Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (167)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Comfort Film - And A Glorious English Romance!
Some people have comfort food to help them through dull, drizzly evenings. I have comfort films, and Ang Lee's, (and Emma Thompson's), "Sense And Sensibility" is one of my favorites. I have watched this movie several times since I first saw it, and it never fails to lift my spirits.
This glorious romance of mores and manners, set during England's Regency Period, is...
Published on 16 Feb. 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing
I found this Blue ray transfer pleasing, however darker scenes don't do much justice for the HD aspect, not well defined, this production is 1995, the transfer is fair to average, outdoor scenes scrub up well,the audio level on DTS is low, having to crank my amplifier up to a lot higher level is required to get audible dialogue, its just not in the same the league of say...
Published 20 months ago by Geoffrey Dixon


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Comfort Film - And A Glorious English Romance!, 16 Feb. 2005
Some people have comfort food to help them through dull, drizzly evenings. I have comfort films, and Ang Lee's, (and Emma Thompson's), "Sense And Sensibility" is one of my favorites. I have watched this movie several times since I first saw it, and it never fails to lift my spirits.
This glorious romance of mores and manners, set during England's Regency Period, is very faithful to Jane Austen's brilliant novel. The film vividly brings the novel, with all its characters, to life. The plot focuses on two of the three Dashwood sisters, Elinor and Marianne, and their extremely different temperaments. Emma Thompson wrote this wonderful screenplay and earned an Academy Award for her efforts. She added pizzazz to the film, with an extra dash of drama, some humor, splendid panoramic views and a fabulous ball scene.
A lovely, young Kate Winslet plays Marianne Dashwood to perfection. Marianne is a passionate young woman, with a definite inclination toward the humanities: art, music and literature. Her heart rules her head, more often than not, and she has a very spontaneous nature. Emma Thompson gives a strong performance as Elinor Dashwood, the older of the two sisters. She has a more practical, sensible temperament. While Elinor appreciates the music and literature that her sibling so passionately loves, she definitely thinks things through before making decisions, or taking action, and keeps her personal feelings to herself. She feels tremendous responsibility for her family's well-being. Ms. Thompson gives Elinor a wicked, dry sense of humor, and her character adds much wit to the dialogue. Marianne believes that Elinor, whom she dearly loves, is too cold, and restrained - more concerned with propriety than with feelings. Elinor, on the other hand, is concerned about Marianne's open and guileless behavior. She fears her sister will be hurt by indulging in her strong emotions, and that conventional society will condemn her for this attribute.
The movie opens dramatically, with Mr. Dashwood, the girls' father, on his deathbed, begging his son and heir, (by his first marriage), to please take care of his wife and three daughters after he dies. The spineless John Dashwood sincerely promises his father to do so, and then is persuaded not to by his greedy wife, Fanny, in a wonderful satire-filled scene. Before Elinor, Marianne, their adorable younger sister Margaret, and their mother are forced to leave their home, the Norwood estate, they meet Fanny's brother, the shy and kind Edward Ferrars, (Hugh Grant). Over a period of a few weeks, while the women are packing their belongings, Elinor and Edward grow obviously fond of each other. Their attachment is interrupted by Fanny, who senses the bond forming between her sister-in-law and her brother, and urges the four Dashwood women to leave immediately for their new home.
Upon arriving at their new residence, Barton Cottage, near the estate of Mrs. Dashwood's cousin John, the women meet their relatives and some new neighbors. Colonel Brandon, played by the charismatic Alan Rickman, is included in the welcome party. Brandon is drawn at once to the beautiful, musical Marianne, who does not reciprocate his affection. Instead she falls madly in love with the dashing Willoughby, and Greg Wise is extremely charismatic with his persuasive performance as the reckless, feckless young suitor.
The family settles in and explores their surroundings. Elinor waits in vain for Edward to visit her at Barton Cottage. Willoughby's expected marriage proposal to Marianne is unexpectedly interrupted. Two unhappy sisters travel to London for the season, hoping to settle their romantic affairs, and instead, find their dreams thwarted.
I won't give the story away, but it is a tale told wonderfully well, dramatized to perfection by extraordinary actors, and directed by the incomparable Ang Lee. Too many superlatives? You won't think so after you have seen "Sense And Sensibility."
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb job of bringing Jane Austen's novel to the screen, 4 Jun. 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I suppose it makes perfect sense that if you want to make a 19th-century English romance novel into a superb film you hire an actress almost twice the age of the main character to not only play the role but also adapt the screenplay into a book and then hire a Taiwanese director to direct the film. You might say, yes, such things happen in Hollywood, but the success of "Sense and Sensibility" is due to what transpired in England, not Southern California. Having read the novel and the original screenplay, the largest share of credit goes to Emma Thompson, who deservedly received the Oscar for Best Screenplay Adaptation. Thompson began by dramatizing every scene in the novel, which resulted in 300 hand written pages to be followed by 14 drafts as the 1811 novel was crafted into the final script. The result was a script that manages to be not only romantic and funny, but also romantic and funny in the best Austen sense of both.
After watching the film again and again I focus on three particular points, which I think best reveal the strength of Thompson's script. First, the entire introductory sequence, which induces us to like the Dashwood sisters because we are introduced first to their step-brother and his shrewish wife (credit for this particular sequence also goes to Film Editor Tim Squyres, who recut the scene so that we get all of one side and then the other instead of alternating back and forth as in the original script). Our sympathies cannot help but be with the plight of Elinor and Marianne. Second, the use of Shakespeare's Sonnet 116 ("Let me not the marriage of true minds"), which Marianne and Willoughby share to their great mutual delight (except he gets a word wrong, in an elegant little bit of foreshadowing) and which Marianne repeats standing in the rain looking at Willoughby's new estate. Third, Austen has Elinor bolt from the room to cry outside during the happy ending but Thompson creates a wonderful moment by having her stay in the room and having the rest of her family flee. There are not too many scenes where you are crying and laughing at the same time, but Thompson certainly created one (and has the added virtue of relying on herself as an actress to nail the performance as well). All of these are marvelous examples of playing to the strength of the cinema to bring Austen's novel to the screen.
The performances are first-rate, especially Kate Winslet as the passionate Marianne, Gemma Jones as Mrs. Dashwood and Alan Rickman as Colonel Brandon (the look on his face when Marianne thanks him for rescuing her is so wondrously touching). Hugh Grant does find a way of slowing the delivery of his dialogue more than usual, but it does fit the overall pace of the film. The supporting cast is exactly what you come to expect from a British production with Elizabeth Spriggs stealing every scene she is in as Mrs. Jennings, Robert Hardy as Sir John Middleton, Hugh Laurie as Mr. Palmer, Oliver Ford Davies as Doctor Harris, and the enchanting young Emilie Francois as Margaret Dashwood ("They always kneel down"). On the darker side of the ledger we have Greg Wise as the less than honorable John Willoughby, and Imogene Stubbs as Lucy Steele and Harriet Walter as Fanny Dashwood vying for the main villainess role in the proceedings. No wonder Emma Thompson's performance as Elinor is almost lost in the proceedings, but she is the center around which everything resolves who has to keep it together when everybody around her is losing it (even when she first confesses her broken heart, she ends up consoling Marianne instead of the other way around).
Ang Lee had already proven he could handle a tale of sisters in love when he directed "Eat Drink Man Woman." In "Sense and Sensibility" he has the script, the actors and the set design all working in his favor to create a sense of 19th century England. But there are a few moments when he uses the camera to great advantage; in particular the overhead shot of Marianne on her sick bed achieves a painting like quality and the tracking shot of Mrs. Jennings running down the street bearing the latest gossip.
I first say this film when visiting England and I was so caught up in the story that I had no idea who was going to end up with who. Actually, I was sort of rooting for Elinor to end up with Colonel Brandon since they were obviously the two finest members of their respective sexes in the proceedings. So the ending was as much of a surprise to me as it was to the Dashwoods, which is certainly something to be cherished. Obviously if you love this film it will lead you to other Austen adaptations (the film versions of "Emma" and "Persuasion" along with the BBC mini-series "Pride & Prejudice" immediately leap to mind), but hopefully it will also lead you to the original novels as well. Finally, Thompson published "The Sense and Sensibility: Screenplay & Diaries," which I would highly recommend after you have done both the film and the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Is Love a Fancy or a Feeling?", 10 Feb. 2003
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
When Emma Thompson was approached with the suggestion to write a screenplay based on Jane Austen's first novel "Sense and Sensibility" (1811), she was somewhat doubtful because, as she explains on the DVD's commentary track, she felt that other Austen works, like the more expressive "Emma" and "Persuasion" or the sardonic "Pride and Prejudice" (already the subject of several adaptations) would have been more suitable. Four years and 14 screenplay drafts later (the first, a 300-page handwritten dramatization of the novel's every scene), "Sense and Sensibility" made its grand entrance into theaters worldwide and mesmerized audiences and critics alike, resulting in an Oscar for Thompson's screenplay and six further nominations (Best Picture, Leading Actress - Thompson -, Supporting Actress - Kate Winslet -, Adapted Screenplay, Cinematography, Score - for 20 minutes' worth of composition - and Costume Design); and double honors as Best Picture and for Thompson's screenplay at the Golden Globes.
More than simple romances, Jane Austen's novels are delicately constructed pieces of social commentary, written from her rural Hampshire's perspective. Mostly confined to life in her father's parish, she was nevertheless well aware of early 19th century England's society at large, and fiercely critical of the loss of morals and decorum she saw in its pre-industrial emergent city life. Moreover, experience and observation had made her acutely aware of the corsets forced onto women in fashion terms as much as by social norms, confining them to inactivity and complete dependency on their families' and their (future) husbands' money. And among this movie's greatest strengths is the manner in which it maintains that underlying theme of Austen's writing and brings it to a contemporary audience's attention. "You talk about feeling idle and useless: imagine how that is compounded when one has no hope and no choice of any occupation whatsoever," Elinor Dashwood (Thompson) tells her almost-suitor Edward Ferrars, and when he replies that "our circumstances are therefore precisely the same," she corrects him: "Except that you will inherit your fortune - we cannot even earn ours."
Rescuing much from the first draft dramatization of Austen's novel and amplifying where necessary, Emma Thompson and director Ang Lee ("who most unexplainably seems to understand me better than I understand myself," Thompson said in her mock-Austen Golden Globe speech) produced a movie scrupulously faithful to what is known about Austen's world and at the same time incredibly modern, thus emphasizing the novel's timeless quality. Paintings were consulted for the movie's production design, and indeed, almost every camera frame - both landscapes and interiors - has the feeling of a picture by a period painter. Thompson cleverly uses poetry where the novel does not contain dialogue; and again, she does so in a manner entirely faithful to Austen's subtleties - most prominently in the joint recital of Shakespeare's Sonnet 116 by Marianne Dashwood (Kate Winslet) and John Willoughby (Greg Wise), where an ever so slight inaccuracy in his rendition of a sonnet he claims to love foreshadows his lacking sincerity.
"Sense and Sensibility" revolves around Elinor and Marianne Dashwood, their quest for a suitable husband, and the sisters' relationship with each other. Emma Thompson maintains that she did not write the screenplay with herself as Elinor in mind and would not have been accepted for that role but for the success of her previous films ("Howards End," "The Remains of the Day"); yet, it is hard to imagine who could have better played sensible Elinor: "effectual, ... [possessing] a coolness of judgment, which qualified her, though only nineteen [and thus considerably younger than Thompson], to be the counselor of her mother." And real-life 19-year-old Kate Winslet embodies sensitive, artistic Marianne: "eager in everything; [without] moderation ... generous, amiable, interesting: ... everything but prudent." (As an older actress was sought for that part, her agent presented her as 25.) An early scene in which Marianne recites Hartley Coleridge's Sonnet VII ("Is love a fancy or a feeling? No. It is immortal as immaculate truth") symbolizes the sisters' relationship and their personalities, as Marianne mocks Elinor's seemingly cool response to Edward's budding affection. (Mostly taken from the novel, the scene is embellished by the screenplay's sole inexactitude: Coleridge's sonnets were only published 22 years later). Yet, when all her hope seems shattered, Elinor, in a rare outburst of emotion, rebukes her sister: "What do you know of my heart?" - only to comfort her again when she sees that Marianne is equally distraught.
Hugh Grant and Alan Rickman similarly perfectly portray the sisters' suitors Edward Ferrars and Colonel Brandon, both embodying the qualities Austen considered essential: simplicity, sincerity and a firm sense of morality. Willoughby, on the other hand, while entering the story like the proverbial knight on a white horse who rescues the injured Marianne, does not live up to the high expectations he evokes; he causes Marianne to unacceptably abandon decorum and, just as he misspoke in that line from Shakespeare's sonnet, his love eventually "bends with the remover to remove." Similarly, Lucy Steele (Imogen Stubbs), the near-stumbling block to Elinor's happiness, ultimately proves driven by nothing but an "unceasing attention to self-interest ... with no other sacrifice than that of time and conscience" (Austen) and is, despite a fortuitous marriage, as marginalized as the Dashwoods' greedy sister-in-law Fanny (Harriet Walter). Conversely, the boisterous Sir John Middleton and his garrulous mother-in-law, while annoying in their insensitivity, are essentially goodnatured; and marvelously portrayed in their flawed but warmhearted ways by Robert Hardy and Elizabeth Spriggs.
"Sense and Sensibility" came out at the height of the mid-1990s' Jane Austen revival. Of all movies released then, and alongside 1996's "Emma" (which has "Hollywood" written all over it) and the BBC's "Pride and Prejudice" (which finally established Colin Firth as the leading man in the U.S. that he had long been in Britain), Emma Thompson's "Sense and Sensibility" is one of those adaptations that future generations of moviegoers will likely turn to in years to come. And it is truly an experience not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks on tempests but never shaken......, 17 Oct. 2007
By 
Beth Thornton (West Midlands, Uk) - See all my reviews
This is a truly delightful adaptation. Fron the beginning it captures the atmosphere and spirit of the era with a good script, excellent costmes and beautiful settings. Quite a lot of the dialogue has been plucked directly from the pages of the novel, and most of that which hasn't has been written so closely to Austen's style that it sounds like it should be Austen.

The cast are all excellent (with one exception, which I will come to). Kate Winslet is perfect as the beautiful, emotional Marianne, Alan Rickman is strong and passionate as Colonel Brandon and Elizabeth Spriggs shines as jolly but interfering Mrs Jennings. Hugh Grant makes a suitably shy and sedate Edward Ferrars, Greg Wise plays the perfect rogue as Willoughby and the supporting characters, including the hilarious Imelda Staunton and Hugh Laurie, all fit around them perfectly. Several of the other minor characters have been cut, in order to fit the story into a 2 hour film, but it remains fairly faithful to the book and nothing of importance is lost.

The only "odd one out" is Emma Thompson, who is too old for the part of Elinor and sadly this shows. Although she does a good job for the most part, her acting during the dramatic scenes where she finally admits her feelings for Edward to Marianne, and later when she and Edward finally get together, is very stilted. On the plus side, there is great chemistry between all the characters and the placing of Elinor as the "sensible" one and "mother" of the household is spot on. I also like the friendship which we see develop between her and Colonel Brandon.

The real star here of course is Kate Winslet, who completely steals the show as Marianne and will have you crying with her in despair over Willoughby as she makes the emotional transition from girl to woman.

Other particularly delightful moments to look out for are Fanny Dashwood pushing a shocked Lucy Steele out of the doorway by the nose and Greg Wise on horseback in the rain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very watchable, very enjoyable and beautiful to look at, 14 May 2007
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a very pleasant, rather gentle film which is generally faithful to the Jane Austen novel on which it is based. It benefits from very good performances from most of the principal actors, beautiful photography and lighting and an excellent screenplay, for which Emma Thompson deservedly won an Oscar. Ang Lee's direction is first-rate, even if the view of 18th. century England which we get is, as nearly always in period drama, rather over-pretty and sanitised ; but it looks lovely. Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet as the two elder Dashwood sisters, reliable, sensitive Eleanor and impulsive, generous-natured Marianne, are excellent. Alan Rickman does his usual thick-voiced uneasy portrayal (but without the menace) as Colonel Brandon. I have reservations about Hugh Grant who, as Edward Ferrars, seems to me over-the-top in his wimpish inarticulacy, always wearing clothes that don't really fit to underline this, but he is good at key moments, for example his final declaration of love for Eleanor. The gentle, wistful, tactfully understated music adds atmosphere to the film and is a plus, and there are some very nice woolly sheep which appear from time to time, much riding about on splendid horses (and in carriages drawn by splendid horses), marvellous views over rolling countryside, magnificent fine houses and so on. It is all lovely to watch and very well done, and with such a good screenplay, it works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific movie, great Blu-ray release!, 6 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a charming and delightful film with rich characters and story. The cast including Emma Thompson, Kate Winslet, Alan Rickman, and Hugh Grant is great. Thompson's Oscar-winning screenplay is a masterful adaptation of Jane Austen's novel, and Ang Lee's understated direction is superb.

The picture quality of this disc is solid. The transfer looks like an older scan to my eyes and displays good sharpness and strong colors. Some mild filtering and ringing is present, but nowhere near excessive. Grain and finer detail aren't reproduced as well as they would be on a newer remaster, but this a very satisfying presentation and a notable improvement over the ancient DVD nevertheless. Audio is presented in DTS-HD MA 5.0 and sounds good to my ears (though I'm not much of an audiophile).

Moving on to the extras, this Blu-ray includes the following (I'm listing them since they're not listed on the back cover):

"Adapting Austen" (11 min)
"A Sense of Character" (8 min)
"A Very Quiet Man" (12 min)
"Locating the World of Sense & Sensibility" (5 min)
"Elegance & Simplicity: The Wardrobe of Sense & Sensibility" (4 min)
2 Deleted Scenes

The 5 featurettes were produced in 2009 for Sony and to my knowledge have not appeared on any DVD release. These featurettes do not include new interviews with the film's talent. Instead, comments are culled from old on set interviews with the cast & crew. These have been upconverted & cropped to 16x9 and intercut with behind the scenes footage, stills, and film clips. The subject of each is mostly self explanatory, although "A Very Quiet Man" focuses on Ang Lee. Overall, these are well-produced featurettes that offer a good overview of the production, but I would've liked to hear new comments from Thompson, Winslet, Lee, and others. 2 deleted scenes from the DVD releases round out the extras and are presented in letterboxed widescreen and run for a total of 2 minutes and 44 seconds.

Fans of the film will want to hold onto their DVD copies which include several significant extras not ported over for this Blu-ray edition. These include 2 commentaries (the first by writer/star Emma Thompson and producer Lindsay Doran, and the second by director Ang Lee and co-producer James Schamus), Emma Thompson's Golden Globe acceptance speech, and the film's theatrical trailer.

Overall, I definitely recommend this release. As an American who was tired of waiting for Sony to release this in the States, this disc is completely region free and well worth importing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor young ladies seek moneyed gents. All offers considered., 21 Nov. 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
A couple of weeks back, I saw the 1996 A&E production of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE. Putting my "real man" self image at extreme risk, I admitted publicly that I enjoyed this most excellent film immensely. Pushing reputation even closer to the edge, I viewed the 1995 release of SENSE AND SENSIBILITY last weekend. (I need something to watch while doing the ironing.) The theme of both films seems to be "anxious females seek Princes Charming to rescue them from rural spinsterhood", which, on the knowledgeable authority of a good friend and Jane Austen obsessive, is common to all of the author's works. Feminists may cringe at that generalization, but there wasn't much in the way of bra-burning in the first decade of the 19th century when Austen was busy scribbling.
S&S opens at the side of Mr. Dashwood's deathbed, at which point he's leaving his entire estate to his son John (James Fleet) in conjunction with the latter's promise to financially provide for his half-sisters, Elinor (Emma Thompson), Marianne (Kate Winslet) and Margaret (Emilie Francois). Subsequently, though John gives lip service to generous support of his siblings, he's easily dissuaded by his selfish wife, Fanny (Harriet Walter). Soon, the three Dashwood sisters and their mother are tossed out of their Great House to live in a (rather large) cottage on a cousin's estate. With no dowries to back them up, the two eldest, Elinor and Marianne, are left to Fate and their own charms to attract men of means to wed. So, Elinor may or may not be favored by the younger of Fanny's brothers, Edward (Hugh Grant). And Marianne is adored by the socially awkward Colonel Brandon (Alan Rickman), but she only has doe eyes for the dashing Willoughby (Greg Wise). It's such a puzzle.
My opinion of S&S suffers from having previously seen P&P. It's difficult to be fair since the latter is by far and away the richer and more humorous presentation. Emma Thompson is, however, superb as the sensible sister who, while dealing with her own turmoil of the heart, must support the feelings-driven Marianne as the latter careens from one emotional extreme to the next. Alan Rickman is marvelous as the suitor tortured by the demons of unrequited love. On the other hand, I wasn't quite so impressed with Grant as Edward, who was painfully ill at ease in the presence of adult women. (A deer caught in the high beams comes to mind.) Normally, the unassuming shyness of Grant's roles is appealing, but this time it was a bit over the top. Either that or his Georgian-era shorts were bunched and his collar too tight. And because P&P is over twice as long as S&S, the script of the former could afford to include some minor personalities of cleverly done eccentricity. The costuming and choreography in S&S seemed a realistic depiction of the times, but I'm as poorly equipped to adjudicate now as I was for the same elements of P&P. One thing I can judge, though, is the English countryside that's like no other that I've enjoyed. Towards the end, there was the panoramic view of a wind-rippled, grassy valley sloping down to the sea, probably in Devonshire. I was so "homesick" that I teared just a trifle.
Because the pace of the story caused me to doze off for a couple of brief moments, I can't in good conscience award more than four and one-half stars. The review system of this site will round it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicate and touching, 8 Dec. 2006
By 
Andrew Page (Linslade, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Having watched this film immediately after reading the novel, my expectations were high, and thankfully, I was not let down. This is a delicate and touching handling of a highly subtle novel which helps bring to life the characters, fashions and scenery of Romantic England. There is a wonderful blending of feeling, wit and humour. Lee's direction is clearly affectionate and determined to remain faithful to the original.

Thompson's screenplay adaptation and the direction are largely faithful to the main themes and plots of the novel. Where original material has been interpolated, it is seamlessly and tastefully done, never for the sake of it, and always adding to the overall atmopsphere of the story. The soundtrack is simply enchanting, and appropriate for the themes, moods and tones of the action; Marianne's recitals are especially poingant.

Austen's characters are interpreted by an all-star cast, who are all on top form. Kate Winslet as Marianne and Alan Rickman as Colonel Brandon are particularly moving and affecting in their parts. Marianne's gradually softening sensibility and the inner passions emerging from beneath Colonel Brandon's manly reserve are skillfully portrayed. Thompson is mature and sensible and Grant is suitably foppish.

Living abroad, I found this film highly evocative of traditional English people and places. After a bottle of wine I became extremely homesick and emotional during the exit music. This film brings to the screen things we should be proud of: our literature, our countryside and the refined manners, culture and that peculiar mix of sense and sensibility of our people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BEAUTIFUL movie, 1 Feb. 2004
This is a perfectly made movie from beginning to end, I have never seen anything so flawless! Emma Thompson's screenplay is already fantastic in itself (as there are about 4 or 5 lines from Austen in it, yet it feels as if all the words were her own!), and the acting can only positively contribute to this.
The greatest strength of the film is its ability to preserve and communicate the subtleties of women's life two centuries ago, of human feelings, of passion and reserve, and of wit and irony which are so essential in Austen's books. The movie - in spite of the happy ending - is, therefore, a rather profound piece of work, which shows a great deal of devotion to it on the part of those involved in its making. Every detail (scenery, costumes, period "accessories", etc.) is carefully considered and is an integral part of the whole, so one watching it really has the feeling of being carried back to the turn of the 18/19th centuries.
And there is an ultimate dreamcast - with everybody seeming to live up to all expectations: Emma Thompson playing Elinor is superb as ever, wonderful at hiding but also at communicating her feelings through mimic and gestures. I think the contrast between her character and Marianne's (Kate Winslet) is really successfully presented on the screen, just like that between Edward (Hugh Grant) and Willoughby (Greg Wise), or Col Brandon (Alan Rickman) and Willoughby. (Only that Alan Rickman, let's admit it, is quite a desirable alternative even to Willoughby, right from the beginning...:)) And Elizabeth Spriggs as Mrs. Jennings! Exactly I imagined while reading the book!
Above all this, the DVD has nice extras, Emma Thompson's Golden Globe speech is just as a "must-see" as the movie itself (further proof she CAN write), the audio commentaries are both funny and revealing at the same time, while the trailers (Little Women, Remains of the Day) present some other films quite worthy to see.
In one word, Sense and Sensibility is "beautiful", and it will for sure enchant even teenagers who might not care much for classics otherwise. Actually, I think it will enchant anybody regardless of age - just another merit of the many.
Buy and see it several times! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, 10 Nov. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit I was put off watching this for many years because I have never been a fan of Emma Thompson, Kate Winslett or Hugh Grant and the fact that all three were in it was a definite turn off. I finally watched it one rainy windy afternoon when there was nothing worth watching on tv and was captivated. Fine acting, fine script, beautiful costumes, wonderful settings - well worth watching and I'm sorry I didn't do so sooner. One of the few examples of a film living up to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sense And Sensibility [DVD] [1996]
Sense And Sensibility [DVD] [1996] by Ang Lee (DVD - 1998)
£5.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews