Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing
I first saw this film not knowing who Grisham was, having never read any of his novels or seen any of their adaptations. I wasn't expecting much and I got far more than I could have ever hoped for. From the very first scenes, the film hits you between the eyes with shocking scenes that are horrifying yet at the same time emotional. It tackles a number of sensitive...
Published on 25 July 2003 by vicky_w99

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
Carl Lee Hailey (Samuel T. Jackson) is a poor black man in a racially-divided Southern town. When two white men brutally rape his daughter, he decides to kill them and he does - in front of witnesses. The hot-shot DA (Kevin Spacey) is almost guaranteed a murder conviction, and novice attorney Jake Brigance (Matthew McConaughey) decides to defend Carl Lee.

This...
Published on 16 Mar 2008 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing, 25 July 2003
This review is from: A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I first saw this film not knowing who Grisham was, having never read any of his novels or seen any of their adaptations. I wasn't expecting much and I got far more than I could have ever hoped for. From the very first scenes, the film hits you between the eyes with shocking scenes that are horrifying yet at the same time emotional. It tackles a number of sensitive issues at the same time - racism, rape, murder, vigilatism, sexual equality to name a few - something which few films do and even fewer manage to do successfully. The cast are excellent, the characters believable and well portrayed and the storyline, although extreme, is convincing and could well be a true story. Although the outcome is slightly predictable, it is still a fascinating and gripping story that will suck you in, churn you up and spit you out again and will stay with you for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.........., 17 July 2003
By 
Stuart Leyland (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent film and proved so by managing to keep 30 14-15 year olds quiet for the entire film - and that's some achievement! We all agreed that the film was excellent, showing exactly what was/is wrong with the world.
Fantastic acting all the way through, particularly the scenes in court and the last part in court is perhaps one of my favourite parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Grisham Adaptation, 21 May 2007
This review is from: A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This movie based on the book with the same title, is about a trial about a man who shot some people because his daughter was raped, and the KKK is coming in, as the trial goes on. This is a very powerful drama, and a decent cast as well, Samuel L. Jackson, Sandra Bullock, Donald Sutherland, Kevin Spacey, Kiefer Sutherland, Matthew McConaughey, and Ashley Judd. Very great and dramatic acting, directed by Joel Schumacher, the man who brought Falling Down,Batman & Robin,Batman Forever,Phone Booth,The Lost Boys St. Elmo's Fire and many others. The scenes at trial were very realistic and convincing and the beginning of the film was perhaps the most disturbing in this movie, and the scene with the KKK coming in was also disturbing. A must see for those who have read the book, I believe they have captured the feel of it very accurately. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Moving and very watchable...., 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film has everything you could hope for from a film that is based on the writer, John Grisham. As usual, Grisham has written a book which is very easily transferred from page to film.
The acting in A time to Kill is consistently good with a lot of big names in the cast list. The most notable of performances is that of Samuel L. Jackson who skill as an actor has proved unquestionnable.
This being a law film does not mean that the film is cheifly concerned with legalities. It is a film charged with raw emotion and sorrow. However this film has very moving and uplifting sequences of which to boast.
This film makes compelling viewing and causes the viewer to question their own racial prejudices and feel ashamed of what was allowed to occur until really quite recently.
The competent direction of Joel Schumacher keeps this intellectually stimulating story appealing to the eye.
Well worth watching, I urge you to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a 2nd, 3rd, 4th and nth watch, 9 Feb 2007
By 
D. Mwiinga "Ecclesiastes" (Rdg Area, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film was shown on TV last night and I have seen a few times, but every time I see it again, I always get a different feeling. Such a powerful film that touches you every time you see it. I am buying this film on DVD so that I can watch over and over again the court room session at the end, the way John Grisham summarises a lot of issues in Matthew McConaughey's summation, the last line he says in his summation just hits you differently...amazing - watch it and see.

This film is just excellent, it's not one of those films that makes you hate people but makes you hate the crimes that people do and how they affect others to a point were they snap, but like everyone else who has wrote a review, it raises an important question, can murder be excused, not justified but excused? Great peformances all the way through, Samuel L. Jackson, its wonder why he never got an award (OSCAR, GOLDEN GLOBE) for this film, if he ever deserved one, it was for this performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Deep South, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film had all the hallmarks for success, John Grisham, the writer of the book, that this film stems from is indeed a lawyer. He was born in the neighbouring Arkansas and went to Mississippi University. With that pedigree and this this all-star cast it was never going to fail. This is the classical `Deep South' story though it is post Jim Crow era.
One of the great `black' injustices of our time was carried out in Mississippi - the death of 14 year old Emmett Till, by two `whites' who were acquitted , though clearly guilty.
Here Matthew Mc Courtney (Jake Brigance) takes on the role of an Atticus Finch of 'To Kill a Mockingbird.'
He's young, has principles and just like Atticus the world is against him for standing up for what he believes is right, even if legally and locally, he's on very shakey ground?
He's clearly made of stern stuff. He's broke, his family and friends are intimidated, his house is burnt down , they even try to assassinate him, but possibly his greatest virtue is that he refuses through all of this to have an affair with his new assistant Ellen Roark ( Sandra Bullock). I'll tell you what, his wife's got a good un there for sure!
Samuel L Jackson is excellent as Carl Lee and it's his savvy that Jake latches onto to fight the good fight. Keven Spacey's role is perfect for him as the overly confident and totally smug Rufus Buckley. Bullock fits in perfectly and a word also for Patrick McGoohan (Omar Noose) who was just outstanding as the nasty, racist judge who gave the young Jake absolutely no encouragement at all.
If you like films about the `Deep South' then this has to be on your watch list.
I'm giving this 5 stars, as even though I found it a bit flowery in places, it does have everything that a top film should have and holds your attention all the way over the full two and a half hours. I have the Bluray version which is just wonderful as adds greatly to the overall pleasure of this top film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class acting, story, direction and an excellent transfer to blu-ray!, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Nigel Mc (The Chilterns) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film boasts a top notch cast of actors, class director and a very good story - John Grisham at his best. Of all the reviews here only a couple relate specifically to the blu-ray version and even these reviewers don't, in my view, give sufficient credence to the HD copy. I thought that it was simply an amazing transfer. In fact both sound and video are truly excellent making an already enjoyable film into a real treat. Definitely worth the upgrade for those people who want to see the film as it was intended to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what would you do in the same situation?, 6 Oct 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A time to kill raises the moral issue on whether there actually is a way you can kill someone and get away with it in terms of it being justified,no the film isnt about war,thats a seperate issue for a different day,what you have here is the tale of a father (samuel l jackson) who kills two men on trial for the near murder of his little child in a state where the majority of people are white and the jury is white,hence jackson feels the case wont result in the two men spending time in jail.

You may say that i have given the plot away or said too much and the truth is i havent,i have only opened the door to you on the films theme and its handled brilliantly and the film is both moving and passionate,great performances by all the cast including sandra bullock,wow can you believe that,essential viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The all time greatest, 7 May 2000
This film is great, it is hard to think of a time when colour of skin makes a differenice. This film shows you how a town goes against each other because of the love of his little girl.
This film is a must see as it will open your eyes to things that hopefull does not go on anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 12 Jan 2010
This review is from: A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my son as he has been studying racism at school and they were watching this as part of the course but he missed the end as he was absent. I had already seen the film several times but still sat and watched it yet again with him. It's one of those films that never gets boring no matter how often you watch it. It never fails to bring a tear to my eye when Matthew McConaughey is giving his closing speech at the trial.

An extremely powerful film which is certainly helped by the superb acting from the entire cast. Although Samuel L Jackson's character killed 2 men in cold blood, you can't help but have extreme sympathy for him and find yourself full of admiration for having the courage to get 'justice' for his daughter as he knew the courts wouldn't give it.

However, the film is not as good as the book (which I have also read several times), and does differ from it in parts, but that is usually the case and it doesn't stop it being an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996]
A Time To Kill [DVD] [1996] by Joel Schumacher (DVD - 1998)
£3.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews