Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars It errs in the subterranean tunnels of their minds
A film with not much depth except of course that of the subway, but the action is interesting in itself, and the number of stuntmen and stuntwomen is there to prove it.

A bureaucrat is at the head of the New York Transport Police Department (NYTPD for short and cop for even shorter) and for him there is only one thing that counts: the money train that gathers...
Published 9 months ago by Jacques COULARDEAU

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly ridiculous yet strangely riveting
Wesley and Woody play two brothers (!) who work as transit cops. Woody's a gambling junkie with a huge debt on his back while Wesley plays the straight man who's getting a little tired of constantly having to bail his brother out. Desperate, Woody plans to hijack the Money Train that rides along to each station, collecting the night's collections. Folks, believe me when I...
Published on 1 May 2007 by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly ridiculous yet strangely riveting, 1 May 2007
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Wesley and Woody play two brothers (!) who work as transit cops. Woody's a gambling junkie with a huge debt on his back while Wesley plays the straight man who's getting a little tired of constantly having to bail his brother out. Desperate, Woody plans to hijack the Money Train that rides along to each station, collecting the night's collections. Folks, believe me when I tell you that it actually gets more ridiculous. Add to the mix a pyromaniac token booth bandit, Jennifer Lopez, Robert Blake in a performance so hammy that you can almost smell the bacon coming from your tv, action sequences that are unabashedly ridiculous and you have yourself... Money Train. My favorite moment comes when Robert Blake, after having been informed of the possibility of civilian casualties if the hijacked Money Train continues to speed ahead on the local line, responds with the now-classic line, "That's what we live with." I was laughing so hard that tears were squirting out of my eyes. This movie is utterly ridiculous yet strangely riveting. Wesley Snipes plays his usual cocky, confident self and it seems to me that he won't accept a role these days unless he gets to kick someone in the face. Woody Harrelson looks like he smoked one too many blunts in this one. I actually prefer his character here over Wesley's and that's not saying much. Jennifer Lopez looks damn good but I can't help but think how stupid she is in real life. I really don't know where else to go with this review other than to recommend watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It errs in the subterranean tunnels of their minds, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A film with not much depth except of course that of the subway, but the action is interesting in itself, and the number of stuntmen and stuntwomen is there to prove it.

A bureaucrat is at the head of the New York Transport Police Department (NYTPD for short and cop for even shorter) and for him there is only one thing that counts: the money train that gathers the inflowing money of the subway and takes it to the proper safe somewhere well protected. For him all human beings, his employees, those of the subway system and the passengers who probably are nothing but silent users, at least for him, are pawns on some draughts board, a game that some call checkers. In other words he is a pecuniary financial criminal if not assassin but he has his title and pedigree on his side: he is a gangster in an official authority job: he can have a kid killed if he decides so.

The couple of cops that gets extended to a triad shortly after the beginning with a woman are just tense and living on the brink of a nervous breakdown all the time. One is black and cool, but over protective towards the other one he calls his brother and is white. That white man is addicted to cards and he is a great loser and like all losers he is addicted to losing in the name of the absolutely unproved fact that he may win one day. Read my lips and follow my eyes. You can see the social trashcan over there? That's where gamblers always end, except if they cheat and as long as they are not exposed.

They have the tendency to always share and yet bitch about everything they share and they love each other so strong that they can break up and yet the black man will run after the white man (who is a psychic boy) within seconds after he knows his white brother is in danger or in jeopardy. And the girl will just do the same at the end and save the day.

Out of frustration white boy decides to rob the money train of mister bureaucratic money-obsessed boss and he succeeds of course. But black boy comes running after him to prevent him from stealing the money. They will manage properly; the rest is for you to discover. But there is no surprise, nearly no surprise, well not too many surprises.

Enjoy the action even if the film is as light as a leaf in the Fall, as for content. Typical of that easy going President they had in the USA then in 1995. Just forget about your PTSS and enjoy the sunshine on the beach.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never Forget Your Family, 31 July 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I've always loved this movie, it's actually in my top ten, not because of a daring robbery, or it's an alternative Christmas film, but because of the camaraderie between Snopes' character John, and Charlie's attitude to John (Charlie being played by Woody Harrelson), and the way they are brothers who will stand the test of time.

This film is amazing, showing us how brothers no matter what colour or creed can get on together, even though they have ups and downs, and they're not prepared to let money get in the way, not like crazy Patterson who's obsession with the train leads to a power struggle between good and bad - and Officer Santiago's arrival onto the scene is memorable (played by Jennifer Lopez)

This isn't the first outing for Wesley and Woody, they have worked on White Men Can't Jump back in 92, and have shown that yet again as a duo they work perfectly together, it just seems when one starts - the other is motivated by the other. In some ways it feels like they're brothers - even as basketball hustlers in their first outing. The pair just gel, and it's always good to see, like Glover and Gibson in the Lethal Weapon movies.

Obviously the storyline is daft, but this film stands tall over that, and is worth watching, even if it's just the once to say you didn't enjoy it.

Give it a go, the worst that can happen is you'll waste an hour and a half, seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film for Wesney Snipe fans, 2 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This has it all drama, action and comedy - if you are one of these people who enjoy these films then go for it, you will not be disappointed, great film to spend an evening with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent action drama, 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Snipes and Harrelson look like they're having a ball in this fast paced action caper. The boys are adopted bothers and work as transit cops suffering beneath a megalomaniac boss whose only priority is the revenue collection train, the money train of the title. When Harrelson falls foul of his gambling debts he decideds to rob the train and its upto Snipes to help or hinder his brother. JLo decorates the rather dour underground world they inhabit but her scripting doesn't get beyond being Snipes love interest. Parts of the scripts character motivations feel a little muddled at times making it less slick than the likes of Die Hard and Lethal Weapon but it's a fun ride with plenty of action so I enjoyed it for what it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wesley and woody r back, 10 Dec. 2000
By 
steven j wilson (woolwich, london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After the master piece that was white men cant jump i was left with a faint hope that these two stars would reunite to work together again. Here it is, and it dont disappoint the story bears a little thin but has a strong point that family does not have to be blood relations and ur left asking if u had the opportunity would u try it and get away. Not by any means the best snipes film but worthy of attention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. George Brooks (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Found it really funny as well as the action scenes really enjoyable. First time seeing the movie and would reccomend to anybody else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Brilliant film delivered next day and I really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very funny!!, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Tan "PhilipTan's comment" (NL (EUR) & CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Train [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
too much forced jokes, quite predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
no problems worth getting a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Money Train [DVD] [1996]
Money Train [DVD] [1996] by Joseph Ruben (DVD - 2004)
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews