonist developing a genius IQ overnight and discovering that his lifelong friends grow to fear and distrust him as his IQ rapidly increases. As a sub issue, he also develops weak telekinetic abilities. Refreshingly, this ability is employed in such a way that it remains subservient to, and supports, the main thrust of the film, which is not about a man with telekinetic powers, but rather about a man who is struggling through the changes going on both within himself and around him.
It has humour, depth, and feeling. Wonderful performances all round from JT, RD, FW... I found the film immensely enjoyable and I have to say it's one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real tearjerker!, 17 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I'm not often driven to review movies -but I have to say here that this is one of my all time favourites (and I am very hard to please). The movie is, in my opinion, such a success because it relies on the power of understatement.
Some of the heart-rending scenes are such because they are so simply done! The story line sounded a little dodgy to me at first but you are quickly drawn into what becomes an emotional rollercoaster. It's the first movie I have seen in a long time that required a FULL BOX OF TISSUES!
Watch it and weep....you have been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting and moving film, 17 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is a film which intrigues from the start. Its got a great story with great characters and has a great feel too it.
John Travolta is excellent as ever, with admirable support from Robert Duval.
If you like John Travolta you'll like this film. If you don't you will still like this film.
It's a film which allows you to escape and enjoy another part of the world and another unexplained part of the world.
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic!, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Kevin Shaw "Puzzenigmale" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Great story, great sub-plots, brilliant acting, direction and production. Travolta and Forrest-Whittaker both shine. A film for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for everyone!, 30 Aug 2003
By 
Sam "Sam" (Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
An absolutely wonderful film. John Travolta is, once again, fantastic. Very refreshing to see a film with no violence or sex but with a very heartwarming story. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is a brilliant film very cleverly thought out and John Travolta is lovely. It is a good film for a night in with the girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful film, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A Truly wonderful film with a fantastic story and fantastic Cast. John Travolta.Robert duvall,Forest Whittaker and Kyra Sedgwick are perfectly cast in a film that is both full of emotion, Drama and gentle humour. This film is a must see and is a wondorously delightful Tearjerker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars paranormal and normalilty in a phenomenal mix, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Emotion, curiosity and twists ...
A large John Travolta and Robert Duwall in a film that will remain among your favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 24 May 2008
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I'd heard of this film for some time but never felt interested enough to watch it. Then it was scheduled for TV and so, without many expectations, I started to watch it - expecting any minute to switch it off. But it was amazing - a truly warm enthralling story acted with perfection by all it's lead actors. Travolta is especially superb.

Previous reviewers have outlined the story so it's clear that if you expect high-blown sci-fi dripping with special effects, you'll be disappointed. A floating pencil, a blue light and a cracked mirror won't cut it for you - but if you want a fantastic story about a man struggling to understand himself and everyone else around him as seemingly inexplicable changes alter his life and the lives of everyone he knows, then I guarantee that you'll love this film.

And as for the final explanation and resolution - absolutely spot on, especially the final long panning shot that brings the film to an end.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
great film, one of those type of films which you can watch over and over again. Would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Phenomenon [DVD] [1996]
Phenomenon [DVD] [1996] by Jon Turteltaub (DVD - 2001)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews