Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See This Film!
This is a fantastic piece of comic genius, both from the scriptwriters and all of the actors in it. Kevin Costner is brilliant as an ex-pro golfer who is wasting away, and happens to fall for the girl of his biggest rival. And so begins his pursuit of The Open and the girl's heart!
There are real gems in this script, which I will not spoil by telling you, but...
Published on 8 Aug 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Took a while to arrive
Took a while to arrive - I did choose 'super saver' so I knew it would take longer but I also ordered 2 other films the same and they came a lot sooner. Film is fine though - good film ;)
Published 17 months ago by Charlotte


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See This Film!, 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tin Cup [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
This is a fantastic piece of comic genius, both from the scriptwriters and all of the actors in it. Kevin Costner is brilliant as an ex-pro golfer who is wasting away, and happens to fall for the girl of his biggest rival. And so begins his pursuit of The Open and the girl's heart!
There are real gems in this script, which I will not spoil by telling you, but suffice to say that Kev's relationship with his caddy, Romeo, is more like a marriage (and he has to justify his devotion to him more than once!), and asking advice about the woman you love FROM the woman you love is never going to be a good idea! (Romeo puts that much better in the film!). Rene Russo does very well in this film (high praise indeed from someone who normally can't stand her), but Don Johnson is somewhat disappointing as the bad guy, cos he somehow doesn't match up to Kevin in terms of his performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Golfing Romance, 13 Jun 2007
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The perfect romantic comedy has been made. It has got the perfect story. Kevin Costner plays the retired golf-player Roy McAvoy.One day he meets Molly Griswold (Rene Russo).Unfortunately she is involved with Roys "friend" David Simms (Don Johnson). To make Molly believe that he is better than David he is going to win US Open. Costner,Russo and Johnson are all great.But best of them all is Cheech Marin who plays Roys caddie Romeo.Many real Golf-pros have cameos in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tin Cup-recommended, 13 July 2009
By 
AmyHop (North east UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I've always loved this film (previously had video) and intoduced it to my daughters.
Rach (23) enjoyed it too; Claire (16)-"oh no, it's about golf!" liked it more than she expected to.
If you like playing/watching golf and enjoy people, this is a film you'll watch again and again. Honest!
I can't believe I bought it for the price I did and now intend to update other favourites to DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars grip it and rip it!, 17 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
There are not many golf films but of those that there are this is probably the best. Kevin Costner is an ill-diciplined golf pro, running a decrepid driving range in a small Texas town. He is a naturally gifted player choc full of inner demons and a strong reckless streak. Along comes Reno Russo for a lesson (she is also the local shrink) and from there the sparks fly and in a bid to prise her away from an old partner and rival he tries to qualify for the USA Open. The film is warm and funny and a love story as much about his relationship with his caddy and best friend Romeo (played by Cheech Martin)with whom he has a somewhat fractious interplay as Romeo tries to keep him playing in a sensible fashion. It is a great film about human fraility, the hunt for glory and the perfect golf shot. The final scene of the USA Open is one of the best in any film but especially familiar to anyone who plays the game and knows that they could have hit THAT one great shot! It is a film about going for it and you should as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Excellant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Tin Cup (DVD)
'Underdog' storyline with golf at its heart, totally unbelievable but great fun to be part of.
Chemistry between all the actors (major and minor) is great and they all this such an enjoyable couple of hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Golf film, 8 April 2014
By 
Colin Banks (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is a good film but I think your really need to be a golfer to appreciate it. There is a love interest in the fragrant Rene Russo but it is the golf which dominates. Legend of Bagger Vance was a better film if your partner is not a golfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Greatly enjoyed this film, very entertaining, love Kevin Costner anyway and have played golf on some of the courses where this was filmed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars golf and glamour, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
If you are into golf,humour and an attractive co star you will love this. A great end to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Film, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I played golf with a mate who had never seen this film, so i bought it for him as a gift. It's quite old but if you like Golf or Kevin costner, this is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tin Cup [DVD] [1996]
Tin Cup [DVD] [1996] by Ron Shelton (DVD - 1998)
3.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews