Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Raimi's Spaghetti Western
I'm not usually a fan of westerns but this well-paced film held my attention throughout. It has a unique look and is brilliantly and imaginatively photographed and choreographed. The setting has as much character as the actors, and you can enjoy all the details on Blu-Ray. Jaw-dropping moments, besides the gunfights themselves, included Sharon Stone storming upstairs in...
Published on 9 Feb 2010 by S. Day

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Half baked spaghetti western
The idea of this film - an organised gunfight where the winner takes all, is one I haven't seen before and it has some great actors, but it suffers from some atrocious plagiarising of classic spaghetti western scenes and some big plot holes. There is also some very hammy acting, but overall it is worth watching to see a very young DiCaprio, and Gene Hackman as a...
Published 4 months ago by Ossary


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Raimi's Spaghetti Western, 9 Feb 2010
By 
S. Day (Ewell, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not usually a fan of westerns but this well-paced film held my attention throughout. It has a unique look and is brilliantly and imaginatively photographed and choreographed. The setting has as much character as the actors, and you can enjoy all the details on Blu-Ray. Jaw-dropping moments, besides the gunfights themselves, included Sharon Stone storming upstairs in the saloon to the bordello (crammed with background happenings), and every time you got a wide shot of the scenery behind the actors.

It is a little disappointing that there are no extra features. All you get is a fine transfer of the film itself, with English, Spanish and Italian (if memory serves) Dolby TrueHD sound. But this is a film you'll want to savour the look of even in the absence of a commentary track or featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray, 2 Mar 2010
This movie on Blu-Ray is great -- what an underrated movie. AQ and PQ are really good. I live in the US and bought from Amazon UK to get the deleted scenes that were removed from the US version. I'm really glad I bought the UK version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You may be unexpectedly surprised..., 25 Sep 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm glad that I have the chance to be the first reviewer of this movie, for in general it was considered as a failure both for S Stone and S Raimi to resurrect style and hype of spaghetti-westerns.Despite its several flaws (like numerous annoying shots of the main characters' eyes staring intently at each other to enhance suspense, Ms Stone's at times blank face when it should reflect stronger emotions, some characters so bad and revolting that they make you chuckle), I've seen it for the second time and it made me grab my chair in childish excitement.
The plot is stark simple (see above, but in short a dozen rascals participating in a lethal shooting contest till last man standing), as well as the reasons driving the main characters to participate in the murderous contest: Ms Stone - to avenge her father, the Kid (L d Caprio) - to win his father's respect, Herod (J Hackman) - to keep townsfolk submissive and to teach his best and repented "pupil" Cort (R Crow) a lesson of abeyance, others - for money (but they don't matter).
True, leading actors carry out the plot on their steady shoulders: * R. Crow emanates sexual charisma and suppressed prowess (long before world wide fame as macho Maximus the Gladiator) even if he spends all the movie shackled and beaten. ...*L de Caprio is well into the shape of boyish and outside haughty/inside weak-trying-to-prove-he's-better-than-his-father, long before downpour of post-Titanic fame. *J Hackman isthe perfect scoundrel,ageing scavenger, full stop. As to * Sh Stone, she remains one of the sassiest and talented actresses for me(praise her, fore she spends 2/3 of the movie rather disheveled), despite several movie flops she's participated in. She's carried her role well, with mixed feelings of despair, indifference and revulsion (at least I can't imagine any other actress in this role).
The end is unexpected and is not a usual annoying happy-end. What more do you need? Watch and enjoy and don't compare this movie with any earlier masterpieces. ...it may count S Raimi's best movie so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great classic of this genre, 14 Feb 2012
Review? Gene Hackmann, Russel Crow, Leo DiCaprio and stunning Sharon - for those for whom it's not enough: plenty of action, packing story, great acting and the "good, old days" - as for me this is one the "must haves". And with blu ray great transfer, the picture is clean and sharp, and you hear the bullets whistling as if you where there...

GREAT STUFF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate westerns, so why do i love this one? - by EML, 8 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Quick And The Dead [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Blimey.
Sam Raimi does it again, and makes a great movie from very poor pickings. His innovative direcorial style and creative minimalist use of SFX make this a surprising visual treat.- His cinematographer must have been working hard to get the lighting right on 99% of the shots, as most of the movie is shot outdoors. -the more money in the kitty, the more external shots.
Stone isn't a strong lead, but is well supported by her co stars, Hackman, Dicaprio, and Crowe in his first Hollywood role.
The film is typical of the nineties, i mean when have you ever seen a decent female cowboy in a mainstream Hollywood movie?- Political correctness enters the movie making arena!
As is always the way with Raimi, good and evil battle it out, while neither side are particularly complex, it's still fun predicting the outcome.
The slightly cliched costume choice and the (at times) cheesy dialogue do not hamper the film as much as you might think, and the steamy scene between Crowe and Stone makes it even more appealing. (Producer Stone actually put production on hold to wait for Crowe to finish filming in Oz)
Memorable for the gender role reversal, seeing a woman get tough, and most of all, the amazing clean teeth of the goodies, compared to the blacked up teeth of the baddies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TQATD: Blu-ray---"I gave him a way out, he wouldn't take it"--- yeahhh, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Maziar (NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok not the best western ever made but certainly good enough and worth every penny of the 7 asking price for a Blu-ray movie of this quality. Great cast (Sharon stone looks her hottest ever), nice 1 liners (e.g."takes a lot to scare me, I love the sensation" and "wanna play poker with me little lady"? ...... "looks like you're having a great time playing with yourself") and a superb colour palate of golds, sandy browns and light oranges, which make for a very distinctive but memorable look and feel of the whole movie.
The Blu-ray transfer is a fairly decent job considering the age of the movie and the upgrade in picture quality compared to the DVD is noticeable. The picture nevertheless looked very slightly grainy in places, which is why I have only given 4 stars. The Dolby trueHD 5.1 audio is good especially if you have a decent surround sound setup. So is it worth the upgrade from a DVD? Imo yes. There are no fancy extras on the disc but for me that's a minor niggle. A great watch at a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking western, 28 May 2010
By 
Mr. Jeremy N. Harcourt "jh018q3487" (Horley, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of some of the great Sergio Leone and Clint Eastwood movies of the past and this film owes a lot to these classic westerns but with an added modern twist. The performances are all great from the very impressive cast of Sharon Stone, Gene Hackman, Russell Crowe Lance Henrickson and Leonardo di Caprio. The plot is not original as the film is all about Stone's character avenging her father's death. Many of the villains are both ugly and nasty. The gunfighting contest is an interesting twist as is Sharon Stone taking on a role you would have associated with Clint Eastwood.

All in all this is a very enjoyable film and looks very impressive in Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining comic book style Western, 11 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick And The Dead [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Sam Raimi was still untamed by Hollywood, and determined to be as innovative as possible, when he did this Western. The overall memory you will take away with you, is not the performances (which are fine, but hampered by the shallow characterisation in the script) but the distinctive angles and point of view shots that made the Evil Dead series so memorable.

The story is stolen from a number of different famous spaghetti Westerns - virtually everything you see could be described as an homage to one spaghetti Western or other, such as Sharon Stone's motivation, which is almsot straight from 'Once Uopn a time in the West. Even the music has Jews harps and cracking whips... Sadly, the effect is only to remind you that they don't make them like they used to. ...

The story is uncomplicated - Sharon Stone is the (wo)man with no name who rides into town bent on revenge, with the town mayor (Gene Hackman) in her sights. Hackman rules the town with an iron fist, and he has organised a gunfight competition, bringing the fastest shootists around to win the cash prize. Also in the competition are his son (Leo deCaprio) and unwilling participator The Preacher (Russell Crowe).

Sharon Stone had a producers role here, and isisted on the casting of then-unknowns Leonardio DeCaprio, and Russell Crowe.. the casting alone is enough reason to buy this film. Gene Hackman gives a menacing performance, and Stone is OK, but truth be told unconvincing in the role.

In short, this is a wild ride of a film, with lots to enjoy in the acting line-up and highly stylised visual look. Just don't expect something thought provoking - This is a comic book style version of a Western.. it's ironic that Raimi had an even more comic book style here than he did in Spiderman! Well worth its budget cost for the curioisty value..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this movie, 21 May 2003
This review is from: The Quick And The Dead [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, I don't normally enjoy westerns but I found that I could really relate to this, especially to Russell Crowe and Sharon Stone, who both had really good parts, well done, a real master piece!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick And The Dead [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Very different western seen it before and would watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Quick And The Dead [DVD] [1998]
The Quick And The Dead [DVD] [1998] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 1998)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews