Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Ack Ack! Don't Run! We Are Your Friends! Ack Ack!"
*** REVIEW FOR THE BLU RAY REISSUE ***

I hadn't looked at my DVD of Tim Burton's ridiculously over-the-top homage to Fifties Sci-Fi movies in years - and I was stunned at two things when I popped this 2010 BLU RAY reissue in my Sony - first - the massive improvement in picture quality - and second - just how ball-breakingly funny "Mars Attacks!" actually...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by Mark Barry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mars Attacks
good movie tho i do wonder why when buying blu-ray there is little or no special features but otherwise happy to have it
Published 6 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The best movie ever to be spawned by bubblegum cards!, 28 May 2014
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The trouble is... ‘Mars Attacks’ doesn’t have a lot (if any!) competition for that title. In the mid nineties, when alien invasion fever was at its highest, someone proposed a film about cheesy 1950s-style Martians attacking Earth and ‘Mars Attacks’ was born.

The first thing you need to know about it is that it’s an ‘ensemble’ piece, i.e. it has simply tonnes of A-list stars attached to the project. And, despite sounding impressive, that’s kind of a downside. For none of them are really given enough screen time to get to know. There’s absolutely no character development for any of them and, what’s more, most of them are pretty objectionable anyway, leaving you cold when they finally get melted in a – visually-pleasing – array of colourful laser fire from out green, big-brained invaders. There are a couple of ‘nicer’ characters, but they’re hardly in it enough for you to even remember their names. Many of the characters could have been removed completely and the story wouldn’t have lost anything.

Jack Nicholson is undoubtedly the ‘main’ character, as he plays the President of America. However, despite his acting abilities, he doesn’t really do much as the role. Perhaps that’s why they gave him another role to play, but, as I said before, half the characters could have been easily gotten away with and Jack’s second performance is one of these.

As for the story... well, there isn’t really one. Mars does indeed attack, but not until about forty-five minutes into the movie. What you have is basically a ‘sketch show’ with many famous faces, all vying to ‘out-horrible’ each other.

However, despite the film’s many flaws, it’s kind of worth a watch... but only for the Martians. They’re completely the stars of the film. They get all the best lines (not that any are actually spoken in English) and are a delight to watch. In fact, they’re so good they only go and double how bad their human (and un-computer-generated) co-stars are in comparison.

If you think you can sit through a sketch-type alien invasion film with a few comedic moments (but not enough to really class the film as an out and out ‘comedy’) you should enjoy this. Even if it’s just to watch Tom Jones thrash it out with an alien race (not that IS unusual!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "..CHEESY BUT FUN COMICAL SCI-FI..", 11 May 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After all these years this movie looks a little tacky in places with the cheap cartoony alien effects but hell its still a fun retro style sci-fi with a crazy story and a crazier cast, not one of Burtons best films but probably one of the most entertaining with funny green Martian gore and giant robots and flying saucers and ray guns, the story is great fun, aliens come to earth who say they come in peace but actually just want to destroy mankind! The cast is huge with big stars like Jack Nicolson and then a whole load of people right down to Tom Jones would you believe! You really need an open mind going into this as you can love it for what it is, a childish comic book sci-fi or you can just hate it, either way there's really nothing like this, its a crazy movie!
The Blu-ray picture is good, but as usual why is there never any special features?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mars Attacks!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Received in Excellent order and what a brilliant film to watch Jack Nicholson is brilliant and shows himself off to be a brilliant actor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny film, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is the sort of film you either love or hate. I had watched it on TV a couple of times and thought it was hilarious, whereas my husband hates it. Buy it - but don't take it seriously - it is supposed to be tongue in cheek after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sooo Funny, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film great cast. I already have this on DVD and just about worn it out so bought the blue ray version and how sharp and clear it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Burton at less than his best, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mr M.R.Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I don't know if Tim Burton has ever made a film that isn't weird (perhaps Batman Returns counts, I haven't seen it); I know only that all of those that I have seen are. Whilst this is enjoyable, it's the weakest of those that I've watched (Beetlejuice, Corpse Bride, and Nightmare Before Christmas are the others). Whilst it may be intended as a spoof, that doesn't excuse the disjointed script (I can see no point or purpose to Nicholson's second character Art Land; he's completely irrelevant to the story at all times) or the very lame ending. So it's fun & it's funny, but it's hardly ball-breakingly funny & 3* seems about right to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Brilliant film, had me in stitches. Delivered promptly and in good condition. I am very happy with my purchase. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MEMORABLE NONSENSE, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Mitchell "kernowpete" (Truro, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Not exactly demanding intellectually, but it's FUN! The Martian defeating weapon (C & W yodelling) is a master stroke. Lots of well known stars including Tom Jones as himself. Just think: Sex and the City might have been 3 girls and a dog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mars attacks, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
One of the funniest films I have ever seen, and cannot wait to watch it again. Whacky and odd, but hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mars Attacks DVD, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Devastated when this film went walkabout so had to buy another copy. An excellent highly recommended film - very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996]
Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] by Tim Burton (DVD - 1998)
£3.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews