Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films I've had the pleasure to watch., 19 Sep 2001
This review is from: Kolya [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
From the point of view of a western European with just a smattering of knowledge about Czech Republic, I found the film a magnificent exploration into the relationship between a man and the step-son he didn't expect to inherit.
The scenes set during the Russian occupation of Czechoslovakia reminded me how this small country was treated at the hands of 'Big Brother', and the scenes of the revolution (which contains actual historical footage) are treated both with reverence and a touch of humour.
Kolja is a truly wonderful and wondrously poignant though extremely humourous film, which has the ability to make me laugh and to make me cry. Kolja is a MUST SEE.
Vyborne pane Jan Sverák, vyborne pane Zdenek Sverák, a vyborne Andrei Chalimon... Dekuji patri vam.
Gordon M Burns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 25 April 2001
This review is from: Kolya [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
This is the best film I have seen in years, it is beautiful,amazing & touching. If you do not buy this you are missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Jun 2005
By A Customer
The film tells the story of a Czech musician who is forced to accept a five year old Russian boy after a marriage of convenience proves to be highly inconvenient. The film has a political backdrop but this runs discreetly parallel with the story, without being allowed to dominate. This is a very moving film. It's very much based on emotions, although it is never soppy. At no point was I bored and the only small incredulity was the speed with which the child learns to understand Czech. The acting is superb and the story simple but effective. I'd highly recommend it. If only Hollywood were capable of making films of this quality......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but not the best ever, 14 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kolya [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
Kolja (Kolya - English Language Version) is a wonderful adventure into the Czech mindset. With a basic understanding of Czech culture you'll be richly rewarded for spending time with this film. The father and son team of actor and director are well known by those who have a love of this genre of Czech film and this is an outstanding example of the Sverak family's talents. My one criticism is the 'over-sentimentalisation' of the period. Life was hard in former Czechoslovakia just as it is hard today (2000) in the Czech Republic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice and movind, 10 Mar 2000
This review is from: Kolya [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
Kolya - is a wonderful post communist Czech film. Not only is it very nice and moving but is also valuable from historical point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Kolya" ___ a heart-warming winner., 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite films which I have bought for several friends who all love it ,too. It has gentle humour and a little pathos in its lovely story. The direction and actors' performances are superb.
I recommend this highly to film-lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the film, 31 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Tessa Kelly "Lehrerin" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kolya (Paperback)
I bought this because I enjoyed the film so much. It is a good translation and an easy read with just a little extra. It arrived promptly and was well packaged. I would recommend this to anyone with an interest in European film as well as that period when the Cold War was coming to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very intimate view of the fall of communism in Czechoslovakia, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Kolya [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
A beautiful, intimate, yet all encompassing film from father/son team Zdenek and Jan Sverak. Zdenek Sverak is Louka Frantisek, a former world class musician, restricted to playing at funerals and sanatoria, who marries a russian woman for convenience, and is landed with her five year old son Kolya, when she skips the country using her new Czech papers. This film tells the stories of the rise of Louka's and Kolya's mutual bond from awkwardness and distrust to love, warmth, and understanding and the fall of Communism in Czechoslovakia, showing how the two stories are integral to each other. All the actors are excellent, but Zdenek Sverak and Andrei Chalimon, the Russian boy playing Kolya, are absolute electricity together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent on so many levels, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This heart-warming film is set around the end of the Russian occupation of Czechoslovakia in 1968. The central character is a professional cellist (Louka) who, like many others who would not conform to the regime, is now scraping a living. A confirmed bachelor, he agrees (for money) to 'marry' a Russian woman (who needs Czech papers to travel to the West). The next day she is gone, leaving her four year old son with his granny. When the granny dies Louka has to take care of the boy. The authorities suspect that he married for money and threaten to make his life even more difficult. Meanwhile the development of his relationship with Kolya is beautifully portrayed.
As happens so often, the bullies in positions of authority cannot tolerate people who do not conform to their views. They have no qualms about sacking talented people and making their lives a misery, but they are shown in the end to be shallow and unprincipled themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kolya [VHS] [1997]
Kolya [VHS] [1997] by Jan Sverįk (VHS Tape - 2000)
£7.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews