Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Species with bells & whistles
OK...I'm not going to spend too much time reviewing the actual film itself - I'm sure you all know what this is about and any real fan would have probably bought the bog standard version already. No, what you probably want to know is what this "Special Edition" contains and if it is worth swapping your other version for. Well in a word....NO.
Don't get me wrong, if...
Published on 9 Sep 2004 by Gary Hilton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars She-alien on a quest to get pregnant
Any movie with an HR Giger alien is automatically worth investigating -- the man has an ongoing nightmare for an imagination.

And sadly that is the biggest innovation of "Species," an interesting but deeply flawed sci-fi movie that tries to inject some sex appeal into tentacled reptilian horrors. It's an entertaining story about a baby-crazed alien...
Published 1 month ago by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Species with bells & whistles, 9 Sep 2004
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
OK...I'm not going to spend too much time reviewing the actual film itself - I'm sure you all know what this is about and any real fan would have probably bought the bog standard version already. No, what you probably want to know is what this "Special Edition" contains and if it is worth swapping your other version for. Well in a word....NO.
Don't get me wrong, if you really want this film then THIS is the version to buy, make no mistake, but if you already own the basic release of this film then my advice would be to stick with what you've got.
This "all singing all dancing" version does contian two audio commentaries (One from actors Natasha Henstridge and Michael Madsen with director Roger Donaldson and another from director Roger Donaldson, producer Frank Mancuso Jr., Special Effects executive Richard Edlund and creator of the Sil creature Steve Johnson ) and an alternative ending. There are the usual featurettes that we come to expect on these Special editions; 'The Making of', Interviews, Designing Sil etc etc and it is all presnted in glorious Anamorphic 2.35:1 Widescreen
and Dolby Digital (5.1).
The film itself hasn't aged badly at all and still remains oddly compulsive viewing, (but then a Page 3 girl who morphs into a killing machine is always gonna grab your attention right lads?)
All in all, there IS fun to be had here, but is this a genuine attempt to give the viewer more value for money or just a cynical effort to milk the franchise and whet our appetites for Species 3 ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars popcorn, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: Species [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Species is an underrated popcorn horror which is entertaining from start to finish. As long as you're not looking for some complex, multi-layered plotline and script then just turn your brain off and enjoy the ride. Natasha Henstridge is memorable as a kind of androidy mutant thing. The supporting cast of investigators are laughably unconvincing, especially the english guy, yet the whole thing pulls together and is strangely watchable. I really liked this when it came out and watching it again I remain impressed. The special effects don't look dated at all. However, avoid the sequels at all cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..SCI-FI GEM..", 30 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Species [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a Sci-Fi classic! Very cool story, the cast is fantastic especially the very sexy Natasha Hestridge as the little girl grown up Alien disguised as a beautiful women!! the rest of the supporting cast too is great, this was one of the best movies of the 90's, the alien effects are fantastic and quite scary! Certainly worth having in any Sci-Fi collection, quite a gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A B-movie of epic proportions, 4 April 2014
This review is from: Species [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I think it’s fair to say that you can’t spell ‘Species’ without a capital B (and that’s B for ‘B-movie’). And, for an out and out B-movie, Species has to be up there with the best of them.

There is nothing particularly ‘stand-out’ about anything in it. An alien – or rather the most ATTRACTIVE alien you’ve ever seen – is unleashed on an unwitting L.A. population and we follow the rag-tag bunch charged with the task of tracking her down before she reproduces (and, if you’re interested, the ‘reproducing scenes’ are worth watching this film from most red-blooded males’ points of view!).

Absolutely nothing new to see, just a hell of a load of cheesy fun that, albeit quite serious, never gets heavy enough to drag the film down into a melodrama. It just manages to stay slightly above ‘tongue-in-cheek’ to allow everyone (and when I say ‘everyone’ I probably just mean men) to enjoy the crazy, corpse-strewn ride.

There are plenty of memorable moments, but most of those involve a nude woman. Yes, you’re completely right in thinking that ‘Species’ is hardly a deep and meaningful film, filled with Oscar-worthy dialogue and complicated character arcs. It’s cheesy, tacky, low-brow, but ultimately great fun.

Enjoy with popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars She-alien on a quest to get pregnant, 23 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Species [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Any movie with an HR Giger alien is automatically worth investigating -- the man has an ongoing nightmare for an imagination.

And sadly that is the biggest innovation of "Species," an interesting but deeply flawed sci-fi movie that tries to inject some sex appeal into tentacled reptilian horrors. It's an entertaining story about a baby-crazed alien woman and the group who is trying to stop her, but the story falls apart at the end.

An alien civilization sent SETI a formula for combining their DNA with ours. Scientists created a half-alien child named Sil (Michelle Williams) -- and when they try to kill her to "terminate" the experiment, she breaks out. So Xavier Fitch (Ben Kingsley) calls on a bounty hunter (Michael Madsen), two scientists (Alfred Molina, Marg Helgenberger) and an empath (Forest Whitaker) to find her.

The problem is, Sil has rapidly matured into a beautiful woman (Natasha Henstridge) and is driven by an incredibly strong reproductive drive. Unfortunately, she's also leaving a trail of corpses behind her. The team are playing a wild cat-and-mouse game with the sensual alien, hoping to stop her before she pops out a kid.

There are two major things you will remember about "Species": HR Giger's elegantly nightmarish design for Sil's true form... and boobies. Lots of boobies. It's basically your standard people-hunting-an-alien story, but with the addition of some steamy sex scenes and lots of nude/semi-nude Natasha Henstridge.

And for the first 3/4ths, it works fairly well. The story is split between Sil's adventures in L.A. and the team's attempts to track her, and there's a healthy dose of gore, sex, and nightmarish surrealism (GNASHING SKULL TRAIN!). But things unravel in the last act when Sil transforms into a hilariously awful CGI model, and the sillness is amped up to 11 -- seriously, nipple tentacles?!

As for the characters... well, none of them are very fleshed out. Michael Madsen is interesting as a bounty hunter for the government, and Molina and Helgenberger are pretty standard "good scientist" types. Ben Kingsley looks vaguely disinterested, as if he doesn't really want to be here.

Oh, and Forest Whitaker is UTTERLY WASTED as the Deanna Troi "empath." Seriously, the dude never says anything that either hasn't been revealed already, or isn't glaringly obvious. If Sil had stolen a fridge filled with food, his brilliant revelation would be, "She's hungry." He could have been cut from the movie without any impact.

But Natasha Henstridge is really brilliant as Sil. She's an enigmatic, childlike creature with a child's cruelty and curiosity -- she's as likely to smash another woman's spine as she is to buy a frilly dress, and Henstridge really gives it life.

"Species" is burdened with flimsy characters and a silly climax, but it is a fairly entertaining "killer alien" story nonetheless. Too bad they didn't stop here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant audio!, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Species [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Never going to be an Oscar winning sci-fi movie, despite the involvement of H R Giger, as his "species" creation is pretty awful. A long way short of his wonderful efforts in "Alien". That said, two things stand out for me. Firstly, the 5.1 "Lossless" audio is brilliant, particularly if you have a surround sound system. Secondly, the lovely Natasha Henstridge!!! Two audio commentaries and two featurettes included, although they are nothing special. Could be compared to Tobe Hooper`s "Lifeforce" movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a film Natasha is very sexy. Worth watching just for Natasha !, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great sci-fi film with a beautiful lady as the alien. Very good film and worth watching.A+++. Also on the DVD some good extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original improvement, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Improvement in content from the original through added material. Good performances from cast who went on to better things in film and T.V. Must for fans of thegenre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Species [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Although this is and old film, my family and I never get tired of watching it over again, its great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Natasha is the reason to watch this, not her 'alien', 23 May 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Species [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I'm almost ashamed to say that the exquisitely perfect body of a fairly often nude Natasha Henstridge is my main reason for enjoying 'Species'. Aside of that, the film now seems slightly laughable, the SFX elementary and Alfred Molina, plain awful.

Forest Whittaker isn't much better and Michael Madsen just stupid. Ben Kingsley adds some credence as the ruthless scientist who has "developed" the little girl who then goes on to grow up into a sex hungry alien who only wants to reproduce her own 'Species' with the help of human sperm.

It's a film that I can quarter watch, whilst doing something else. I don't take it seriously and there is little suspense and is certainly not in the league of 'Alien' and the like. I don't really like any of the sequels and wouldn't watch them again.

Yes, three stars is probably a little generous, but we all have illogical reasoning when it comes to things we really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4beccf0)

This product

Species [DVD] [1995]
Species [DVD] [1995] by Roger Donaldson (DVD - 2000)
5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews