Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars109
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 February 2010
I'm not usually a fan of westerns but this well-paced film held my attention throughout. It has a unique look and is brilliantly and imaginatively photographed and choreographed. The setting has as much character as the actors, and you can enjoy all the details on Blu-Ray. Jaw-dropping moments, besides the gunfights themselves, included Sharon Stone storming upstairs in the saloon to the bordello (crammed with background happenings), and every time you got a wide shot of the scenery behind the actors.

It is a little disappointing that there are no extra features. All you get is a fine transfer of the film itself, with English, Spanish and Italian (if memory serves) Dolby TrueHD sound. But this is a film you'll want to savour the look of even in the absence of a commentary track or featurette.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2010
This movie on Blu-Ray is great -- what an underrated movie. AQ and PQ are really good. I live in the US and bought from Amazon UK to get the deleted scenes that were removed from the US version. I'm really glad I bought the UK version.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
I regard myself as a bit of a Western fanatic, but ones that have depth and meaning with the gunfights as a secondary issue. However,once in a while, a film comes along that is pure escapism and the "Quick and the Dead" fits this bill perfectly.

To be really enjoyable, however, the acting, direction,scenery etc must be top notch. This film has it all with an entertaining storyline, that has a good twist at the end.

Gene Hackman, as the Baddie!! is brilliant and the rest of the cast support him to the hilt.

So, if the weather is bad, you have had a bad day and so forth and want to be entertained for nearly an hour and three quarters, look no further than this movie, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
I'm somewhat of a western enthusiast but I never enjoyed this film very much. There is an unwritten boarderline with how westerns should go in my world. This is not a statement which claims to predict story endings, I'd never attempt to do that because of director creativity. There is something underliningly unsavoury felt when watching this film. The actors act well, the storyline has some potential and there has been a little thought to detail (although I can't imagine why anyone would wish to live in such a place). I guess then its the special effects. The director has tried to create some code of honour from a group of gunfighters who, when you watch them; have not code at all. If it was reclassified as a horror flick, it would do much better. If you're looking for a good western I would'nt recommend this. Instead, try Broken trail, open range or Lonesome dove which will entertain you much better. I did watch this film, but I'll never watch it again!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2000
I'm glad that I have the chance to be the first reviewer of this movie, for in general it was considered as a failure both for S Stone and S Raimi to resurrect style and hype of spaghetti-westerns.Despite its several flaws (like numerous annoying shots of the main characters' eyes staring intently at each other to enhance suspense, Ms Stone's at times blank face when it should reflect stronger emotions, some characters so bad and revolting that they make you chuckle), I've seen it for the second time and it made me grab my chair in childish excitement.
The plot is stark simple (see above, but in short a dozen rascals participating in a lethal shooting contest till last man standing), as well as the reasons driving the main characters to participate in the murderous contest: Ms Stone - to avenge her father, the Kid (L d Caprio) - to win his father's respect, Herod (J Hackman) - to keep townsfolk submissive and to teach his best and repented "pupil" Cort (R Crow) a lesson of abeyance, others - for money (but they don't matter).
True, leading actors carry out the plot on their steady shoulders: * R. Crow emanates sexual charisma and suppressed prowess (long before world wide fame as macho Maximus the Gladiator) even if he spends all the movie shackled and beaten. ...*L de Caprio is well into the shape of boyish and outside haughty/inside weak-trying-to-prove-he's-better-than-his-father, long before downpour of post-Titanic fame. *J Hackman isthe perfect scoundrel,ageing scavenger, full stop. As to * Sh Stone, she remains one of the sassiest and talented actresses for me(praise her, fore she spends 2/3 of the movie rather disheveled), despite several movie flops she's participated in. She's carried her role well, with mixed feelings of despair, indifference and revulsion (at least I can't imagine any other actress in this role).
The end is unexpected and is not a usual annoying happy-end. What more do you need? Watch and enjoy and don't compare this movie with any earlier masterpieces. ...it may count S Raimi's best movie so far.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
Blimey.
Sam Raimi does it again, and makes a great movie from very poor pickings. His innovative direcorial style and creative minimalist use of SFX make this a surprising visual treat.- His cinematographer must have been working hard to get the lighting right on 99% of the shots, as most of the movie is shot outdoors. -the more money in the kitty, the more external shots.
Stone isn't a strong lead, but is well supported by her co stars, Hackman, Dicaprio, and Crowe in his first Hollywood role.
The film is typical of the nineties, i mean when have you ever seen a decent female cowboy in a mainstream Hollywood movie?- Political correctness enters the movie making arena!
As is always the way with Raimi, good and evil battle it out, while neither side are particularly complex, it's still fun predicting the outcome.
The slightly cliched costume choice and the (at times) cheesy dialogue do not hamper the film as much as you might think, and the steamy scene between Crowe and Stone makes it even more appealing. (Producer Stone actually put production on hold to wait for Crowe to finish filming in Oz)
Memorable for the gender role reversal, seeing a woman get tough, and most of all, the amazing clean teeth of the goodies, compared to the blacked up teeth of the baddies!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
Shame really, impressive film title and cast add's to excited anticipation for this movie. Unfortunately, as with the premis of the film, the protagonists taking part in 'the contest', the crux of the film, are presented, and from there unfortunately, the predictability of the plot presents itself, all singing and dancing with 'bells & whistles'. You see the participants and immeadiately deduce who will be killed off and who will remain at the films' end. Most annoying is director' Raimi's fascination with Ms Stone, as she is in virtually every shot/scene, with Mr Crowe almost as popular. A heavy-handed plot and an outcome so glaringly obvious, weak sub-plots and flashbacks will enable a clued-up' viewer to predict the movie's end. Hopefully I've reviewed this without giving away any of the storyline/plot, and do note, this is only my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2007
Brilliant movie with a fantastic cast.
Sharon Stone comes into town as a damaged woman seeking revenge for the murder of her family and has to enter a shoot out competition to get to the man responsible . Gene Hackman is the best of the best and Leonardo de Caprio is his wayward son who is cockey and just perfect in his role. Hackman shows he has no morals and blatantly blasts his son away.I dont normally like Russell Crowe but he does a fab job of a man of god and a slight love story while Lance Henriksen is another gun slinger who unfortunately bows out way too soon. The gun fights are pretty good and the lost shot of Hackman is fantastic at the final showdown.

Oh Sharon is really sexy too.

Not quite a spaghetti but a great attempt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
I am a big fan of some of the great Sergio Leone and Clint Eastwood movies of the past and this film owes a lot to these classic westerns but with an added modern twist. The performances are all great from the very impressive cast of Sharon Stone, Gene Hackman, Russell Crowe Lance Henrickson and Leonardo di Caprio. The plot is not original as the film is all about Stone's character avenging her father's death. Many of the villains are both ugly and nasty. The gunfighting contest is an interesting twist as is Sharon Stone taking on a role you would have associated with Clint Eastwood.

All in all this is a very enjoyable film and looks very impressive in Blu Ray.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sam Raimi was still untamed by Hollywood, and determined to be as innovative as possible, when he did this Western. The overall memory you will take away with you, is not the performances (which are fine, but hampered by the shallow characterisation in the script) but the distinctive angles and point of view shots that made the Evil Dead series so memorable.

The story is stolen from a number of different famous spaghetti Westerns - virtually everything you see could be described as an homage to one spaghetti Western or other, such as Sharon Stone's motivation, which is almsot straight from 'Once Uopn a time in the West. Even the music has Jews harps and cracking whips... Sadly, the effect is only to remind you that they don't make them like they used to. ...

The story is uncomplicated - Sharon Stone is the (wo)man with no name who rides into town bent on revenge, with the town mayor (Gene Hackman) in her sights. Hackman rules the town with an iron fist, and he has organised a gunfight competition, bringing the fastest shootists around to win the cash prize. Also in the competition are his son (Leo deCaprio) and unwilling participator The Preacher (Russell Crowe).

Sharon Stone had a producers role here, and isisted on the casting of then-unknowns Leonardio DeCaprio, and Russell Crowe.. the casting alone is enough reason to buy this film. Gene Hackman gives a menacing performance, and Stone is OK, but truth be told unconvincing in the role.

In short, this is a wild ride of a film, with lots to enjoy in the acting line-up and highly stylised visual look. Just don't expect something thought provoking - This is a comic book style version of a Western.. it's ironic that Raimi had an even more comic book style here than he did in Spiderman! Well worth its budget cost for the curioisty value..
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)